We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Convenient location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 5 The Barns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MariaD48p...
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The accommodation was very clean but there was no chest of drawers in the bedroom which did have room for one and could do with a bin also. In the bathroom the sink was very small we just about managed with it but the shower was good. This is a good location for touring round Cornwall. We did not receive our fifty pounds damage deposit for ten days after we left, when it could have been sent to us much quicker (how long does it take to check a cottage)? The details in the cottage said if we were not out by 10am it would be kept, which we thought was aggressive and not necessary. Overall a peaceful location for a short stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
I will address deposits through Trip Advisor/ Holiday lettings, I do not personally receive the deposit, therefore I cannot forward this directly.
I do agree it is a little slow but it is out of my hands, literally.
We do work on a very short turnover schedule with limited Staff, my wife & I, therefore we are reliant on guests leaving on time. We have had instances where guests leave after this causing issues for us.
I would like to invite you to stay with us again, come direct, a deposit will not be taken as you have been before.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Good location, comfortable accomodation and friendly helpfull host.”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a pleasant 3 night stay and this appartment suited our needs exactly to visit this part of the North Coast of Cornwall. My wife spotted a kingfisher in the stream right outside which was an added bonus! We would be happy to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your kind review, you were lucky to see the elusive Kingfisher, I've never seen it personally. Hopefully I'll see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyecan
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Self Catering”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Exactly as described. A quiet, clean and very comfortable self catering base for exploring West Cornwall starting with the charming Portreath just a couple of miles down the road. Many thanks to James and his parents for such a warm welcome. We hope to return as soon as we can! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, secluded with attractive surroundings
Liked least: Our week went too quickly :-)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review, was very nice to meet you all.
see you all again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2016NEC
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An amazing place!”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I cannot praise the quality of this accommodation enough. I am very slightly OCD and travel with anti-bacterial wipes. The flat was so clean that I didn't even take them out the bag! The setting is tranquil and the accommodation was extremely comfortable. The kitchen contained all of the necessities and we were able to eat in for most of our meals. We were treated very warmly by James' parents, even when we accidentally mislaid a key. I would 100% recommend this accommodation and plan on returning again sometime. Thank you for your hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2016
Than you for your kind review, I hope to meet you personally next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Many thanks for your review. It was nice to meet you and your French family over Xmas. Look forward to you staying again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alison P
Saint-Gildas-de-Rhuys, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute gem.”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay here was all too short and we would not hesitate to book again. Comfortably furnished in a most peaceful environment yet very well located to visit much of Cornwall. Special mention must be made of the very personal service offered by James successfully removing the scratches our car acquired going along narrow bramble-lined lanes. Painstaking work which took him ages. We were very grateful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review,look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay-a...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Great stay, albeit a little too short”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed 4 nights at the end of June in the 2 bed, barn 5

A spacious, well furnished and maintained property. Small but comfy double bed. Single room and shower room with great shower cubical.

Peaceful spot just a 2 mile walk along the old tracks to Portreath. Also close to Tesco at Redruth and a great spot to explore.

Free WiFi included, fitted kitchen with cooker and hob, microwave, small fridge with freezer compartment and plenty of pots and pans for a self catering stay.

Patio doors open onto an area with a picnic table overlooking a babbling stream.

Parking space and great instructions on directions of how to get there from the owner.

Fred and his wife looked after us very well as James was away.

Would definitely stay here again

Need to bring your own towels, although linen is provided. Plenty of wardrobe space.

If I was picky the only thing missing was a washing machine and maybe a hairdryer (I was unsure so brought my own)

Overall a fantastic stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful base to explore
Liked least: Small bed as we are use to a super king size at home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$54
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing