We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
178
113
54
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
113
54
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parkcocktail barmountain viewa la carte restaurantsadult only areasasian restaurantlouis hotelswaterfall showermain restaurantswim up roomgreat saladsfresh roomsnewly refurbished hotellovely showeradult restauranttipping bucketmajor refurbishment
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 376 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2018

We had a great holiday here, the rooms are immaculate, recently refurbished so everything is spotless and the standard of cleaning is high. The showers have great water pressure, I quite liked the open plan design that a number of reviews complain about. The shower and the toilet both have separate doors so was fine with us. I always take extra hangers and this time needed it as only five hangers but lots of drawer and shelf space. We paid extra for the sea view and it was lovely but the mountain view rooms will have sun on the balcony late afternoon and early evening so might be a better option.

Unfortunately the evening entertainment was not on during the week we stayed and the spa only opened on our last day but looked great. The gym was very well equipped compared to the usual in Greek hotels. The waterpark is fantastic and the pool area and beach are lovely. We didn't have a problem getting beds on the beach but the pool had the usual early morning towels out.

We found the food to be a very high quality in the restaurant, the variety was incredible. We stayed for a week and it was not repetitive at all. The A la carte restaurants were a lovely change and again very high quality food with great staff.

The staff are all amazing, so friendly and cheerful. It is hard to mention everyone but the ones that we found really helpful were Nomilki in the restaurant, Panayiota and Kiriakos in the Greek Mezze, The bar staff at the adult only and beach bar were great too and Michael the bellboy was so friendly and helpful. All the staff were so fantastic.

I really enjoyed my stay here but not sure whether our experience will translate to peak season when the number of guests will double what we had. I hope it does as it is such a lovely hotel.

We travelled with Tui and Maria the rep is great, so efficient and helped resolve a couple of issues we had.

We hired a car from the agency in the hotel but there are buses just outside or water taxi transfers to Rhodes town or Lindos. There is also a taxi rank just outside the hotel. Couple of supermarkets / shops within five minutes walk and a cash machine within five mins

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank LouHols106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2018

Stayed in this hotel from Sunday 6th May 2018 until Saturday 12th May 2018. All Inclusive.

Checked in in the small hours of Sunday morning.

First impressions of the hotel room were that it was very well decked out. We had a 7th floor apartment with view directly over the pool and also a really fantastic view over the sea.

Water & some fruit were provided in the room which was a nice touch. Also we discovered some bath robes and slippers waiting for us in the cupboard & a free to use safe - so far so good!

The room has a big flat screen TV at the end of the bed - only adding this as there isn't a great deal to do when the end of the world Thunder and lighting storms come in. One tip would be to make sure you have a device that can Smart Share and you can connect this to the TV to cast films, etc.

Note that there is NO WiFi available outside of the ground & lower levels.

Also Note that there are NO Ironing Boards or Irons in the room, or the Hotel! This caused much confusion for the hotel staff when we asked. Health and Safety was the reason given. In any event the hotel will send your clothes out and then charge you a pretty penny for each item to be ironed. 6-10 Euro per Item.

The hotel itself promised quite a lot.... as did TUI.... but the reality was that this was the start of the season and issues arose pretty quickly as they seemed unprepared.

The meeting with our TUI rep was on the Sunday morning - no location had been organised by the Rep and this ended up being in a small office. The Rep began to explain all of the wonderful day trips that we could avail of..... so far so good.

The problem was that when it came to booking some of the trips we were informed that any that involved a boat were not available as it was early in the season. When nearly three quarters of the trips do involve boats - which is hardly surprising being on an Island - this didn't leave much scope for doing anything else. Pretty poor from TUI not to advise the guests in the meeting that this was the case. Top Tip :- We ended up booking the same trips from Rhodes at a MUCH cheaper cost!

Undeterred, we made our way to the Holiday managers desk that resides in the foyer of the hotel. We wanted to book into one of the three themed restaurants - Greek, Italian & Asian. Straight away we were advised that the Greek & Italian restaurants were unavailable. We decided to plunge for the the Asian restaurant and date and time confirmed we were booked for Thursday at 8:45 pm.

Through the week we would arrive back to the room with various letters under the door - The first moving the Asian night to the Wednesday at the same time. The second advising that it wasn't being moved & the third advising that it was being moved to the Friday. By this stage we already had plans made for Friday so decided not to go.

The pool facilities are really good and access straight down on to the beach - the beach of pebbles! You can walk the beach right round to Faliraki and this was a nice touch and worth doing. Takes around an Hour and a half.

The race for sun loungers starts at 6.30-7am. There is no enforcement of the "do not reserve" policy nor the 8 am pool opening time. The sun loungers do get snapped up quickly. Top tip :- Beach side of the poll gets the sun all day!!

The bars at the pool are nice and there is an adults only pool bar. There are separate water park facilities for the kids at the front of the hotel. Snacks are only available from the Water Park bar however.

The food really was very good - a real positive.

Breakfast - All tastes catered for. Top tip :- Ask the chef to make you an Omelette - choose your own ingredients!

Lunch - Fantastic selection again of hot and cold foods.

Dinner - !!! Trousers have to be worn by Men - No shorts !!! Again the food is very good and the selection changes during the week.

With all meals i would recommend getting a table first and asking for your drinks before going to the food bars.

There is a tennis court available and used this on a few occasions. Deposit required for rackets and balls but fully refunded.

There is a wellness spa although we did not use this.

Taxi to Faliraki is around 8-10 Euro.

Taxi to Rhodes is 15-20 Euro. Barter the Taxi Man down - he expects you too.

Bus Stop is at the front of the Hotel. 2.40 Euro Each to Rhodes. However, this bus stops at most hotels between Faliraki and Amada Colossus so you may find it hard to get on. If there is a long queue i would flag a taxi straight away otherwise be prepared to wait for a long time.

Evening entertainment is non-existent - hence the 4 out of 5.

Staff are nice and courteous.

All in all a decent hotel. Location is perfect for those looking for a chill out and not do too much. If you are looking for plenty of day trips and bars and restaurants i would advise staying closer to Rhodes which really is a beautiful place.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank MikeBFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stelios G, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2018

Dear guest,

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
Therefor we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We noted the point about the the sun loungers, we work on that.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the Amada Colossos Resort!

Best regards,
The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018

My husband and I stayed here for a week at the beginning of May. Due to a flight delay and confusion at the airport, we arrived a little after midnight and were immediately checked in.

Room
We stayed in Room 7040. This is a great room, with a nice balcony and superb sea view. The room is well sound proofed, and has lots of storage space and great lighting (a bug bear of mine in other hotels). The room was spacious, clean and comfortable The only thing we found slightly odd was the bathroom was open plan. Although we are married, we like our privacy in the bathroom and especially when using the loo! Although there is a frosted glass door in front of the loo and the shower, we missed having a private bathroom door!! Saying that the shower was fabulous. There is a fridge in the room, and it would be nice if a bottle of water could be replenished daily (this happens in other hotels), and it would be helpful if an information pack in the room regarding hotel amenities and local attractions, transport routes etc. Saying that the staff on reception were very helpful to any questions.

The restaurant/bars
These were all great. Despite other reviews on here, We found the food to be plentiful, and varied. There is plenty of seating space in the restaurant with a separate adults only area, and outside eating area if you wish to use it. Dress code is enforced in the evening, which is nice to see. Getting drinks promptly was sometimes hit and miss. Because of the size of the restaurant area, and the fact you are not shown to your seat, it is easy for staff to sometimes miss you. I would suggest that the hotel consider a maître d system, where you are shown to your seat and your drink order is taken then and there. Bars were well stocked and well managed, although more drinks menus would be helpful. Special mention to Irini and Ioannis and Dimitri on the bars- lovely people! Piano Bar overlooking the sea was also very nice especially in the evening.

Pool/Beach
Pool is large and very clean. No issue getting a sunbed, and there is an adults only section at the far left of the pool as you look at it from the hotel. Towels are available from the lifeguard near the staircase over the pool next to the main bar from 10am. Beach area also clean and has plenty of sunbeds and an stand where you can book activities such as speedboats banana rides, or parasailing to the right. The beach is mainly shingle.

Entertainment
Plenty of activities during the day- these are advertised on the noticeboard outside the gift shop near the entrance to the restaurant/ pool area. Also some activities at night, though not every night we were there. We attended the Greek night which was great! There is also another shop on site selling the usual things like suncream, crisps etc, but it may be cheaper to go to the supermarket across the road from the hotel.

Trips
We went to Rhodes Town by Faliraki sea lines. There are leaflets giving times on stands on the beach, and the ferry stop is the small red metal staircase at the left of the beach as you look at it from the hotel. The journey time is 20 mins and is 13 euros return (at the time of writing), but be warned, be ready to get off the ferry when it approaches your hotel on the way back- we were up top and by the time we got downstairs the ferry was pulling out. Luckily the captain took pity on us and returned to the stop!!

Buses are also available with stops at the front of the hotel. These are 2 euros per journey and will take you to Falliraki (to the left as you face out from the hotel) or Rhodes (to the right as you face out of the hotel)

We also took a 30 minute walk to Kalithea Springs. This is not that well signposted, but if you take a right out of the hotel and walk for 30 minutes you will find it. Just pass a greenery area and turn right and you will see a small sign. Its 3 euros per person entry, but worth a visit.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor, quiet sea view triple room
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stelios G, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2018

Dear guest,

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our resort! Therefor we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the nice words and noted your comment about the information pack in the rooms, we are working on that.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the Amada Colossos Resort.

Best regards,
The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2018

We arrived to the hotel just after the opening (beginning of the tourists’ season).
The room still had smell of fresh paint which wasn’t that great (and since we needed some fresh air, we had mosquitos’ invasion...)
The view to the sea is spectacular.
The room is nice, not that big.
The hotel is quiet a big one, 700 rooms which I rather avoid.
WiFi in the room was really slow.
The food was good but I prefer more Greek food and it was towards the international kitchen.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Noamjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stelios G, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing the Amada Colossos Resort.
We are glad that you enjoyed the room with the sea view. We also noted your comment about the food, which will help us improve!

Looking forward welcoming you again in our resort.

Best regards,
The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018

This Hotel is absolutely brilliant, one of the best I’ve stayed in, honestly.
I was worried when I read the reviews, but this Hotel is fabulous. Just book it, you won’t be disappointed!
All the staff are so helpful and go out of their way to ensure you have the best Holiday Break.
The Family Room we had was clean and spacious. Our room had a separate Bath and Waterfall Shower. We had a Double Bed and then a partition with a further 2 Single Beds leading onto a spectacular balcony with fabulous SeaViews. The room was all new and well lit. Air con worked well too.
There are rooms that have access to your own pool! And there is a WaterPark at the front of the Hotel.
There is also an Amphitheatre for Shows with a Bar.
There is also an Animation Team.
The pool is split into three areas, one being adult only, middle was for anyone and the end was gently sloping for Children. There are three bars located on the pool, Adults for both and the Children’s End is a wellness bar where you can get Smoothies, delicious whipped yogurt (like an ice cream) there is also a Beach Bar serving drinks and snacks through the day. There can be Parties at night which are great fun and have Drink Buckets for a party mood! All tastefully done, the staff join in making sure you have a great time.The beach has beds and parasols. Little bit shingley but mostly sand. You loose the sun as the sun sets as with the pool area. All kept clean. There are showers at the back of the beach.
There is a Red Boat Taxi that will take you into Rhodes Town, run externally from the hotel. I recommend you use it. You can see times and prices displayed on the Beach. It’s Safe.
We were All Inclusive. You had your meals in the restaurant. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. So much choice and always delicious. You can eat outside undercover or inside and there is an Adult area inside too.
When your All Inclusive you have vouchers to go to the themed Restaurants. There is Greek, Italian or Asian.
You can choose Two for your duration. Suggest you book as soon as you arrive as these do get booked up quickly. We found some teething problems there but the food was delicious. We only managed to book the Italian as others booked up. In the Regular Restaurant we had brilliant service. The Captain and Maria gave faboulus service on the Left Hand side and always a friendly smile. Lovely people.
The Main Bar in the Middle, off the pool, did Cocktails but they were made up in Jugs which was a little let down but ok. They have Procecco! Also an Orange one which was a real hit. They also had a Piano Bar upstairs which was tasteful but still the same jugged Cocktails.
The staff go over and above their call of duty to ensure you have a lovely break.
I have never met such loyal dedicated Staff who go out of their way to make your stay a happy one.
Now book it,

Stayed: September 2017
34  Thank Mazzarooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stelios G, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amada Colossos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2018

Dear guest,

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
Thank you for your the nice words about our hotel, the rooms and our staff.
We appreciate the time you are taking to share your experience and we are looking forward
to welcoming you again in the Amada Colossos Resort.

Best regards,
The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews