We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
205
102
36
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
205
102
36
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bridal suite sunday carvery calder valley birthday meal function room small hotel fish and chips stayed longer sat nav night break family wedding first morning a lovely stay front of house full english breakfast the pub one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 376 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We've been visiting the Hobbit for years, just for a drink. So when it closed years ago I was shocked. Luckily its back open again. First time staying over and you won't be disappointed. The rooms are lovely. We stayed in the new rooms with a balcony view. Super comfy beds. Breakfast was lovely. We got chatting to the new owner Kevin, it was fascinating to hear about the history of The New Hobbit. A delightful place to stay if you're planning on a night out in the town, or a relaxing break away. Great value for money too.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kazlee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018

Enjoyed my stay. Good value. Lovely views from the beer garden. Nice people. Very good breakfast. Hairy drive up to the hotel on very narrow road. Facilities all in good condition. Bar looked good and would be cosy in the winter.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018

Travelling back home from Scotland to Dorset we were looking for a stopover point that was also dog friendly. Room rates for a Saturday night looked reasonable so we booked. Check in was chaotic on arrival as unbeknown to us there was a wedding going on and the one barman was also trying to man the front desk. After quite a wait we were attended to and got checked in. The room was reasonable though a bit hot as it was facing the road and the sun was pouring in. Although the bathroom was a bit tight on space it did have a decent shower. We decided to eat there and had a decent meal on the sunny front terrace (standard pub fayre of burger and chips) - there were however glasses and bottles everywhere so the table clearing duties were seriously lacking. It would be churlish to complain about the noise coming from the wedding disco and this did stop bang on midnight. The next day was a revelation, an air of calm was restored, and all evidence of the wedding had been cleared away. We ate a good breakfast before checking out but it was then a bit disappointing to be charged an extra £10 for the dog. It wasn't the cost but the fact that this charge hadn't been made clear when the booking was made, nor when we checked in.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colehill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018

Checking in was easy and the staff were lovely.

At night though the room was so hot and stuffy. We have a room with a balcony but even then I don't trust leaving a door open to outside. but you never know what could happen! Would be better to have a window or supply a fan!! Breakfast was awful. Everything on the hot buffet was cold, the fat had gone solid on the bacon and sausages....best bit about it was the toast! I understand large chain hotels doing a buffet but somewhere like this should atleast do it made to order with the amount you pay for a room!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LittleMissJaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on business and this was a great find. The location set high in the valley gives great views so you can see for miles. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The room although a little small was clean and tidy and modern- so modern there was nowhere to hang my suit or shirts. There was a rail fixed into the wall but no hangers - how strange.
The food was simple stunning, both the evening meal and breakfast spot on.
Overall good value for money and a great find.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews