We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
102
27
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
27
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica fully equipped kitchen beautiful property lovely pool any questions alice bernie tennis enrique beach accommodations opportunity
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 135 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2016

We had to cut short our stay in Arenal due to inclement weather and booked this on very short notice. What a lovely place! We had a kitchenette (though we didn't need it for the short time we were there). Our view from the 2nd floor had a great view of the ocean and it was so peaceful sitting there hearing the palms. The restaurant served great food and even the cat came to visit us in the morning! The pool was lovely and we'd go back there in a heartbeat. An unexpected treat and a lovely way to complete our Costa Rican vacation.

Room Tip: any of the rooms would be good
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TON315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

While we were unable to stay at the lodge, we did eat there several times. Each meal was delicious! And the staff was all exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Of particular note were the caprese salad with an amazing balsamic reduction, as well as any dish that contained shrimp. We had several different shrimp dishes and each contained to most tender and perfectly cooked shrimp we've ever enjoyed. Next time we return to this area, we will plan a little further in advance and be sure to stay here.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Mrsfutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2016

No nightlife in Junquillal. We walked the beach (Playa Junquillal) about 8 minutes from the hoteland if you keep walking towards your right you will reach Playa Blanca with beautiful white sand. You can walk up the stairs and have a drink at the Iguanazul hotel. You can also drive to Playa Negra about 15 minutes away going North. You can swim in all these beaches, they are safe and the waves are awesome. The food at the hotel was good and everyone was very welcoming and friendly. There are a 2 hotels nearby that you can walk and have dinner there too. Is hot in february and the pool was great!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarypj05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2016 via mobile

No stress here. Our hosts and their staff were magnificent from our first cup of delicious coffee in the early morning to our evening meal and bottle of wine. Every meal prepared fresh and delicious. The only drawback were our beds which were 2 twins pushed together, otherwise this lodge and its hosts will not disappoint.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank LightPacker429964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2016

We were able to secure a studio on short notice for one night due to a change in plans. What a great surprise and treat. The place is gorgeous. Super clean and well maintained. Beautiful pool area adjoining the bar. Easy walk to the beach. The food was fabulous. The cook/chef was able to prepare my catch (snapper) grilled with a garlic butter sauce. Outstanding. My husband had the Argentinian beef, perfect. We didn't use the kitchenette, but it looked well equipped. We met a group of folks that come every year for several weeks. I can understand why. Besides the lodge, all of Junquillal is so relaxing and quiet.

Room Tip: Property faces West so room can get hot in the afternoon.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews