We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
22
11
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
11
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 37 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2016

This hotel offered good rates for our long stay. We enjoyed meeting the family who built and continue to manage it. Our room and the common areas were spotless and well maintained. The staff at the nearby restaurants were very welcoming and helped us to learn some Spanish. The beach was less than a block away. Neighbourhood residents were friendly. The downtown plaza, where we enjoyed learning tai chi and attending evening events, is only a short taxi ride away. We took the local bus (17pesos) to La Manzanilla for some wonderful beach days. We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are probably cooler.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank murrpaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaquebike, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Melaque, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2016

Thank you very much for leaving your comments, for hotel bahia it is a pleasure to know your experiences as they are very useful to keep improving and offer a better quality service.

Rafael GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

I looked at reviews for numerous hotels in the area and ended up staying here. 4 adults and 4 kids. The rooms were very clean. The rooms had a great ac system, tv and great wifi signal. Great location close to the beach. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip. Very reasonably priced too

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank rebecalopez1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaquebike, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Melaque, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2016

Thank you very much for leaving your comments. We were happy that youthey had an excellent holiday at Hotel bahia, we wish you a Merry Christmas.

Rafael GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Nice, very clean and welcoming rooms. In the room kitchen there is all you need, very nice ocean view. You can fall asleep while listening to the waves. The only minus point, wifi does not work. Not really necessary on vacation, but still good to have.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chiara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaquebike, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Melaque, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2016

Thank you for your comments, hotel bahia wishes you a merry christmas and a prosperous new year.

Rafael GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2016

Very friendly owner with clean, reasonably priced rooms ($30) just a block from the beach. Didn't see a pool, but the ocean was clean and calm. Propia was even willing to change dollars at the best rate, avoiding the very busy bank in a town with no casas de cambio.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
3  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaquebike, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Melaque, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2016

Thank you for leaving your comments, always very useful to stay updated on our service.

Best regards
Rafael GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2016 via mobile

The first time we came to Melaque in 2004 our guidebook described Hotel Bahia as "a friendly, family-run hotel". Twelve years later the hotel is the same, only better. The shared kitchen is still there, a great option for budget-conscious travelers, plus a fun place to meet people. There are 5 bungalows also, if you want more space. Daily cleaning...the entire hotel is spotless. Bed linen and towels are changed every day.
Location is excellent, with the beach only a 1 minute walk from the door. Plus there is a pool, (also always clean). There are several small stores and good restaurants close by if you don't want to walk far for a meal.
If a guest has a problem or needs anything, the owners are always there to help out. There is at least one family member on the property at all times, and the pride of ownership is obvious when you step through the door.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Margot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaquebike, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Melaque, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2016

Thank you very much for writing your comments, it is an honor for hotel bahia, have you as a guest, and you has returned again after 12 years. We wish you a Merry Christmas.

Best regards
Rafael GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews