We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Conchal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Brasilito(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nany(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa(Playa Conchal)(Great Value!)
US$266
US$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guanacaste Lodge(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
US$229
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Flamingo Beach(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seis Playas Hotel(Huacas)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villaggio Flor de Pacifico(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
429
115
24
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
115
24
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspapaya restaurantcosta ricaboutique hotelguacamolean oasisbusy roadplaya brasilitosmall hotelthe main roaddelicious foodlive musicsuperior roomowners and staffminute walktropical plantsthe entire stafflittle gem
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Skip the all-inclusive across the street, pay half the price and enjoy a fantastic stay at this place, which felt so much like home! The decor is so cute--tropical and eclectic. The pool was so relaxing--we really enjoyed swimming after the beach each day. The restaurant/bar--Papaya--has some of the best food and drinks in Conchal/Brasilito and the owners and staff were so welcoming and hospitable. Gustavo took the time to point out the howler monkeys, squirrel, and other wildlife to our son, and also came by from time to time with different local exotic fruits for us to try. The included-breakfast had variety and was filling. Try booking the sunset sail at the reception desk for a really memorable afternoon. A 5 minute walk to Brasilito beach, 10 minute walk to Conchal. Close to other great restaurants. Our room was comfortable and clean--loved that the TV had English-speaking stations. There is live music some nights also in the restaurant/bar. We made some wonderful memories here on vacation, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank Shelley18705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here for a week, staff was hospitable and room was cozy. There's a pool onsite and the beach is a quick walk down the road (sunsets there are breathtaking). Gustavo and Jose were incredibly accommodating at the Papaya restaurant. Their Guacamole is amazing.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank itizime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchalHotel, Manager at Conchal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit and your feedback it was our pleasure to welcome you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Our first time in Costa Rica and we could not have chosen a better location for our week on the beach before joining a tour in San Jose.
This small family run hotel was great in every way.
We stayed in room 4, a superior room, there was some road noise but not at night. The room was clean and hot water in the shower.
The pool area is very welcoming with beautiful flowers, iguanas and we were lucky to have howler monkeys visit nearby trees. My only recommendation would be for more sun umbrellas/shade coverage around the pool.
The quality of food for breakfast and in the restaurant was very high, can't say enough about the staff, Gustavo, Jose and Rebecca did a great job.
We walked daily to the local beaches and although we did not venture very far from the hotel they are more than happy to arrange tours for you. Simon very helpfully booked all our shuttles from Liberia to San Jose for us.
Thank you all for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchalHotel, Manager at Conchal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate the recommendation for more shade around the pool which we have now taken care of. It was our pleasure to welcome you and thank you so much for finding the cheapest rates on our own website, this means so much for our small business. Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Friendly staff and really delicious food at their rooftop bar. The owners were on-property and very attentive but also gave you space to relax. A great place to stay within walking distance to Playa Conchal. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AdamNYC42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchalHotel, Manager at Conchal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

So nice to welcome you as our guests - we look forward to your return visit. Be sure to contact us before booking for our returning guest VIP discount!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

This was a very charming boutique style hotel. When you walk in it gives you a good feeling. It is a courtyard with a pool in the middle. We stayed in the honeymoon suite simply because that's what was available when I booked, so my review is for that room. Each of the buildings have a different bright color which adds to the quaintness of the property. The room was large as well as the bed (although an old style spring type noisy mattress). You couldn't leave the blinds open since other people would walk by and that was hard for us.

We ate at the restaurant that night - the food and service were superb! A beautiful evening and the food quality was more than I expected. I found the staff to be very personable and a very romantic setting. The morning free breakfast was typical local food - but there were other items you could order.

The only complaint I had was the noise level in the room. We had just sent our kids and grandkids home after a week and were looking forward to some quiet time. We were woken at 6:30 with noise of TV's from other rooms, kids laughing and fighting. We were supposed to stay one more night but I gave it up so we could have quiet. I didn't want to ruin someone else's trip by complaining.

This hotel is more like a nice local traditional style place. Make sure to head down to the beach to watch the sunset and sea birds. Oh My!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeeDeeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchalHotel, Manager at Conchal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant. We would have been very happy to move you to a different room if you had mentioned the issue with your noisy neighbours. It's vital to our business that we correct any issues our guests (and future guests) may have, so we are very sorry you chose not to say anything. Wishing you happy travels for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews