We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“not the same as photos” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Point Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coral Point Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shute Harbour
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not the same as photos”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Arrived at night veiw from balcony was lovely but that was all, room was definatley not like the website photos, small room with a shower and toilet, no kitchen as stated, the restaurant was closed due to refurbishment so had to drive 5k back to airlie beach to find some food and as for the car port you could keep an eye on your car through the floor boards below, it is a good mile down a steep hill to shute harbour where you have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mich57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    19
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

Sadly only stayed 3 nights here wished it was more. Shute Harbour is past Airley Beach up and down a couple of hills and then up another one. Very quiet nothing much there. Our room was the Kitchenette which was FABULOUS. We had a patio with a settee and arm chair plus table and chairs and wonderful views. The owners were very nice still trying to recover from the Cyclone a while back so when we were there the restaurant was not open. There was a pool and below that a bbq area which sadly we never used. The Airley Beach area is very trendy and noisy. Had wonderful fish and chips Fish and Rum bar. You can pick ypour own fish and they will cook it fresh for you. From here we went for a trip to the Whitsunday Islands.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveatalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ONfornow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

Coral Point Lodge is in an amazing location and every room has a beautiful view of Shute Harbour! The owner is really friendly and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable.
The lodge is located high up on a ridge over the harbour, but it is only about a 10-15 minute walk down the hill to catch the shuttle into Airlie Beach for groceries, restaurants, etc. We selected this place for one night because we were flying into Hamilton Island and then chartering a sailboat from Rent-a-yacht at Shute Harbour the next day and figured the location would be convenient. However, we would definitely stay here again and were really happy about the location! It is much quieter than the party scene of Airlie Beach, with your patio doors opening up to the sound of the ocean waves, and it is still easy to access everything. The owner even gave us a ride to the shuttle bus stop when we first arrived and offered to take us into town whenever we needed it, although we were content with the shuttle.
The cafe at the Lodge was closed when we were there (due to some damage sustained during recent hurricane) but we had a fridge in our room and they offered to bring us any dishes we needed...but again, heading to Airlie was easy for food anyways. It may be worth getting a room with the kitchenette if staying for a while.
There is a nearby environmental reserve with some great trails for hiking or a morning run, which we did and then returned for a swim in the pool to cool down - lovely!!! Also sat out by the pool in the evening just relaxing with the ocean breeze.
The place was quiet when we were there so we felt like we had discovered a hidden gem and had it mostly all to ourselves, which added to its romantic charm!
The style and quality of the rooms are pretty basic/standard so the price was maybe a bit high, but the view makes it all worthwhile!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Me_She_Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

We were so disappointed by our stay here: the owners were not even there and had left the hotel in the hands of their neighbour. We couldn't even get a bottle of water, let alone anything to eat, as the cafe was closed and looked as though it had been under refurbishment for quite some time. This meant we had to pay for taxis to take us into Airlie Beach for dinner and breakfast - there was no mention of this lack of facilities on the website. And talking about the website, do not be fooled by the nice photos of the rooms: we booked a "Million Dollar Studio" which was kind of ironic - "One Dollar" would be more apt. The decor was old and out-of-date, although the only positive thing is that it was clean (although the bed was damp). We decided to stay at this place as it was close to Shute Harbour, from where our boat was leaving, but I would recommend you spend a few more dollars and stay in Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbell78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

We Stazyed for 2 weeks and we loved the serenity and the Location of the Coral Point Lodge. It is located on top of the hill giving all rooms a wonderfull scenic view of shute harbour and the Whitsunday Islands. The harbour is within walking distance from the lodge to reach all ferries and cruise ships. It also has carports so that your vehicle is always safe while you enjoy your trips.
The staff is super friendly and always willing to help with all bookings and general info about the region.
The rooms are in an excellent state and the furniture is comfortable and stylish. We stayed in a room that should be an inspiration for other lodges. I would recommend this lodge to everyone. Oh yeah, the pool is also fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayIMaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

After reading the reviews of resorts on the islands in the Whitsundays (at least the places we could afford), we decided we would stay on the main land and take a couple of day trips to the islands. Coral Point Lodge turned out to be a great place to do this. Since we were traveling with a 3 year old, we stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment (the only other options are single rooms). The apt looked as if it had been recently renovated, except for the bathroom. The view was incredible, and we had many cups of tea and glasses of wine on the balcony. The pool is small, but warm, and there is a trampoline in the pool area. Plus the Airlie Beach Lagoon is less than 15 minutes away, for those serious swimming days.

Our complaints were dull knives (although we have found this to be the case at most holiday rentals), no tin opener, and the cleanliness could have been better. Other than that it was a very pleasant experience.

One note of warning: if taking a boat out from Shute Harbour be aware that it's a bit too far to walk from the Lodge, and parking at the marina costs $8/day. You must have exact change for this or use a credit card.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TjoLovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely views from the balcony. You can have your breakfast watching the sea eagles and lorikeets flying by!.. Best to have your own transport, but even if you don't, Shute Harbour is a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghSeyyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shute Harbour
8.4 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
17.6 km away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
18.4 km away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
9.2 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 9 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
4.8 km away
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daydream Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Point Lodge

Property: Coral Point Lodge
Address: 54 Harbour Ave, Shute Harbour, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Shute Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shute Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Point Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Point Lodge offers million dollar views over the Whitsunday Passage from every room. Discover the magic of the Whitsunday Islands, Great Barrier Reef and tropical Rainforest from Coral Point Lodge. Surrounded by the pristine Conway National Park and the waterways of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park you can choose from one of the many bushwalks located nearby, you can birdwatch, wander down a forest path to secluded beaches and explore, snorkel, fish or feast on oysters. Coral Point Lodge offers a quiet experience, somewhere where you can totally unwind, avoid the hustle and bustle of the tourist centres and get as close to nature as you desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Coral Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Point Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing