We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Italian food”
Review of El Forno

El Forno
Ranked #8 of 28 Restaurants in Brasilito
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Excellent food, huge portions, very reasonably priced
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Wasn’t sure to to expect from an Italian restaurant in Costa Rica but it was surprisingly very good. My husband got the shrimp with garlic entree and I got the fish filet with butter & lemon sauce. Both were delicious. For an appetizer, they serve complimentary piping hot bread that comes with a delicious garlic / basil butter. For dessert we got the apple tart with ice cream which was also very good. Solid Italian food and I would eat here again.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank PatriciaT917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 99 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018

Thin crust pizza which is fantastic! Also, we got the spaghetti bolognese, which was delicious. Had the pizza a second time while in the area because it was so good!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shelley18705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised at the pizza and the price. We bought five pizzas for 8 and took two bixes of leftovers home. The Sicilian was awesome but the garlic bread was so so. Price for 8 was an incredible deal.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

Those that have eaten here will not few changes. The menu is identical as previous owner's and staff seems to be the same. As is often the case it seems that prices have been increased. That being said the food is usually good, the Greek salad is very good but the table wine (the house wine) could be improved.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2018

Some of the food our group got was good; the lasagna for example. 2 of us ordered the beef Marsala (the menu is difficult to understand, took a while to get the server to explain what type of meat it was made with), the beef was incredibly tough and the sauce was off putting, had to scrap it off. Might be ok for pizza, but avoid going for a nice dinner out.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Forno also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing