We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicer places”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melaque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Puesta del Sol
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Melaque
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the nicer places”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Very nice place, simple but kept very clean. The beach area is nice and the workers were very friendly and accomodating. Close to everything so we didn't need a car to get around. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites are MUCH roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jwtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    28
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We checked in for a week at the end of a 6 week stay in Melaque. We had a 3rd floor room overlooking the pool with a partial ocean view.
Pros: - The hotel is in the middle of town, opposite the bus depot. While the street itself is noisy, the rooms are quiet, with only the sound of the surf (though that can be pretty loud).
- Rooms are cleaned daily and to a high standard.
- It is possible to do some basic cooking,with a small fridge, a two burner stove and a coffee pot available at the desk. There is no microwave.
- Close to town square and restaurants.
- The beach is beautiful and the pool is lovely and very well maintained
- WIFI is free and worked well in the room

Cons: - The balcony is very small. The stove and sink take up much of the room, and there is not room for a chair.
- There are few plugs. The TV, the laptop and the coffee pot all had to share.
- Rooms must be paid in advance with a 40% cancellation fee.
- You must pay a 300 peso deposit (about $25.00) for the kitchen utensils and the TV remote. All utensils are counted when you check in, and recounted and locked away before you check out. We were bemused, as the utensils consist of four forks, spoons, knives, plastic glasses, some plastic dishes, and some battered pots and pans.

Room Tip: If mobility is not a problem, chose a top (4th floor) room for the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank neamster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks in late November 2011 and enjoyed it. The assistant manager, Lupita, was very helpful with our travel arrangements and in booking the best room to suit my wife's needs. (she has limited mobility). Our room was fine and the hotel was very clean and well maintained. The small pool was wonderful. The little kitchen and the dishes were adequate for breakfast and lunch. There are no elevators so we were on the ground floor near the pool. At $55 per night this may be the most expensive hotel in town but it was worth it to us. Security was also good as the front and back gates (street and beach) were locked at night and there was a night watchman.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BatmanCampbellRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We recently returned from Mexico, where we stayed 8 nights at Puesta Del Sol. It is a great hotel right in the heart of the city, directly on the ocean. I spent alot of my time laying by the pool watching the ocean and the beachgoers, and occasionally was fortunate enough to enjoy the mexican music provided by the musicians. We enjoyed the outside kitchen and cooked most of our breakfasts at the hotel. The palapa downstairs with the big sitting area was nice for a lounging afternoon. My husband was very excited that our TV had so many channels so he could watch the NFL playoffs. Everything is within walking distance from this hotel and the staff was very attentive to all of our needs. Very authentic and super nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank butrfly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We styed here and found it very nice. They have an upstairs palapa with tables and chairs, the pool was clean and we loved the plasma tvs. The staff is different but they cater to lot of people stealing there towels. The location is great. We used to stay in Barra. Avas bar and rest. is about 3 blocks down towards barra. This is the big canadian hangout especially for happy hour. Jack is the owner and they have great food. Bus station is across the street. They have a store called Hawaiana or some thing like that about 2 blocks away and they import every thing.

Room Tip: The balcony units are very small barely enough leg room check the room out first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pvdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Arrived off the bus without a reservation and it was the first place I saw. Booked a room for the first night. The best part of the hotel is how it looks. It is new, brightly painted, newly decorated, right on the beach with a nice pool area.

I do have some issues though. The price was fully double that of other hotels nearby of a similar standard, so I think that they are pricing themselves above average for the town. Also, this is minor but they seem a bit suspicious of their guests. They only give you 2 towels and won't let you check out until the housekeeper makes sure the towels are still there. Also, they have free wi-fi but won't give you the code, you have to take your laptop to the lobby and the agent hid the keyboard from me so I wouldnt see the wi-fi code she was typing in. Odd!

The rooms are brightly painted. The TV is not viewable from the bed, only from an extremely uncomfortable stiff stone couch, so I found that a bit odd too.

Overall it is a cheerful bright hotel, but I wasnt blown away by their service and price so I moved after the first night.



I moved after the first night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mezaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Well located hotel located on the beach in the heart of Melaque. Clientel mostly mature Canadians. Many are longer stay and very social. Our room was on the tried floor with a great ocean view. Rooms was basic and clean however the bed was hard. Cooking facilities are Spartan and the hotel has a curious habit of taking a 150 peso deposit for the very cheap dishes, pots and pans provided. The pool was clean and we would think about staying there again if we revisit this fun Mexlican town

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mlinklater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melaque
0.3 km away
Hotel & Temazcal Hacienda de Melaque
0.3 km away
Las Arenas
Las Arenas
#1 of 4 in Melaque
41 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel La Alondra
Hotel La Alondra
#8 of 11 in Barra de Navidad
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Club Nautico El Dorado
Club Nautico El Dorado
#422 of 618 in Pacific Coast
18 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Barra de Navidad
Hotel Barra de Navidad
#2 of 11 in Barra de Navidad
76 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Bahia Melaque
Hotel Bahia Melaque
#1 of 9 in Melaque
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puesta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puesta del Sol

Property: Hotel Puesta del Sol
Address: 31 Gomez Farias Avenue, Melaque, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Melaque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Melaque
Number of rooms: 36

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing