We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
35
20
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
20
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed heregood sizeevening mealsuperior roomrestaurantcanalplentycoffeewines
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 57 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2015

We stayed here for week whilst visiting the area and the hotel was ideal for our purposes, not too big, good food, comfortable rooms and beds and very friendly and helpful staff. The only slight disadvantage was the lack of parking facilities, but there is public parking nearby. Breakfast was always plentiful with plenty of coffee and help yourself continental breakfast. Will definitely stay here again as we will be returning later in the year.

Room Tip: No lift so book lower floors if mobility problems.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterscarff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2015

Once again our stay here (7 nights) was a great success. The welcome from Yvonne on arriving was warm, the room was our "usual".... and the usual puzzlers with coding the safe & bathroom heater controls were quickly solved again by Roland....and our dinner of "the Asperges Menu" was really interesting & tasteful. Breakfast for me was bacon and eggs, whilst my wife tucked into the lovely range of breads ; a full range of cereals, meats, cheese, fruits etc is also available and it's just a question of capacity! A second set dinner in the restaurant was also enjoyed on another day, and Leerdam has a range of eating establishments to complement the hotel's offerings. Naturally, the room was warm and inviting.....and we shall look forward to a return if possible!
Once again we should like to make special mention of the staff who are all welcoming and obliging......and Judith and Anita are my favourites for their appetising breakfasts!!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wrinklies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2015

This was our third stay here, this time for 6 nights over Christmas 2014 and again found much to commend it. The room, recently refurbished, was clean,bright and fresh and once we (again) mastered the bathroom heater and air-con unit, it was nice & warm too despite very cold temperatures outside. With the help of the owner, Roland, we also solved the room safe eventually but do wish it was at a more accessible level instead of having to go down on all fours at ground level!
Having said that, it really is a lovely place to stay with a pleasant small riverside town on the doorstep for cafes etc, in a rural setting, and very good transport links by train & bus to larger centres. The famous Leerdam glass works are close by and visits are possible.
Dinner is impeccably served in the dining room and is of excellent quality, perhaps a bit expensive but acceptable especially at times like Christmas.
We found all the staff very welcoming and helpful, with for us, the added benefit of being able to converse in English. ESPECIAL mention must be made of Judith who came and made our breakfast on most days including a "mini-English-breakfast" of bacon & eggs, with fruit juice and a special Dutch glass "teapot" for our Taylors Yorkshire tea bags. This lady on one day battled through bitter wind and snow on her bicycle to make breakfast for us, undaunted by three times being blown off her bike, arriving all wet and having hurt her leg!!! Such staff are treasures!!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrinklies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2014

We visited this accommodation for a one week business trip. I've got to admit we were worried about the standard of the accommodation because we could only find two accommodations in this town. One attached to a cafe and this one attached to a restaurant. That worry was quickly dispelled because this accommodation was better than many of the places we have stayed over the years in many different countries. There is an easily usuable keycard entry for you to come in and out of the building at will, even when the restaurant is closed. The room itself was extremely unique, high ceiling, en-suite shower, bath, free in-room wifi, wall heating system and unique design that you will not find anywhere else. The restaurant has very high quality food and it's like there is a professional chef cooking this to the highest standard and the highest presentation. The hotel is situated in the centre of town in easy distance of all shops. The town although it looks a poor shopping area when you investigate it online, it's an absolutely brilliant shopping place where you can pick up lots of unique gifts, even discount shops for buying cheap items and then boutique shops for buying expensive items, plenty of bakeries and unique eating places. It's very difficult to pick out any negatives really and the few negatives you could pick out still gives this accommodation an excellent rating, no place is perfect. The few things that experienced hotel visitors might find frustrating is the two single beds put together and the breakfast maybe doesn't have the variety of most hotels (but it is a small hotel with only a few guests, plus if you asked they would probably get it for you. It was a pleasure to stay here and you get personalised service from all the staff and owners.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

What a find! Stylish little place perched on the edge of a canal a short walk from well just about everything! Lovely, gentle, happy staff.... Spotlessly clean, great bed, strong gin and tonics! What more could a traveller ask for? The church bells began just a little early on a Sunday for my own taste - but if the lovely bed and bedding ensured deep slumber soon resumed.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bishopsgate3466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews