We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Matakana Motel(Matakana)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Matakana(Matakana)(Great Value!)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cottages Matakana(Matakana)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quail Lodge(Matakana)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Plume Villas(Matakana)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
47
1
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomaha beachone nighttranquil settinglovely viewregional parkrooms are spaciousbefore dinnergoat islandgreat hospitalitywarm welcomethe main housemade us feelrobingiannidianebonusnibbles
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 49 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our family stayed for 2 nights while travelling through NZ. We are a family of 4, with two young boys. We loved Matakana and also Sugarloaf Lodge. In particular, the amazing hospitality and care from the owners, Allan and Vanessa. (oh ... and George and Tequila the dogs, who made us laugh a lot, especially George !) It felt like we'd known them all our lives, the way we were treated, as Allan and Vanessa opened their homes for breakfast daily, and cooked up a fantastic meal to start our days. We stayed in a room which was really made for 2 people (not 4), but we knew this before we booked it. It was totally fine, new and very clean / comfortable. Very charming home and hosts

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Hi Mary and Ray

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. Please also give our best wishes to Tom and Oliver who were exceptionally well behaved and lovely children.

Kind regards

Allan and Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Thank you very much Allan. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and would stay again at the drop of a hat. We could not believe how many exciting adventures we could get up to each day. You're a great host and we'd recommend your lodge to any type of traveller.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Hi Sam and Mary

Thank you so much for your lovely review - it was really good to have you stay here, especially on your honeymoon weekend.

All the best
Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Sugarloaf lodge for a weekend getaway from Auckland and we could not have wished for a more perfect location to stay. The lodge was set back up on a hill over looking fields, trees, Omaha and the ocean in the distance. The pictures online don't do this amazing view justice. The room we stayed in was lovely and well appointed. Allan and Vanessa put together a 5 star breakfast for us on the Sunday that was very tasty indeed. Sugarloaf is somewhere that I hope to return again and that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilesADavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Hi Miles

Thank you very much for your great review. We loved having you and Alison to stay.

Best wishes to you both

Allan and Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This charming B&B was our first stop on our roundtrip in New Zealand in February. It turned out to be the perfect place. A little more than an hour drive from the airport in Auckland after the very VERY long flight from Europe we found ourselves relaxing in the beautiful countryside of Matakana. At the B&B the room was very comfortable and well equipped. A bonus treat was the “afternoon tea” which consisted of a glass of a local wine and a platter of locally produced snack food, to be enjoyed from the front porch where the view over the landscape was amazing. Last but not least, the service was both personal and utterly helpful. We got help with dinner bookings, advise on where to go wine tasting and also road advise combined with sightseeing tips as we were about to leave and continue our journey.
We highly recommend this B&B and would love to revisit it, should we have the opportunity to go to NZ again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredrikandCarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Hi Frederik and Carola

Sorry to have taken so long to respond to your very kind review, but better late than never!

We were so pleased to welcome you to New Zealand at the beginning of your trip which we hope continued well after you left us.

It will be getting colder and darker in Sweden now, as we move towards summer, although it has been very wet and windy here!

Best wishes to you both
Allan and Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sugarloaf Lodge over the Queen's birthday weekend and enjoyed every minute. Beautiful scenery, friendly hosts, and lovely extra touches (fresh coffee, hot water bottles in the beds on cold nights, drinks and canapes before dinner each evening). Allan and Vanessa made us feel very welcome for our whole visit and on the second morning we had a delicious home cooked breakfast. They also have two very lovable dogs if you're a dog lover like me!

Matakana is a great getaway for the weekend.

Will certainly return and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Dear Gabi and Andrew
Thank you for taking time to give us your fabulous review. Lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again soon.
Cheers
Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews