We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect family holiday at the beautiful Cornish...”
other travellers have booked this property
Fantastic waterfront location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fantastic waterfront location
Sunset over Gull Rock Log burner in lounge for those stormy evenings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Fantastic waterfront location
Sunset over Gull Rock
Log burner in lounge for those stormy evenings
Log fire in living room to keep you warm and toasty
Bay window overlooks harbour
Dining area with seating for 6. Highchair also provided
Kitchen with dishwasher, washer/dryer, fridge, freezer, hob
Master bedroom with king bed, travel cot and window overlooking harbour
Twin bedroom. Extra long beds for your comfort
Single bedroom, harbour views
Fresh and modern bathroom. Towels provided
Powerful shower over bath
Sun trap garden with table and chairs
Patio overlooking harbour
Patio overlooking harbour
House next to harbour and 2 min walk to sandy beach
Great and safe sandy beach just 2 minute walk from property
View of bay
View of Portreath village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ninanero
Bensheim, Germany
1 review
“A perfect family holiday at the beautiful Cornish coast”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We absolutely loved our one-week stay at Camellia Cottage!
The cosy, clean house is only a two-minute walk away from the beach (breathtaking!) and if you walk into the other direction, you can easily reach the small local supermarket (with post office), bakery, café and hairdresser:)
The house itself has three comfy bedrooms upstairs, only one bathroom unfortunately (probably can't have everything at this reasonable price), a perfectly equipped kitchen, nice sofa and armchairs and even (our children's favourite spot) a cushioned window-seat.
What else? An extra bonus was definitely the friendly message we got from the
landlady three hours prior to our agreed arrival time, telling us that the house was now ready for us - ideal if travelling with tired children. Also, we were welcome by local fudge, teabags, a selection of scones, jam, and even some milk and clotted cream in the fridge for a lovely creamtea on the sunny terrasse at the backyard directly by the harbour.
There are games, puzzles, and books in the living-room, a first-aid kit, a washing-mashine with integrated dryer (good for rainy days) and a large info pack on the region...
What else? Bodyboards and wetsuits (essential for English summers...) can be hired at the friendly local surf shop by the main car park / beach; nice and affordable Cantonese take-away; marvellous fish'n chips and Cornish ice-cream by the beach; great trips to Truro (on the local double-decker bus - amazing experience for us German tourists...), Penzance (Ocean boat tour with dolphin-watching!!), and beautiful Perranporth.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for Camellia Cottage. We loved hosting you and hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenB77
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely House in Wonderful Location.”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Cottage
Nice 3-bedroom house within 3 minutes walking distance from Portreath beach. Front windows overlooks the harbour and the stairs landing window overlooks Portreath bay and the sea.

Parking
Was easy to park along the same road as the house and there was more parking out on the main road.

Kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen with electric hob and oven and an 800-watt microwave. Blender and toaster, salt and pepper, tea bags, coffee and sugar are provided. There was also a pint of milk in the fridge for a much need cup of tea upon arrival. Cups/cutlery and glasses are plentiful. A Washer Machine with Drier was also a welcome addition. A dishwasher is also available but we never used it.

Connectivity
Broadband is provided via a BT hub fibre connection. Speed at time of stay is 50 down and 9 up which should suffice most usage. O2 mobile signal is almost non-existent inside the house but we used the TuGo app from o2 which was brilliant, if your network provides it Wi-Fi calling, Whatsapp or iMessage should also work.

Technology
Flat panel tv with HDMI blue ray in the living room was most welcome when it was raining outside.

Bedrooms
3 bedrooms, with a very comfortable double bed in the main bedroom.

Local Food & Takeaway
Local area has corner shop, bakery and a couple of restaurants. Justeat.co.uk gives you more options that delivery, very nice curry from Manha Spice House in Redruth.
Local shopping can be had from Aldi which is about a 10 minute drive back towards the A30 or there is a Tesco in Redruth which is about 15 minute drive.

Bathroom
Bath with very powerful shower which was nice.

Contact with Owner
Communication with Gail the owner, was excellent, via email, HomeAway messaging and text message. Information regarding the cottage was provided in advance, with more information at the cottage along with brochures for local attractions and events.

Overall
Would highly recommend this cottage, it is in a fabulous location and is very clean and tidy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Thank you for your detailed review, it was a pleasure to host you at Camellia Cottage. We are thrilled that you have chosen to book again to come back in 2018.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a fabulous time. We would love to stay there again. A well appointed cottage in a great location. Gail was very welcoming and could not have been more helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Many thanks for your wonderful review and very pleased that you had a wonderful half term break. We would love to welcome you back again too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STEVEH136...
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely harbourside cottage, nicely decorated, v clean with all the equipment/appliances etc we needed for our weeks stay. The owners of the cottage were v helpful throughout the booking process and during our stay. Portreath is ideally located for exploring Cornwall and Portreath has a great beach and harbour and there are enough eateries/pubs/takeaways/shop to meet your needs and the local people were very friendly and welcoming to us. For anyone thinking of staying/holidaying in Portreath we would definitely recommend Camellia cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this kind review. You were our very first guests, having purchased the property in August and began letting in September. We are thrilled you enjoyed the cottage and location. A great start for Camellia Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$203
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing