We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,192)
Filter reviews
2,192 results
Traveller rating
892
761
353
98
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
892
761
353
98
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews greek restaurant private pool bella vista bar jacuzzi bath the salt water pool pool bar main restaurant rhodes town sister hotel lower pool the italian a la carte meat or fish bar staff sea view chinese night junior suite bottle of water
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 2,192 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

Myself and the wife booked again last minute and found The Kristen Royal for 7 nights and we did the usual thing of booking it then reading the reviews, we arrived on Wednesday afternoon (after a troubled free trip from Gatwick) to be greeted by a lovely clean and bright reception with lovely staff who explained everything we needed to know about the resort. We had room 188 with lovely views of the resort and the sea/coast line, our room was clean and a good size with a free safe, tea/coffee, water, fresh fruit and soaps and shower stuff, the restaurants were always clean with friendly staff, ample food, with loads of good quality choices every day it would be impossible for anyone to go hungry! Drinks were good quality to (we both like to drink and yes not branded but good choice) impossible to go thirsty as well. Two good pools both with poolside bars but the bottom one has food all day as well, grounds we immaculate with staff always doing something.

Bus stops and taxis at a short walk up to the main road the busses were cheap and good service but worth looking at the taxi prices as they have brown notice boards up with how much to each town, we shared a taxi to Rhodes for €10 for four people so cheaper than the bus. We hired a car from the hire desk in the hotel (Rhodes Cars) much cheaper than the recommended hire company form the rep and he gave great advice on where to go around the island.

Trip to Lindos worth a trip but we went on the boat trip and was a disappointment as 3 hours on a boat there and 3 hours back left us with just 3 hours to explore and it deserved longer to take the town in.

This place is great for chilling out and relaxing yet close to places of interest, I would recommend it for its quality,friendly staff and locations.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shaun T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrestenRoyal, Front Office Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Dear Shaun TT,

We are thankful that you have selected KRESTEN Royal for your vacation in Rhodes Island and more than that from the fact that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We cannot choose the words to describe our gratitude for your kind words. It is so important to us to listen to satisfied visitors.

We look forward to welcoming you back and offer you once again the accommodation experience that you truly deserve.

We remain at your disposal for anything you may need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017

We were upgraded to a 'Superior' family 2 x twin bedded room which we as a group of women thought was great - a large room with twin beds, sofa and dining table and chairs with an adjoining room with a large door into the second bedroom with twin beds and each had it's own bathroom - and I never understand why hairdryers are put in bathrooms as once you have had a shower there is no way you can dry your hair in the bathroom. It also had a very large balcony.We heard of some holiday makers having to go to the sister hotel for 1 or 2 nights as this hotel was overbooked.The food was ok plenty of it whatever time you wanted to eat but basic nothing to rave about my sister found it hard to find something that suited her and ate lots of bread and chips many dishes were of pasta based,there was lots of fish dishes but often the hot meat selection was very tough -the best selection was the Chinese themed night. The sweets looked fantastic but there was no taste to most of it. The sea pool was the best thing about the hotel - very large and plenty of sun beds although getting into the pool would be very difficult for some as the tiles were very very slippery and although there are hand rails even for an able bodied person sometimes proved very dangerous. There was animation songs every night for the children but there were very few children in the hotel and the most I saw dancing were about 6 with their parents. The adults who were around the hotel could only sit and talk for 5 out of 7 nights. There was a night with a Greek singer and a night with an act of a singer and 2 dancers. The air conditioning is also not brilliant in the rooms it kept going off.

Room Tip: all have sea views
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrestenRoyal, Front Office Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Dear Susan W,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our KRESTEN Royal for your stay in Rhodes Island. Furthermore, we appreciate the fact that you have spent time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are really thankful for your kind words and that you have enjoyed your stay.
All the points mentioned in the review worth improvement, will be taken under serious consideration.

We look forward to seeing you back in KRESTEN Royal and wish you all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017

Just returned from spending 2 weeks at the Kresten Royal Villas & Spa. After reading previous reviews we wondered what we were booking into. Don't always believe what you read!! Both my husband and I had a great time. The hotel was lovely, staff were helpful and always had a smile for us, they work such long hours. We had a junior villa with its own pool, plenty of pillows, the mattress may have been on the hard side but that suited us,it was well worth it as it was very hot the fortnight we were there. The food was outstanding as you would expect not piping hot but not cold enough to spoil it for us. Loved the cocktails, don't be deceived they were strong. Water was available at mealtimes (free) and you only had to ask to have your drinks refreshed. There is a lack of entertainment but that suited us, it was lovely after a late dinner to enjoy a couple of drinks and being able to talk to other people at the hotel without having to compete with loud music. Yes the tiles were slippy in the lower pools but as there was a few children at the hotel we tended to stay at the top pool. Would I stay here again, yes I would

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank 357pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrestenRoyal, Front Office Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Dear 357pauline,

We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to express your opinion about our KRESTEN Royal on Tripadvisor. We thank you for your kind words. It means a lot to us to listen to satisfied guests; a feeling that gives us the power and push we need in order to keep up with the hard work.

We wish you all the best and we cannot wait to welcome you back in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

I just returned from this hotel. Stayed for one week. On arrival we were greeted and told that our superior sea view room is not ready as there is a plumbing problem. We were told that we will be moved to the sister hotel which is 4star and nothing like the 5star we paid for. We were told the room will be available the next day and it will only be for one night we have to move. We accepted as we had no choice. We arrived at the sister hotel where the staff were rude. The hotel was old and not clean. The corridor Floors were not clean. We were all inclusive and when at the 4star was asked to pay for our drinks even though we got sent there with no choice. They finally phoned across and then only allowed us to have drinks. The next day we went back to Krestin Royal to be told the room is still not ready and will have to stay another night there.
Three days into our holiday we were able to go back to the hotel we originally paid and booked for. No water in the room had pay extra every day for a bottle. The beds were uncomfortable and only give twins for honeymoon, couples etc. The food is awful the buffet is cold and serves the same chips and chicken nuggets most nights shocking service. Only allowed in if you were full trousers in 30 degree heat. Only two a la cartel restaurants both serving poor food from the buffet. Would never go back to this hotel. No compensation for moving us for three days. You have to pay extra for certain drinks. Defiantly do not waste your money it's boring in the evening and day. No day or evening entertainment. Once a week bingo. The main bar shuts at midnight and then there is nothing else to do apart from go to sleep.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank shivonparkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrestenRoyal, Front Office Manager at The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Dear shivonparkash,

Thank you for your rating and review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you had faced inconvenient moments in our hotel and that we have not met your expectations. But we have to mention that you got compensated with an free upgrade to a junior suite with private pool, a late check out till 18:00 and serving you every day a bottle of water to your room. Mistakes can happen, but we always try to make our guests as happy as possible.
We will definitely look through your statement in order to give proper and permanent solutions.

We remain at your disposal for any additional information you may require.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

No complaints with the room as it's big and spacious but beds are a bit hard.
Saltwater pool the tiles are far to slippy and was difficult to do aqua fit. Not sure why you have to go to hotel next door if you want to do aqua Zumba? Why can't it be done in our hotel? The girls that did do it were lovely and always chearful.
Food is diabolical. We have survived on chip butties all week apart from when they did a Chinese night which was lovely.
Hotel not the cleanest. The corridor outside our room had blood on the floor for days and drinks spilt on the stairs to restaurant was there all week.
Won't be back unfortunately.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank nicandchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews