We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveller rating
459
124
25
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
124
25
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews papaya restaurant costa rica boutique hotel guacamole busy road playa brasilito small hotel the main road live music the entire staff delicious food superior room owners and staff welcome drink included breakfast highlight of our trip tropical plants
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 619 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Skip the all-inclusive across the street, pay half the price and enjoy a fantastic stay at this place, which felt so much like home! The decor is so cute--tropical and eclectic. The pool was so relaxing--we really enjoyed swimming after the beach each day. The restaurant/bar--Papaya--has some of the best food and drinks in Conchal/Brasilito and the owners and staff were so welcoming and hospitable. Gustavo took the time to point out the howler monkeys, squirrel, and other wildlife to our son, and also came by from time to time with different local exotic fruits for us to try. The included-breakfast had variety and was filling. Try booking the sunset sail at the reception desk for a really memorable afternoon. A 5 minute walk to Brasilito beach, 10 minute walk to Conchal. Close to other great restaurants. Our room was comfortable and clean--loved that the TV had English-speaking stations. There is live music some nights also in the restaurant/bar. We made some wonderful memories here on vacation, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank Shelley18705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchalHotel, Manager at Conchal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Thank you so much for your nice comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. And thank you for booking direct, not only did you find the lowest rate on our website but you also really helped our small business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

Stayed here for a week, staff was hospitable and room was cozy. There's a pool onsite and the beach is a quick walk down the road (sunsets there are breathtaking). Gustavo and Jose were incredibly accommodating at the Papaya restaurant. Their Guacamole is amazing.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank itizime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchalHotel, Manager at Conchal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you for your visit and your feedback it was our pleasure to welcome you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

Our first time in Costa Rica and we could not have chosen a better location for our week on the beach before joining a tour in San Jose.
This small family run hotel was great in every way.
We stayed in room 4, a superior room, there was some road noise but not at night. The room was clean and hot water in the shower.
The pool area is very welcoming with beautiful flowers, iguanas and we were lucky to have howler monkeys visit nearby trees. My only recommendation would be for more sun umbrellas/shade coverage around the pool.
The quality of food for breakfast and in the restaurant was very high, can't say enough about the staff, Gustavo, Jose and Rebecca did a great job.
We walked daily to the local beaches and although we did not venture very far from the hotel they are more than happy to arrange tours for you. Simon very helpfully booked all our shuttles from Liberia to San Jose for us.
Thank you all for making our stay so enjoyable.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchalHotel, Manager at Conchal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate the recommendation for more shade around the pool which we have now taken care of. It was our pleasure to welcome you and thank you so much for finding the cheapest rates on our own website, this means so much for our small business. Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018

Friendly staff and really delicious food at their rooftop bar. The owners were on-property and very attentive but also gave you space to relax. A great place to stay within walking distance to Playa Conchal. We will be back!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AdamNYC42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchalHotel, Manager at Conchal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

So nice to welcome you as our guests - we look forward to your return visit. Be sure to contact us before booking for our returning guest VIP discount!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018

This was a very charming boutique style hotel. When you walk in it gives you a good feeling. It is a courtyard with a pool in the middle. We stayed in the honeymoon suite simply because that's what was available when I booked, so my review is for that room. Each of the buildings have a different bright color which adds to the quaintness of the property. The room was large as well as the bed (although an old style spring type noisy mattress). You couldn't leave the blinds open since other people would walk by and that was hard for us.

We ate at the restaurant that night - the food and service were superb! A beautiful evening and the food quality was more than I expected. I found the staff to be very personable and a very romantic setting. The morning free breakfast was typical local food - but there were other items you could order.

The only complaint I had was the noise level in the room. We had just sent our kids and grandkids home after a week and were looking forward to some quiet time. We were woken at 6:30 with noise of TV's from other rooms, kids laughing and fighting. We were supposed to stay one more night but I gave it up so we could have quiet. I didn't want to ruin someone else's trip by complaining.

This hotel is more like a nice local traditional style place. Make sure to head down to the beach to watch the sunset and sea birds. Oh My!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeeDeeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchalHotel, Manager at Conchal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant. We would have been very happy to move you to a different room if you had mentioned the issue with your noisy neighbours. It's vital to our business that we correct any issues our guests (and future guests) may have, so we are very sorry you chose not to say anything. Wishing you happy travels for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews