We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Batchawana Bay Provincial Park
Save
Review Highlights
Incredible Beach

What a great beach. Even though it was to cold to go into the water the walk along the beach was... read more

Reviewed October 9, 2018
MississaugaVoyageurs
,
Mississauga
Love, Love, Loved this Beach

Bucket List: Visit every Provincial Park in Ontario. One of our absolute fav's if not our favourite... read more

Reviewed September 20, 2018
kah9607
,
Alliston, Canada
Read all 27 reviews
  
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
21
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long beach rest stop washroom facilities provincial park incredible beach sault ste picnic beauty dog highway canada rocks camping benches lake marie
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 27 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018

What a great beach. Even though it was to cold to go into the water the walk along the beach was fantastic. You can walk for miles

Thank MississaugaVoyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018

Bucket List: Visit every Provincial Park in Ontario. One of our absolute fav's if not our favourite day use beach - it is Superior. The water was so clean and clear. There was some beach flooding at the north end but its not an issue, adds to the beauty. The visitor center was closed but the washrooms with flush toilets was still open. This park does not have camping.

Thank kah9607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

We were on a day trip through Ontario and happened upon this beach. I was super nervous because of the angle you have to park in sand. We got out with just minor issue. Be careful getting in and out.

While at the beach, it was clean and family friendly. Some locals chatted us up and we stayed about 45 minutes. If we had time, I would've stayed the whole afternoon. Lovely beach.

Thank TravelerJenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful place. Water is so clear and we actually swam since it was warm. Great area to spend the day and unwind. Close to lots of things to do as well. Stop in to voyagers lodge and cookhouse for coffee and apple fritters or a butter tart. So good !!!! Lake Superior is awesome.

1  Thank Marlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2018

If you want to visit a very nice beach West of Sault Ste. Marie, Canada, Batchawana Bay is a beautiful beach.
> sandy bottom (very little rocks)
> washroom facilities (very clean)
> fee for the day is approx. $10/day
> not too crowded (especially on weekdays)
If you don't want to pay the fee, just east of the park entrance you can park along side of Highway 17 (trans Canada Highway) pretty much same beach.

1  Thank Bryon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018

Wonderful, long beach with easy access from highway 17 northwest of Sault Ste. Marie. Crystal clear water and pebbled sand. Lots of area to spread out without feeling on top of other guests.

Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018

You're almost there!

Batchawana Bay Provincial Park is an irresistible rest stop, or rather an obligatory tease, before getting to the mighty Lake Superior Provincial Park. After driving for hours and hours up highway 17, you'll want nothing more than to get to your destination as quickly as possible so you can stretch your legs. But fear not, paradise is closer than you think.

Batchawana Bay has convenient road side access, with parking and benches for a quick (or long) break from the pavement. Look out for kilometers into the huge lake and let the fresh air beat against your body. Cliffs, birds and waves. One bite into your (world's best) apple fritter and it won't be long before you admit to yourself, "Yup, I'm a genius. I'm so glad I decided to stop."

Fritters and other goodies are available across the street.

I never ever liked apple fritters, until I had one here. Really.

The best part of the road is what is along side it, and sometimes we miss it while focusing on what lies ahead.

Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

This area has many side roads, beaches, and beautiful spots to stop! A great place to stop and take photos, have a picnic, and relax! We so enjoy this area and the vistas from Wawa to Sault Ste Marie! Wonderful to take your time travelling this area of Canada! Simply beautiful, the majestic Lake, rocks and beaches!

Thank MASH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

This is a gem of a beach. Plenty of parking, clean restrooms and lots of beach. The shoreline and surrounding areas are unbelievably clean and pristine. My hat goes off to the maintenance crew! A completely enjoyable day for all the kids.

Thank kpostmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile

Just spent four nights camping here with my wife and four kids + dog. The beaches are nice and clean and there is a dog beach. It is a small drive from lots of trails and super close to The Canadian Carver / Agawa Gifts. It is close to Highway 17 so you can here the traffic.

Thank Ranjiggity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews