We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals South Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beach Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Beach wedding and honeymoon week of March 23 to 30,2012,the best! Wedding planner Romaine was excellent in helping us plan our simple but wonderfull wedding. We stayed in the Dutch room, and found this to be our favorite place to stay as it is quiet and relaxing. The staff is always helpful and friendly. The ladies in the Cafe are the best! Arleene, I think that was her name, made the best crepes!!!! Great entertainment this time....and lots of improvements made since our last trip in April 2009 and we hear more to come in the future. This resort is clean,the food oh so good...staff awesome! From our room we could see the beach and pool. The morning after our wedding, we had breakie on our balcony....everything nice and hot,coffee soooooooooooo good! We love this resort and the staff...

Room Tip: The Italian village is an area close to the sports and events and the swimup bar...The Dutch is quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meow24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,426
    1,488
    476
    179
    92
See reviews for
174
5,402
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,053)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

My wife and I spent the week of March 24 through March 31st at Sandals Whitehouse. Absolutely the best vacation ever. This place is unbelievable. Sparkling clean, great food and super selection, pools are incredible, and the beach and sea are to die for. This place offers the ultimate vacation spot. The employees are all friendly as can be and helpful. It is tough to say anything negative; the best I can come up with is shower pressure and the pillows were too mushy. If you want the perfect all-inclusive -- this is it!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We just returned yesterday for 7 nights at Whitehouse and all we can say is “ahhhhhhhhh!” fantastic. This was our first trip to a Sandals resort. We are experienced Caribbean travelers (we’ve been 3 times in the past 18 months) and are also experienced with all-inclusives (Secrets and Excellence) so by no means are we newbies or so easily thrilled that a 5-star rating from us is easy. I think we are actually pretty tough critics and I never would have imagined us rating anywhere a 5. Yet, this is a 5-star rating and here is why:

The Beach: beautiful, long and secluded. At no time did we feel too close to other couples or groups and it never felt busy. In fact, we felt that at times that we “owned” the beach – it had such an exclusive feel to it. We took long walks every day, found starfish every morning and spent nearly all of our time in the sand rather than at the pool. If you prefer the beaches over the pools then this is a place you should consider for sure. (A special thanks to Ana Kay – she kept our drinks coming to us on the beach and was a super dedicated employee – she was terrific!)

Our Room: We stayed in the Italian Village Honeymoon Walkout Suite (Butler) room 1126. The room faced what we felt was one of the best stretches of beach on the property. The suite was well appointed, super clean, well stocked and comfortable. If there was any single complaint that we could have had is that it would have been nice if we could have opened the bedroom windows – not a real issue. (BTW, Yvonne – we will miss you! Thanks for all of the special touches in the room!!)

Our Service; Lots has already been said about the butler service and it comes down to what you enjoy and how you interpret “value”. Our Butlers were Joy & Keen (thanks to the both of you!! You made our trip so much better!!!). We had our place at the beach every day with a full cooler. We had breakfast on our patio every morning. We never waited in a single line, never had to ask for just about anything and were basically pampered for the entire week. The room directly next to us was concierge and I’m not sure how big a difference was between their experience and ours, but we don’t really care – our experience was great. It was not just Joy & Keen, or Ana Kay, but everyone we met had a smile on their face and a great friendly demeanor. Its obvious to us that people here really seem to enjoy their jobs and enjoy working at Whitehouse and it comes out as exceptional service.

The Food: We tried all of the restaurants except Jasmines. Our favorite was Neptune’s for dinner. The mixed seafood “stew” (We forget the actual name of the dish) was excellent and we had to go back a second night to have that again. We also loved the Jerk Pork quesadillas at Bluefield’s. Most days Joy or Keen would bring us lunch on the beach (I did say we were beach people, right?! ☺ ) and we enjoyed the pizza, jerk chicken and even had a burger one day – all great “toes in the sand” lunches! We are by no means “foodies” and we are probably more into the atmosphere of the place than the food itself, but we thought everything was great.

The Grounds: Whitehouse is a beautiful resort. Everything was meticulously maintained, lush, and just perfect. One more than one occasion we just stepped back and couldn’t believe how nice everything was – the pictures on the website just don’t do Whitehouse justice – it’s a “see it for yourself” kind of place.

The Transportation: Ok, ok. It’s a full 90 minutes and the last 45 minutes getting to Whitehouse are tough. We took private transport inbound in a very nice Benz and our driver Steven had food, beer and wine waiting for us in the car and he did everything he could to make the drive comfortable – that trip was easy. Outbound we took the bus and we seated in the last row and ouch that drive seemed to take twice as long as the drive in – all of the potholes are exaggerated by the bus. So yes, be prepared for the ride and take a car (or helicopter!) if you can afford it. But the transport did NOT affect our view on Whitehouse one bit!

There is so much to say. I do feel like this is a bit of “me too” review since there are so many glowing reviews of Whitehouse its difficult to come up with something unique to say. We just had a great time. Everything was perfect and just what we had wished for.

(Oh and by the way, we booked our return visit at the "soon come back" desk yesterday!)

-Neil & Kristy

Room Tip: The walkouts in the Italian village have a great view and are just steps from the sand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NeilSerdinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at Sandals Whitehouse March 23-30. I upgraded us to a butler suite, which was expensive but definitely the way to go if you can swing it. Our room was fantastic....suites have oversized balconies and a separate BR/LR. We were in 1326, third floor in the Italian village, fantastic unimpeded view of the ocean, sunrise AND sunset. Only a few "downs" to report...
- Water pressure was very low at peak shower times (mid-morning and before dinner).
- Cable/satellite signal was horrid for the first four days. It got better though. The TV in the LR area was just "basic" cable with about 20 channels, but the big flat screen in the bedroom was satellite, HD, loads of channels. Strange that they both weren't on the same signal, although TV was not a big priority for us.
- Paying for internet access in a premium hotel is a joke. Enough said.
- Jasmines doesn't seem to have any congruent theme. Asian? Not really. Did not enjoy our one meal there. No other food complaints, though.
- Talent Night was fun (I sat in with the very gracious house band Legal Vibrations and played drums), except for the hour-long "fashion show" featuring all the clothing we could buy at the gift shop. Silly and truly not the right crowd for such a hard sales pitch...

The Ups:
Service, staff, drinks, grounds, spa staff and massage, never felt crowded or cramped, exceptional buffet, awesome dinners especially at Eleanor's (forget what we had but it was great) and our last night at Bayside for lobster and shrimp in creamy garlic sauce (wow, that was good!). Steel Drum band on Saturday was very talented. We did two trips through Island Routes on the catamaran - Sunset Reggae Cruise and the trip to the Pelican Bar. IR crew was a lot of fun, very enjoyable trip both times. The Pelican Bar was out of Red Stripe (warm Heineken, anyone?) and was....unique?....would probably not do that again. The ride from the airport? LOVED IT. Twisty and scenic road through the mountains.

Every staff member we met was kind, unhurried, and happy to help us out. As others have said, this is a relatively low-key property, and if you can deal with a laid-back pace and relax and enjoy yourself, you'll love it. This property reminded us a lot of La Toc in St. Lucia, which we also loved.

A word about our butlers (Omar and Damion)....we were treated like royalty, were constantly surprised by the small, thoughtful things they did for us during our stay. After reading some of the comments about unused reserved seats, we were careful to keep them informed of changes in dinner plans, when we were done at the pool, etc. Although we could have struggled ;-) through the week with making our own reservations, etc., it really was fantastic to have everything attended to, usually without us even asking. If you can afford it, go for it!

This was our 7th(?) time in Jamaica and our 4th-5th Sandals property. Would definitely recommend this resort and will return when we can.

Room Tip: The suites have bigger balconies as well as a separate living room and bedroom and a huge bathroom/s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeandAnnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Let me start off by saying the Sandals Whitehouse is absolutely beautiful! We had a wonderful vacation there. There were a few minor things we did not like, but for the most part it was great.

Bus ride: Though pretty lengthy, it is a very pretty ride. I would recommend if you are prone to motion sickness take some dramamine, I couldn't find mine and therefor got sick on the ride :(

Room: We stayed in the French Village in a walkout beachfront room and it was very nice. The fridge was well stocked with water and juice everyday. Even when they had to return to clean it (we always took afternoon naps in the room) it was cleaned and of course had a towel animal everyday.

Food: I am a picky eater so I preferred the buffets mostly but my husband LOVED the jerk chicken. He had it at least once a day.

Beach: It was beautiful and we never once had any problem finding a chair. We enjoyed kayaking and paddleboarding every day. We took the boat out the one day to go snorkeling and though we didn't see a ton of gorgeous fish, we did get to see the reef and that was neat.

Service: The service was great for the most part. Of course there were a few dud servers but that it to be expected anywhere you travel. One of our biggest complaints though was most of the bars shut down at 6 & the restaurants weren't open all the time. I guess when I vacation I like to eat when I want to eat and drink when I want to drink.

Gym: I wasn't very happy the first day when I went to get my workout in and the gym was closed for renovation. Luckily it was relocated to the Aerobics room. Though none of the TV's on the machines worked it was sufficient for a resort gym.

The only other things I have to say if you want to do a lot of excursions you may want to choose another resort as you have to travel at least an hour to go do anything. Also, for people looking for a "party" type resort, this isn't the place. It is very relaxed and laid back. I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmalkuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We just returned from Sandals Whitehouse in March 2012. Very quiet and relaxing. Lots of room on the beach. The employees were always very helpful and accomidating. We had a great time snorkeling and sailing which was all included. All the restaurants had great food. Water was very clear but it did have some seaweed in the water at times. I would highly recommend this place. We did hear that the drive in was going to be very long and rough so we decided to take a helicopter from the airport to the hotel and we thought that was an amazing experiece. If you have the opportunity than that's a must.Pilots were fantastic and made us feel very comfortable as this was our first time in a helicopter. We had no complaints all all. We will definitely return to Sandals Whitehouse next year.

Room Tip: Rooms are basically all the same less what floor you are on . The french biulding was the younger an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Hubby & I recently returned from our first SWH trip and I thought I would share a few observations.
ROAD - Yes the road to get there really is that bad. We thought we would do the YS falls trip and Appleton Rum tour. After the road trip to get there we were quite happy to just stay on the resort, and did not run out of things to do.
ROOM - We stayed in the French Village in one of the truly beachfront rooms - many are pool front rooms with an ocean view beyond. We were in the first block and had a lovely room from which we walked right out onto the beach. We loved being in a beachfront walk out so that we could easily go back to the room whenever we wanted. This block of rooms is also a little quieter than the others in the French Village.
The bed was a bit firm so we did have some sleep issues.
FOOD - As we have found in many all inclusives the food can range from very good to not so good. Most of our meals were good, but a couple were not very good at all including the beach buffet. The restaurants do offer a great variety though. The service can be slow and a couple of people we met showed up at 7 for dinner, were sent to the martini bar and no one came to get them until close to 9! We found out that the key is to get to the restaurant in the first half hour after it opens for dinner. When we did this we had no problems.
BARS - Most of the bartenders we met were great. The drinks were good, but inconsistent. It was comical the one day hubby & I ordered the same drink at the same time from 2 different bartenders at the same bar. They did not look or taste anything alike. But we enjoyed them just the same.
GROUNDS - The grounds are Beautiful! The nicest we have seen at any resort. The attention to detail is amazing. The beach is raked every morning and every leaf from the beach, side walks and grass is picked up everyday. Maintenance is an ongoing job, and unfortunately we had a backhoe outside our room fixing a broken pipe 3 days in a row. I am not complaining, as I know they have to do these things and whenever they do it is going to inconvenience someone. I really have to give much praise to the grounds crew because they do an incredible job!
MOSQUITOES - We took bug spray after reading so many reviews about how bad the bugs were and since I seem to attract every biting, stinging critter. I am happy to report that they spray for mosquitoes every day and we only had a few bites.
STAFF - We found the staff to be very friendly and engaging and some were a lot of fun to talk to.
WATERSPORTS - We did the snorkeling trip and loved it. We also took out the Hobie cat twice. Even though hubby had not used a Hobie in a few years, they gave us a quick refresher and let us take one out. They are very good at keeping an eye on you and if you get into trouble they will send someone out in the speed boat to help you get back in. We saw them do this a couple times when we were there.
OVERALL - All in all, we thought the resort was great and I would recommend it to almost anyone. We tend not to go to the same resorts twice but this we will put on the list of ones we would repeat.

Room Tip: French side, first block, ground floor (3101-3108) if you want a beachfront walkout that is not Conc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White House
50.7 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
101.3 km away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
47.1 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.4 km away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,236 reviews
101.6 km away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
103.1 km away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals South Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals South Coast

Property: Sandals South Coast
Address: White House, Jamaica (Formerly Sandals Whitehouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > White House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals South Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the undiscovered. Journey to a forgotten Jamaica where the natural beauty is simply unforgettable. Within a 500-acre wilderness preserve, blue mountains, lush palm groves, pristine coastlines and shimmering turquoise waters create an unbelievable backdrop for a monumental resort. Sandals Whitehouse Europe Village & Spa perfectly blends the exotic allure of the Caribbean with the refined elegance of Europe. Charming Italian piazzas and fountains are surrounded by gardens resplendent with fragrant foliage, while three European-inspired villages – Italian, French and Dutch – are home to luxuriously-appointed, all oceanfront rooms and suites. Each one offers magnificent views overlooking the two-mile long beach, and top tier suites come with Sandals’ legendary Butler Service. Seven restaurants serve mouthwatering gourmet cuisine from around the world, and entertainment ranges from a sophisticated piano bar to bonfire beach parties and a chic nightclub. This resort is truly a world unto itself, where time is all but forgotten and the only moment is now. World Travel Awards: Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All – Inclusive Company,” 16 years in a row. Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand,” 18 years in a row. Sandals Whitehouse “Jamaica’s Leading Spa Resort” Five Star Diamond Award, American Academy of Hospitality Sciences. We’re so very pleased to announce that Sandals Whitehouse European Villages & Spa has been named in Condé Nast Traveler’s Voted 2012 Readers' Choice Awards “Top 15 Hotels & Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 10 and “Top 30 Resorts in the Caribbean,” coming in at No. 4 as part of the annual “Best in the World” poll. Presented Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and Travelers' Choice Hotel for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals South Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Whitehouse European Village Hotel Whitehouse
Whitehouse Sandals
Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing