We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kyriad Carentan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kyriad Carentan
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carentan
normandie
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed with our daughter, our room was great, very clean and spacious, all the staff could speak English and we really enjoyed a cold beer on the terrasse after our drive from Vendee.
The restaurant attached is nice, they serve fresh local products, I had king prawns and my husband scalops, not the type of food we usually find in a Kyriad, but the menus start at 13 € for people on a budget!
We had a very good night sleep so did Rhi and a good breakfast, there was ham, cheese, eggs and all sorts... and they brought us hot croissants and freshly pressed orange juice.
We had a wonderful stay and will certainly stay again next year....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    36
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
33
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern England
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

Damp, smelly tired room. Overpriced.
Quoted one price per night then charged a far higher rate when we left.
Charged for breakfasts which we didn't have.
There are much nicer places to stay!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carentan hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

We had planned to stay in the area for two nights but remained for three.
We had not pre-booked and received a friendly welcome from this family run franchise. Our room was a large recently decorated twin room with a new bathroom, for €60 a night.
Breakfast was an extensive self service buffet while the €17 three course dinner was very good with additional daily dishes added to the menu selection.
At meal times there were plenty of helpful staff around and several spoke very good English. It would be advisable to book the restaurant as it is very popular with the 'locals'.
This is a great centre for visiting the D-Day beaches and memorials.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BSA-Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

We took a family room at this hotel for one night over the May bank holiday.

The room was fine - big enough, with a reasonably good en suite bathroom, and we had a serviceable breakfast. But the room was also very tired, the pillows were lumpy and the location uninspiring.

All of which would be fine if the hotel was reasonably priced. But at 110 Euros including breakfast we did not think this represented good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

This hotel is just on the outskirts of Carentan. It's very easy to find. We stayed two nights while exploring all the D-Day stuff. There were a few employees who spoke very good English, and the others tried. We didn't have much difficulty communicating here. The hotel does have a restaurant attached to it, but it's a little on the pricey side. Our room was normal. Had a double bed, small bathroom. The room was clean, and it served it's purpose. I don't really have anything bad to say about this place. For the price of one night, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lobster68w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2007

We used this Hotel as a base for a Coach Tour of Normandy and found it very comfortable. Bedrooms were basic but clean. Staff were very nice and helpful especially waiting staff in the pleasant restaurant and bar area. Food was really quite good, especially breakfasts.

Situated on the edge of Carentan in an industrial estate it was handy for travelling around all of Normandy with WW2 battle sites etc and Mont St Michel. Carentan itself is a market town with lilttle to offer..

  • Liked — Staff and food
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kandersteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NUNEATON,ENGLAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2005

Clean tidy rooms,no mildew etc in the bathrooms no dirty carpets.sparse and old fashioned furniture but well maintained, beds changed daily with hospital like folding under of the sheets,bedding clean and well sprung.Selection of tea coffee and biscuits that were replenished on a daily basis.TV with 2 english channels.Good location not far from all the D-DAY sites,Bayeux Tapestry 45 mins away,MONT ST MICHEL about 1hr 15 mins drive.Restaurant run by a top local chef,full of locals every night(never a bad sign),food top quality expect to pay around £20 $40 for a good 3 course meal with a drink.Carentan itself is dead,doesn`t appear to be any social life and nothing from the band of brothers tv serial is recognisable,but the restaurant opposite the rail station offered a good alternative to Kyriads meals.All in all pretty good,friendly staff most have a grasp of English and the owners daughter is fluent.

Helpful?
8 Thank Telecaster_Deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carentan
1.9 km away
Hotel le Vauban
Hotel le Vauban
#1 of 2 in Carentan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
8.8 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Isigny-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
13.2 km away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
33.0 km away
Cositel
Cositel
#1 of 3 in Coutances
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
25.1 km away
Chateau de Flottemanville
Chateau de Flottemanville
#1 of 1 in Flottemanville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Carentan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Carentan

Property: Kyriad Carentan
Address: Rue Du Mesnil St Hilaire Petitville, 50500 Carentan, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Carentan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carentan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Carentan 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kyriad Carentan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kyriad Carentan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing