We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded our expectations and we hope to return”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 4 The Barns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fay W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded our expectations and we hope to return”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Clean, well furnished, warm, comfortable and everything we needed. James was really welcoming and made us immediately at home, moving us to No 2 which would have slept four. Well equipped but remember this is self catering - bring your own towels, hair dryer, toiletries and if you are a foodie your own catering knives as equipment is basic though plentiful. Very good internet access, great shower.

Easy to find but easy to shoot past in the car until you know it's there - just at the entrance to Cambrose village which is a short distance off the B3300 Redruth to Portreath road. Follow James's directions!

Suitable for people with disabilities but note there is a step into the accomodation and into the shower and a gravel drive so not so good for wheelchairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 1. Overall comfort 2. Internet access
Liked least: Missed my own kitchen knife. Not worth reducing the rating for!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, I hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax798
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value for money, Glad we booked.”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

As probably most of us feel, booking an accommodation on line is hit and miss at the best of times. When we arrived we were met by James who gave us a quick tour round and actually the Barn is exactly as it looks on line, clean and tidy inside and out. This family obviously take pride in what they do. There's a lovely little brook running through the property that winds down from the left side of the site which puts you in the mood for exploring. Great area, Great time had. Thank you we will be back !!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Peace and Quiet
Liked least: I didnt book a long enough stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2015
Many thanks for your review, look forward to you staying again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickyb170...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Have never been to Cornwall before and certainly wasn't disappointed.
Our accommodation was ideally located for visiting all the beaches and heritage sites that the area has to offer.
Immaculate accommodation and owners always at hand to help with any questions.
Will definitely book The Barns again when we return to Cornwall

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
I look forward to meeting again when you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location within easy reach of seaside and places of interest.”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week at The Barns and found the accommodation well furnished and comfortable. Very well equipped. The only thing was that if I had been travelling with younger children I would have welcomed the use of a washing machine, perhaps the owners should consider installing a machine in one of their outbuildings, available to all rentals.
Owners were helpful and had good local knowledge. Travelled with my 15 year old grandson who was very happy to find that there was free wi fi available. A very nice sandy beach within 2 miles with parking and facilities. Lots of coastal walks and a bike hire company just up the road from the accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The well equipped rental and close to local amenities
Liked least: Cannot comment
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We may at a later date provide clothes washing facilities on site. There are machines opposite at Cambrose Touring Park available to use. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s c
2 reviews
“great location and spotless accomodation”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Very clean and comfy, located between Porthtowan and Portreath .( St Agnes 15 minutes away.
2 bedrooms, comfy lounge, good sized TV , well equipped kitchen, bigger than average shower. Well kept grounds . A very enjoyable stay in quiet surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for your review, look forward to you returning again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yvonne h
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“immaculate,comfortable accomodation, well located for lovely beaches,owners very friendly and helpful.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

very comfortable and clean accommodation in quiet location yet near to lovely beaches would definately recommend to friends and family. shops short drive away. I would be happy to stay again when holidaying in cornwall.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morini61
Livingston
1 review
“Peaceful friendly beautifully clean and close to lovely beaches and amenities.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were delighted with this accomodation James and his family were helpful friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We liked it so much we would have no hesitation at recommending it to others

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$54
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing