We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Eve Dinner”
Review of Papaya

Papaya
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Brasilito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Costa Rican, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Informal dining in a beautiful relaxed environment. Serving super fresh seafood, steaks and vegetarian options. Live dinner music through high season Tuesdays and Saturdays. Breakfast and dinner specials daily (best value in town!) and Happy Hour with signature cocktails and local beers 2x1 Chef Hilda Rodriguez creates signature dishes including cocounut Mahi-Mahi, lobster with mango chili salsa, fresh seared sesame-crust tuna, Thai style coconut curries, and our famous Surf 'n' Surf. We highly recommend reservations in high season.
Reviewed January 1, 2016

We chose this restaurant for Christmas Eve dinner. The food was great, and I enjoyed the special Nicaraguan pork that is prepared only for Christmas. The fresh juice smoothies were excellent. The owner was really nice and friendly.

The reason for four stars is that we got charged for lobster dinner which we did not order! The receipt is in Spanish naturally, so you do have to pay attention. They did fix it after we complained, but lobster dinner is not a small thing to charge. I'm glad that we paid attention!

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank mamasanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 382 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2016

Papaya is the restaurant attached to the hotel that I was staying at so I had the good fortune of dining there fairly often. Breakfasts were pretty standard, nice fresh fruits, cereals, eggs, the usual. However dinner was outstanding. The local ladies in the kitchen really know what they are doing. Amazing local dishes as well as a bit of international fusion. Deserts were also amazing.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank James78Toro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2015

Not very big, hence very personal service from the owner/chef. She made everyone in the restaurant comfortable, explained the menu nicely. Her ceviche (which she only makes when the perfect ingredients are available) was quite good. Her special stuffed pork loin was good, salads were great, lightly crusted snapper a little dry. Drinks were reasonably priced; the pina colada type drink was really good. One of the better meals we had in the Brasilito area.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank doctoryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

While staying I Reserva Conchal we decided to venture outside to try food at some local restaurants. I learned that in this area is hard to find good restaurants. The Papaya is may be better than others in the area but I didn't find it exceptional. The food is good but nothing to crave about. The ambiance is nice. There is no AC so it is hot and the smoke from frying food from the open kitchen goes to the sitting area which is not really pleasant. Alcohol cocktails are really watered down.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank NewYorkCityOval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Every drink and meal was delicious and fresh. Service was warm, welcoming and attentive. Charming casual atmosphere.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank I876NAstevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papaya also viewed

Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing