We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Surprising veneu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Firehouse Restaurant & Cafe Bar

The Firehouse Restaurant & Cafe Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pizza, Spanish, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Surprising veneu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Been here twice now and its just a lovely place.Tucked away where you would least expect.

Food great, choice could be extended but on the whole good value.
Only complaint it does get hot upstairs due to the pizza overn ,could do with some AC or better ventilation.

Definately worth a visit- best to book.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank haigh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    59
    22
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great food, but far to loud”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Went with family for a birthday celebration, great food, understanding staff, reasonable price

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Animus44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Go to find out for yourself”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

In terms of beer and atmosphere this place is fine. Can’t comment on food. The bar’s a bit noisy because it’s small and echoey.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardaHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I love this place but customer service could be improved with training”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

I go here quite a lot and particularly enjoy the early bird menu which is supposedly any pizza, pasta or burger plus a drink for £8.95 but it isn't always pointed out to you that any pizza, pasta or burger which costs £8.95 on its own will incur a £1 surcharge. It is still good value though as the food is good. I love the seafood pasta and there is plenty of seafood. Burgers are very tasty too. One dish that I like but feel needs a bit of an overhaul is the sharing seafood platter that consists of battered calamari, battered king prawns and crab cakes I think they are. The cakes and prawns are delicious but the calamari batter is always very soggy and greasy. My only gripe.

The bar man is friendly and the male waiter is too but I find the female staff to be quite defensive and not overly effusive in their welcome - might be just me though.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hummybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor unfriendly slow service, mediocre food, nice interior”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

The Fire House was recommended to us but sadly it failed for us, service was very slow, the food was mediocre and we were over charged. When this was pointed out we were met with a very poor response and couldn't care less attitude - not worth visiting for the food and service but nicely decorated..................

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hollybroadbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Firehouse Restaurant & Cafe Bar also viewed

Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Firehouse Restaurant & Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing