We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 3:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
The bears came

We wanted to see black bears, we saw black bears. So, yes, it was a nice experience. On the other... read more

Reviewed April 25, 2017
Kewlmyst
,
Brussels, Belgium
Some bears but a lot of people!

If you want to see some black bears, it looks like a good place. But do not expect to be "in their... read more

Reviewed January 18, 2017
Trail663776
Read all 95 reviews
  
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
29
22
18
9
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
22
18
9
17
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 95 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

Yes, we saw three black bears. The people who work here are kind and polite. The problem is the group of tourist must follow two rules to have a good experience. One no food allowed and Do not MAKE any NOISE because the black bears will run away to hide. Unfortunately for us, there were two teenagers who didn't even care, they were talking, dropping the foot on the wood, one of them was blowing his nose, when people kindly suggest to keep it down, they insulted our fellow tourist and didn't care if they ruin the experience for the others. So what happen?? The black bears hid and we didn't enjoy them for long. There are 9 bears , and we only could see 3 for around 40 minutes tops, then we spent about 30 minutes staring at the forest waiting for them to return. That didn't happen because these two guys were making noise. So if you can keep it quiet for more than an hour don't go! You would ruin the experience for the others.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank nfontiveros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Propriétaire at Observation de l'Ours Noir, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Hi and thanks for your comment. We are sorry to read that your experience did not go well. Effectively, people must show some manners and social skills to participate at this activity. Kindly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2017

We wanted to see black bears, we saw black bears. So, yes, it was a nice experience.
On the other hand, it's set up: Food is placed in hollow trees a bit before the bus of tourists arrives. On the positive side, the guide is very knowledgeable and quite interesting to listen to. Important: Don't forget your mosquito repellent!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Kewlmyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Propriétaire at Observation de l'Ours Noir, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2017

Hello,

Thanks for your feedback. In fact, we deposit food (wich corresponds to 1% of the daily diet of the animal) to guarantee the success of the activity.

And yes, mosquitoes are very present during summer.

Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2017

If you want to see some black bears, it looks like a good place. But do not expect to be "in their natural habitats". An artificial clearing with a lot of food attracts bears from all around but also tourists from all around. The hide is quite big, and we were probably 50 or more sitting inside.
However the explanations from the guides were good as the organization of the trip. We had good views of the bears.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Trail663776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Propriétaire at Observation de l'Ours Noir, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

Hello,
Thank you for your feedback. That’s true that we are organising this activity to ensure the success of this activity. However, thank you for your good feedback about our guides and the explanations. Hope to see you again in our region. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

We were taken by bus into the forest and sat in a covered shelter, we were the only 2 English speakers and the guide did give us a good resume of what he had said in French. He was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the Bears, the company work with wild life officers rescuing young bears and sending them back out to the wild, they are keen that the Bears do not have any human interaction. Their is food put out for the bears but research has been carried out as to quantity and they only put out 0.1% of what they need so that the bears are not dependant, we say 6 different Bears and it is amazing to see them in relatively close proximity, if you want to see bears in the wild this is a good way to do it and the fee helps protect more of these wonderful creatures

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank TeresaAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Propriétaire at Observation de l'Ours Noir, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2016

Hi,
Thank you for your good comment and to share your experience with us. Thank you again for coming with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

A chance to observe black bears from a platform in the forest. We were treated to nine different bears on our 2 hour trip. You are accompanied by the local natural scientist and what he doesn't know about bears isn't worth knowing! The most commendable aspect of the trip is that this is an actual research facility and the bears are not caged or fenced in any way. A great find during our stay in Tadoussac.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank redsgothenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Propriétaire at Observation de l'Ours Noir, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Hello, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. it is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed our guide and his knowledge. Thank you again for sharing our mission of refuge for the black bear in Quebec. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews