We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”
Review of Farewell Spit Cafe

Farewell Spit Cafe
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 5, 2018

The food is good, the ambience pleasant and the views of the spit are really amazing. There is plenty of information on the walls to keep you busy reading for at least 30 minutes.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank OceanRower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 118 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

My wife and the other couple had chile nachos and they thought it was good. I had seafood chowder and thought it was weak. It was runny and only had three pieces of seafood in it. The over the Tasman sea was amazing.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank czbrat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018

We went for lunch to enjoy the view. The staff couldn't care less about providing a good service and the food was terrible. I ordered the sea food chowder which was disappointing and my fiancé got chilli beef nachos with hardly any chilli beef on them. A café with a view you always expect good things but this was a waste of a long drive. Go for a coffee not for food.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SunitiPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2018

Approaching the main door of this cafe, was a young girl smoking ..wearing a baseball cap and 2/3 earings.I thought thats a bit odd...!!..Next minute later she is behind the counter serving my wife 2 coffees and a piece of cake. I said to her ,I hope you've washed your hands,at which she just shrugged her shoulders ..with a attitude..!! charming....as we were leaving here was the other waitress doing the same thing at the main door with all the smoke blowing back into the cafe....We won't be back...If this was in Scotland they would both been sacked...

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

We decided to treat ourselves to a lunch out and as Farewell Spit is such a tourist attraction thought there would be fantastic food on offer. Really disappointed and annoyed. The seafood chowder was not a seafood chowder it was closer to a bowl of warm milk. Skimming through it was 4 bits of mussel equating to 1 whole mussel, two bits of scallop making 1 whole scallop and about 3 slices of celery some diced carrot and a tiny bit of onion. That was it the rest a milky bland liquid terribly disappointing. Most of the staff were dressed untidily, the windows needed a good clean. Not worth going there to eat, the only good thing about this trip was the view to Farewell Spit

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank OliAndDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farewell Spit Cafe also viewed

Collingwood, Golden Bay
Collingwood, Golden Bay
 
Collingwood, Golden Bay
Collingwood, Golden Bay
 
Onekaka, Golden Bay
Puponga, Golden Bay
 

Been to Farewell Spit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing