We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please, please let this be a one-off bad experience”
Review of The Alma Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Alma Inn
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I've always had a special place in my heart for the Alma - it has everything going for it: traditional Yorkshire flagstone floor pub, friendly, gorgeous location, quirky locals, dogs allowed in, roaring fire, great beer and wine, and lovely Italian restaurant that does gorgeous thin base pizzas in a proper woodburning stove. We're fairly regular visitors and we happened to go twice over this Christmas period, but my recent visits haven't been up to the usual standard so I'm just hoping that its either a one-off aberation or that the owners see this and take action.
Today we called in with our children and some friends following a bracing and wet walk nearby. We were hungry so ordered food and drinks. The Golden Best was off and only 2 of the children could have hot chocolate as they had run out! Then the food arrived and I have to say my Goats Cheese pizza and chunky chips were very nice, however my husband had ordered a 'Fish Finger Sandwich' which was described as coming with 'buttered Baguette or Bloomer' and French Fries. I saw his disappointment when he was served plain old supermarket sliced bread, no butter and slightly overdone fish fingers. The underdone fries arrived some time after the fish fingers and he had to ask for butter for the bread. When he queried the menu description he was told simply 'sorry we've run out'. He only ate it as he was starving!! Whilst I appreciate this can happen, I would usually expect some acknowledgement and maybe for them to throw in a little extra to make up for the meal not being as described! Our friends ordered Meat & Potato pie which was found to be more 'Gravy & Potato' with about 3 chunks of meat. Our other friend had Pizza Milano with Prosciutto and whilst the pizza was well cooked, the amount of Prosciutto was nothing short of miserly - about 3 or 4 small pieces on the entire pizza!
So although I still like the atmosphere of the pub I fear that I won't be able to return again - I know my husband would take some persuading to eat there again (he's had slightly negative food experiences here before, so this visit has truly 'taken the biscuit' so to speak)

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
8  Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed just one November night, was welcomed by a roaring fire and a very nice young lady behind the bar who showed me to my room. Perfect for the night, lots of tea and coffee provided, bathroom has a jacuzzi ( didn't have time to use it!) Clean and pleasant decor. Would suggest a mirror is put up nearer the plug so you can see yourself when using the thoughtfully provided hairdrier- which actually dried my hair where many have failed!
The landlady was charming and accomodating both in the evening and in the morning when I left.
Will definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I have stayed here twice as I have a customer locally.
This place is fantastic. The rooms are very spacious with some very good views, very nice bathroom and comfortable bed.
The restaurant offers a really nice choice and it is all very tasty. Good choice of beer and wine too.
Not many places that I would go back to on a regular basis but this is one of them.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgeWhitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Nice pub with bistro restaurant. Room very comfortable. large selection of Belgian beers. In a quiet spot with great views. Friendly staff and charming dog. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryboyWestKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here for 1 night as we had been to Sowerby to see a band. The room was nice enough but the bathroom was not very clean. The service in the resturant was great but the food was average.
When coming in at midnight from the concert we were accosted and asked a million questions by the landlord who was very aggressive and 'in your face'!
The following morning the landlady pushed breakfast on us and was really rude. Her attitude was appalling. No offer of extra tea, toast, type of breakfast we wanted. Ruined the stay for us - would never go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank melliep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The breakfast was great, but you have to phone when you want to get in after hours.
And the way I was talked to on the phone was terrible, good job his wife came down to let us in. Will stay again but for the location and food, not the people

Room Tip: All the rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LRAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My surnames Sowerby so I was curious to see what the place was like. The Inn is located in a great spot nestled in the hills Sowerby is a lovely place with canals, locks and barges; perfect in summer. The Inn was busy day and night but in a good way. The room was disappointing, mainly as the front rooms have a great view, we had a view of a grassy bank and sign post. Stone interior walls were lovely but the room lacked size and character. The restautant makes the Inn quite self contained. I jokingly asked the owners not to treat me any different given my name, rather disappointingly they didn't. The Inn is great for walkers, dog lovers, pub lovers and people who just want to get away from it all. You woukd need a car to explore, quite hilly area so no high heels. Overall......very good x

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcs2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sowerby Bridge
3.3 km away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
313 reviews
5.5 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
387 reviews
2.5 km away
The Fleece Countryside Inn
The Fleece Countryside Inn
#1 of 1 in Barkisland
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
The Malthouse
The Malthouse
#1 of 1 in Rishworth
169 reviews
1.7 km away
Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast
Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Sowerby Bridge
96 reviews
2.1 km away
No photo provided
The Rushcart Inn
#5 of 5 in Sowerby Bridge
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alma Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alma Inn

Address: Four Lane Ends | Millbank, Sowerby Bridge HX6 4NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Sowerby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sowerby Bridge
Price Range: $84 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Alma Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alma Inn is a traditional countryside pub with guest rooms, set in an idyllic rural location in the hamlet of Cottonstones, near Sowerby Bridge, Halifax. Offering a warm Yorkshire welcome to visitors for around 150 years, The Alma Inn has earned a reputation as one of Calderdale’s finest traditional countryside inns, with open fires, stone-flagged floors and an abundance of charm and character. We host a selection of hand-pulled real ales alongside an extensive drinks menu. Our 5 guest bedrooms offer the perfect escape for a short break or overnight stay. Our outdoor seating area looks over the unforgettable panoramic views of the Ryburn Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Alma Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Sowerby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing