We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Book, book, book!!!!!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Carentan, Carentan-les-Marais, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Abi G
1 review
“Book, book, book!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

From the moment we arrived we could tell this was going to be a fantastic holiday!!! We were greeted with smiles and hospitality! The setting is perfect! Our three year old immediately felt at home and was raring to explore this child friendly, safe environment! Our daughter was spoilt with the ubundance of toys and outdoor equipment! This was a relaxing holiday for us as she was safe and we were happy to let her roam around the grounds to her hearts content. Our four month old equally felt at home as he was provided with a comfortable cot, play mat, baby bath and even some baby lotion placed in the bathroom!! This was over and above what we expected to be provided. The rooms were immaculate and the small touches made it feel like a luxurious treat! We were given in depth information about local attractions and were encouraged to try out the local pizza evening which did not disappoint! The locals made us feel very welcomed and it was a beautiful place to take a stroll! The church chimes added character to our visit and on our return we missed their charming noise. Terry and Liliane worked tirelessly to make out visit perfect! They were welcoming, caring and extremely approachable as well as allowing us to make this our holiday home for the week! We cannot recommend this beautiful place enough and if you don't book you will be missing out on a real hidden treat! We can't wait to return!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2017
Dear Abi and family, thank you for such a lovely and comprehensive review. It is always much easier to provide all the facilities our guests want when they themselves go out of their way to blend in, both in their own cottage and also with our other guests. Special thanks for the spotless condition in which you left the cottage. It was a special pleasure having you and your family here. Terry and Liliane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Dear Barry, Desley, Monica and Bern - thank you very much for such a great review, for yuour company while you were here, and for leaving the cottage in as immaculate a condition as when you arrived. Terry and Liliane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
keithsnoo...
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

this was our first family holiday with our two year old son and it could not have been more perfect! The gites are beautiful, spotlessly clean, lovely and spacious but most importantly a complete home from home environment allowing our son to be completely at ease, wondering around without us having to worry or keep a constant eye on him. Our little boy had the best time and lived in aladdin's cave the whole week! The garden is brilliant, plenty of space for the little ones to run around playing and always something to keep them occupied. The swing on the tree in particular is lovely.

we could not have been happier with our accomadtion and will definitely be coming back again next year! The hosts could not have done enough for us - when they knew we had children they completely kitted out the gite with stair gates, cots and a racing car table which our little boy adored!! Everything down to having a little teddy on their beds.

So thank you to terry and Liliane and we look forward to seeing you next year

Keith, Kirsty and Ollie x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Dear Keith, Kirsty - and adorable Ollie. Thank you for this lovely review, you came here as guests, you left us as friends. It was great to watch the way you bonded as a family with the guests in the other cottages - and pizza night in the village bar will probably never been the same again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spotlessly clean, thoroughly supplied and outstanding support”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It had long been our ambition to make our own ‘pilgrimage’ to the Normandy D-Day Beaches, and a combination of retirement and a chance meeting with fellow veterans in a restaurant in our home town of Seattle in Washington State gave us the enthusiasm and information to make the trip possible. We are ardent enthusiasts of Trip Advisor, and a search of their listings for Normandy presented us with many possible places to stay, but it quickly became clear that one cottage (or gite as they are known in France) stood out head and shoulders above the rest.

Les Gites Champetres comprises three cottages, appropriately names Oak, Chestnut and Walnut. Oak Cottage was our chosen home from home; the booking process was simple and efficient, the welcoming from hosts Terry and Liliane was warm and friendly, and the cottage itself was immaculately clean, comfortably furnished, equipped with all the modern appliances we needed for our seven day stay, and the patio with its garden furniture and bbq gave us great service. The cottages are located in the little village of Sainteny, the scene of fierce fighting between American soldiers of the 83rd Infantry, and Germans of the 4th and 6th Parachute Regiments and the SS, which cost the lives of 1,400 GIs just on the first day of the assault in July 1944. We were privileged to be invited to visit the town hall (mairie) where flags of all the American states which had contributed soldiers to the defence of the village had originated, and where evidence of the close bonds of friendship which still exist between the residents of the village and the 83rd are there to be seen. Modern day Sainteny boasts an out-of-this-world boulangerie, a value for money Routier restaurant, and a butchery and general store meeting our every day needs, all within a ten minute walk of our holiday cottage, while the towns of Carentan and Periers, each a fifteen minute drive away, meet even the most ardent shoppers needs, as well as intriguing street markets.

Terry and Liliane turned out to be the perfect hosts; warmly welcoming, always available for even the most trivial requests, and full of useful suggestions and recommendations whether that was for places to visit or local restaurants. We honestly felt we arrived as guests and left as friends.

John and Judy Maguire,
Bellevue, Washington State
October 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The friendly/helpful demeanor of Terry & Liliane, the owners
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of ten days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Dear John and Judy

This was as unexpected as it was welcome. You were great guests, great company, and now great friends. We hope the memories of the D-Day beaches etc you took away with you will remain with you always.
Terry and Liliane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AverageJo...
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you want to visit Normandy, do yourself a big favour and stay here.”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I've just returned to the UK from a two week family holiday in Normandy staying at Les Gites Champetres, and would highly recommend both. The weather was mixed, but that's fine as Normandy has plenty to do inside and out and the accommodation was superb.

Our gite was spacious, spotless and well equipped. There is a large garden with swings, table tennis and a trampoline, all of which got a big work out from my children, plus an 'Aladin's Cave' of other outdoor games. Patio and BBQ are lovely too.

The Gites are in the sleepy village of Saintany. It is quite but there is a baker, butcher, a little bar and a cool restaurant all within a few minutes walk. Supermarkets are 10 mins away in the twins of Periers and Carentan.

Further afield, though within 30-40 mins drive are Utah and Omaha D-Day beaches and plenty of interesting museums, including a tank ride if you fancy it. On the western side of the Normandy peninsular a great beach at Pirou Plage. There's lots to see and do in the area.

On top of all that there is Terry and Lilliane, the owners and hosts. They were extremely friendly and helpful. We were made very welcome on arrival and were all sad to leave when our time was up.

There are many places to stay in Normandy. I'd say this is one of the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony K
Finningham
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Four of us spent last Christmas in Oak Gite. What a wonderful experience made even more memorable by the reception we received from Terry and Liliane. The Gite was warm and very comfortable and had every modern convenience you could wish for. You could even watch English language TV (if you can't do without it, even on holiday!).

Sainteny is a charming village, with very friendly locals. Our booking was one of the first that Terry and Liliane had since they bought the property a few months previously. This was their first venture into the "Leisure Industry" and, by reading the reviews from others who have followed us, they have taken their new roles like ducks to water.

We are looking forward to returning to No.1 Rue des Chatelets in the very near future to renew our acquaintanceship with the Nathans and explore more of the countryside.

There is plenty to do and see in the area, especially if you are interested in the D Day landings and WW2 memorabilia. If that is not your bag, a visit to one of the nearby towns is very worthwhile (the ladies will particularly enjoy the shops in Bayeux).

If you are driving there with the aid of a Satnav, you will be amused but the canned lady's attempt to pronounce the French place names. In spite of that, it is very easy to find.

We thoroughly recommend putting Les Gites Champetres on your list of places to stay in France

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely (French) and friendly atmosphere
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ericgwyn
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“Delightful self-catering cottage”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent a week in "Oak Cottage" , one of three at Les Gites Champeres in the lovely, small Normandy village of Sainteny. There were six of us; the grandparentts, married daughter and three little girls in this spacious and tastefully appointed eight-bedded cottage. It has been redecorated recently,; everything was spotless and the amenities could not be faulted.. The large garden, with a play area for children, was beautifully kept and a bonus for the children.
Our hosts, Terry and Liliane, gave us such a warm welcome and went well beyond the call of duty to be helpful in every way.
Sainteny proved to be well situated for visits most of the places of interested in Normandy.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;