We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Happy New year”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gulls Cry

View from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
View from the garden
En suite
Main bedroom with en-suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jacquelyn...
Great Barr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Happy New year”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Christmas can be a manic time for me, and the planning of Christmas etc for my wife was getting too much, so I decided this year to just get away from all the hustle and bustle of it. Me,my wife and son, stayed this time at the main house, Gulls Cry (which is next to the bungalow) we stayed in before. We loved it, as James and his wife, always make us feel at home. The house is spacious, clean, tidy and has everything in it, especially as only three of us. To be honest just like being at home, only with far better views, and the sound of the sea much better than the M6 ! My sons birthday is Christmas Eve, and My wife's birthday is New Years Eve. On New year's Eve afternoon, we went down to the beach, and she paddled with a glass of wine in her hand! Got to say one of the best holidays I have ever had, and already booked for next New Year, and will continue to do this now, as long as we are allowed. There is nowhere like experiencing the calm of Portreath and I have traveled over the years. If you want to really experience Cornwall stay here park your car up and get walking ! this really is the place you need to stay. Heaven

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjjjlewis...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We've stayed at Gull's Cry a couple of times now, and will be going back for more soon! A lovely place with plenty of room for the 4 of us, and space for others to join us. Very safe for small kids (both of ours stood up for the first time there). Lovely friendly service, popping round to sort out the tv when we couldn't make it work- thoughtful enough to check if we needed a cot or high chair the first time we visited. And it's a one minute walk (at toddler pace) to the beach! Thoroughly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The beach
Liked least: steps, garden,
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
We are very sorry that you had the problem with the steps up to the house. Previously we have found that parties that include people with disabilities contact us for more details and then decide whether they think it is suitable. However we have made it clearer now and have included the steps in the property description.
We are at the end of our 4th season with the house, and have not previously received comments about the safety of the garden – also we brought up 4 daughters here with no ill effects. On beautiful warm days the beach is pretty much on the doorstep here too….
Also we have not had the comment about a ‘welcome pack’ before - we will look into what is expected practice here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mike6656
1 review
“Stress free!”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great place to say , close to beach, ideal for children. Very clean with good sized rooms , also handy items for taking to the beach , body board etc . Helpful owners !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeley S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Holiday Let - We Plan to Return!”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The location of Gulls Cry is amazing - just a very short path and you are on the beach with lots of sand, caves and rock pools! It didn't matter if you forgot anything as it was so quick to nip back to the house. As others have said, there is a narrow lane to the property but our Citroen Picasso coped fine with it. The property was a very good size - we had 8 members of our extended family staying so used the extra bed settee as well, however nobody got in each other's way. The living room is separate from the kitchen which was a big bonus for us as our youngest children could sit and draw/play at the table when they woke early without waking the adults sleeping in the living room. The fact that there is a fully equipped on-suite bathroom as well as the family bathroom mean't that there was no queuing either. We had a slight problem with the shower being blocked by sand when we arrived, but the owners sorted it immediately and it was absolutely fine for the duration of the holiday. The property was very well equipped - we could all sit around the table in the kitchen and didn't run out of pans/crockery even though there were 8 of us. Most of the property is tiled or wood flooring which was very useful in terms of clearing up sand. Being so close to the beach, meant we brought back lots of sand, but it wasn't an issue to clean up. As is common in much of coastal Cornwall, the phone reception in Portreath is pretty dire, but the wifi connection speed was six times better than our village one at home !!
Overall, we couldn't fault anything with the property. The property is on a steep hill though with lots of steps up, so if you have walking difficulties you might struggle, but that wasn't a problem for us.The friendly owners live next door and are on hand to help you sort out the parking or any problems, but are not intrusive. I think we would struggle to find a property in such a good setting again and we shall definitely be booking for next year! I've already recommended a close friend who has made a booking for the adjacent bungalow later this season!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the space/layout of the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P
Lodsworth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a wonderful week in Gulls cry the location is great
Very well equipped accommodation
Highly recommended

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara T
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, holiday let in need of tlc”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Absolutely wonderful spot, great holiday location, couldn't get any nearer to the beach, lovely view, owners helpful. On the negative side found the accommodation overlooked and in need of desperate renovation and updating, could not close the kitchen curtains, too shrunk in the wash and would suggest a curtain or net across the door as the other let could see straight in through the glass (we had a child staring in from the other accommodation). Damp in need of treatment and a tidy up outside so that the master bedroom looks onto no rubbish would be welcome. Laminate the cooker directions please. A nice big sign for the accommodation when you get to the end of the road would be great as it was hard to see the current piece of paper. Could be an outstanding holiday let, loved watching the sea come in every night from the lounge, lovely memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful beachside location
Liked least: Property needed some updating
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$108
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing