We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven on Earth”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunny South facing Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny South facing Terrace
Self-seeded flowers cling to the walls Looking down from the fields to the farm yard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Sunny South facing Terrace
Self-seeded flowers cling to the walls
Looking down from the fields to the farm yard
Looking from the fields through trees to the Barn
Books and comfy sofas with the wood burning stove.
The kitchen doors open wide to a paved terrace that catches the morning sun
The long room is perfect for families
Looking down the big room in the Barn
Looking up the big room in the Barn. Scones, eggs and apple juice to welcome you.
Bedroom with 5ft bed and en suite shower room. Stable door opens onto South facing terrace.
The second doubleroom with 5ft bed.
twin room
one of the bunkbeds in the children's room
one of the bunkbeds in the children's room
Slate floored corridor leading to the bedrooms
the foot of the stairs
Pot planted with herbs for your use (in season!)
Freedom to romp through the fields
The river in May
The dogs love to play in the water
Our Shepherd's Hut, tucked away in one of our fields.
Lowenna (Cornish for happiness), our Shepherd's Hut.
Our cosy Shepherd's Hut.
Welcome in the Shepherd's Hut
Kitchen and bathroom for our Shepherd's Hut
Our Shepherd's Hut
View from our Shepherd's Hut
Open fire at our Shepherd's Hut.
Open fire at our Shepherd's Hut
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Launceston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen M
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We first started coming to East Penrest farm when the children were age 3 (twins) and 5. That first time we stayed in the bungalow, which was perfect as my disabled father also came with us. The bungalow was private and cosy and yet accessible to the farm and all its attractions and activities. Since then we have visited each year and stayed in the barn (also having disabled facilities), which is huge and full of charm (and books), sometimes inviting friends to stay with us. The children are now age 10 and 12 and say that East Penrest is their favourite place in the world. This year we stayed twice, and helped out at Easter with the lambing (an unforgettable experience). The beautiful main window in the living area of the barn looks onto the farm below, and you can even watch a lamb being born from the comfort of your sofa!
East Penrest is located in an idyllic setting; it combines pastoral beauty with old fashioned outdoors adventure. The children spend their days helping out on the farm, exploring the many fields, paddling and fishing in the River Inney, drawing and playing together (not always the case at home!) As the years go by, we spend less time away from the farm, although when we do there is plenty to do and see. Our favourites places to visit are Trebarwith Strand (a beautiful tidal beach with rock pools you can swim in - but check tide times), nearby Cowslip Farm (which has a fabulous haberdashery and quilting museum as well as great cafe), and Morwellham Quay (a living history old copper mine).
For more intimate accommodation, there is the very special shepherd's hut (that Cath Kidson would be proud of), which is located in a nearby field but very private with wonderful views (perhaps for us in another 8-10 years...)
What makes East Penrest really special though are Jo and James and their wonderful family. They have turned our city-living, animal phobic children into animal loving country-lovers, who like nothing more than playing games in the barn on a rainy day or helping move sheep from one field to another. As my daughter says frequently, it really seems like 'heaven on earth'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The idyllic setting and all the farming activities
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very much looking forward to your help at lambing next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dafeets
Snoqualmie, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation.”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A lovely barn conversion with plenty of room for the nine of us.

Beautiful part of the country and we all enjoyed exploring the farm as far as the river.

Thanks Jo and James for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Thanks also to Mary for a lovely lasagne and delicious hot fudge pud!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bec H
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Our New Favourite Place in the World”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My fiancé and I had the pleasure of staying at East Penrest Farm in July earlier this year. We stayed in the Shepherd's Hut - a delightful mini cottage fully equipped with wood-fire heater, and excellent kitchen and bathroom facilities. James and Jo Rider have thought of absolutely everything to make their guests comfortable. The Hut is not only functional but also very stylish with tasteful decor down to the finest detail. We were even greeted with freshly made scones on our arrival! Set atop a hill with stunning views of the surrounding farmland, one could happily stay put but we also made use of the proximity to the various stunning sites of Cornwall. Easily accessible to both north and south coastlines for exploring the neighbouring villages. Having travelled all the way from Tasmania, this was a certain highlight of our trip to the UK and East Penrest Farm is our new favourite place in the world! We will be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Many thanks for your kind words! We'll look forward to seeing you here again next time you are in the UK.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico...
Pisa, Italy
1 review
“Dream stay at Jo & Jo farm in Launcestone”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

It is an amazing home in the english countryside. Thanks again to Jo & Jo for their warm and kind welcome (and for their delicious scones and blackcurrant jam as well). Hope to return and see you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. We very much meeting you and all your lovely family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theophani...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful retreat”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A beautiful barn in an equally beautiful setting. We took our 12 week old baby, his grandparents and the dog. My father in law has limited mobility but the bedrooms and bathrooms being on the ground floor and accessible via a ramp made his life much easier. The dog was in seventh heaven and we can't wait to return when our son is older as it would be perfect for young children. The owners are very welcoming and the barn had everything that you could need for a week away. Although there isn't a great deal around that particular area in terms of towns, it was a good base to explore further afield and I can see why some people don't leave the farm at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shared living space and the upside down nature of the barn.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. We hope to see you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra p
Ilminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow - what piece and tranquility”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed in the shepherds hut for two nights. Total piece and tranquility from the stresses, hustle and bustle of modern life. Jo and James made us feel very welcome and the home made cream tea on arrival went down very well. The views are amazing, we could have just sat all day watching the world go by. Having two huts - one for sleeping in and the other for cooking and the bathroom is a great idea. We are all ready planning next years visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole break
Liked least: none thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimi123St...
St Ives Cambs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever!”
Reviewed July 9, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This was the best family holiday we have had. The accommodation was gorgeous and our children loved the 'upside down house', and the trampoline was a big hit!
The home made scones, apple juice and jam were delicious.
We had such lovely walks accompanied by Patch and friends.
The aga was a bid hard to work out at first, but all you basically do is readjust your cooking time and we even managed a full roast dinner :-)
A good base for travelling round the beautiful coast of Cornwall.
Don't expect luxury, but do expect a very well maintained, well decorated, very well stocked, very clean massive barn!

Would be suitable for 2 families with young children sharing as so much space inside and very safe for young children.
We absolutely loved the space inside and outside of the barn and will definitely be booking up again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing