We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limalimo lodge, Simien Mountains ”
Review of Limalimo Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Debark
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Limalimo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

What a beautiful place! Serene, comfortable and well integrated into the nature. Julia, the owner, is a great host. If we stay in Ethiopia, we will definitely come back for the terrace with a stunning view and a great food! Julia, keep the chef! Thank you. Gulia and Thomas

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Gulia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2016

This brand new hotel is set on an escarpment in the Simien Mountains National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage site. The views all around are breathtaking.

The hotel is clean and extremely comfortable. Bedrooms are spacious and well thought out. They have used a Rammed Earth technique (also used to build the Alhambra in Spain), which is sympathetic to the natural surroundings.

Their hospitality was warm, friendly and personalized. We enjoyed talking with the staff about the local cultures and flora/fauna (inquisitive Gelada monkeys!).

We made regular excursions into the Park with a Ranger. We saw monkeys, Ibex, Simien Wolf (which is a rare sighting). The hotel prepared a boxed picnic lunch for us on these days. We were also welcomed into the home of a local farmer for coffee.

This is a very special place to visit. We had a magical time and we would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_junkie_345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

I would return to Limalimo Lodge in a heartbeat. Staying here was one of the highlights during our recent visit to Ethiopia. An incredibly beautiful spot, a warm welcome, professional service, the food was delicious, rooms were private, had a great shower and very comfortable beds. The whole Limalimo experience leaves one feeling re-energised. Our trekking and transfers to and from Gondar was also organised through the lodge. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SwissIsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

We recently made a trip to Ethiopia and during that trip spent two days in the Simien Mountain National Park. We stayed in two locations, the long-established Simien Mountain Lodge, and the brand new Limalimo Lodge.

Limalimo was exceptional in every way! It is set on the top of a mountain that juts into a chasm that reminds me of the Grand Canyon in the US, there are stunning views in every direction. The lodging is in individual cabins made from local materials, and with local labor. They were comfortable, private, and luxurious, while still blending into the landscape.

Their dining room is still being built (though appeared close to being finished in February 2016) and we were told that dinner would be served fireside. This sounded more like a camping trip but nothing could have been further from the truth. While we enjoyed a cold beer on the patio overlooking an endless vastness of canyons, cliffs, and mountains, the staff created an outdoor dining room around a fire, and served a spectacular meal with multiple courses, excellent wine, and a charming atmosphere.

We met other guests and learned what brought them to the mountains. We saw the gentle (and numerous) Gelada monkeys, and we thoroughly enjoyed the warm hospitality of a staff that would do anything they could to ensure our experience was a good one.

We were fortunate to have been placed here by our tour guide, Witness Ethiopia who planned our trip through this area. The views in the park are outstanding and our drivers and guides made the overall trip fantastic.

I have written extensively on our journey through Ethiopia on my blog, ToneManBlog.com if you are interested in more detail.

If you travel to Northern Ethiopia in the Simien Mountains, I would highly recommend the Limalimo Lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyTrombly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

What a fabulous place! Beautifully built (nearly finished!), amazing food, service and. Set comfortable beds. Being able or eat breakfast with gelada monkeys wandering around is a once in a life time experience. And the view from the terrace has to be one of the best hotel views in the world... I would highly recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank SaskiaR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

This has got to be one of the most stylish, comfortable, extraordinary hotels in Africa never mind just Ethiopia. The comfort, the welcome, the food: nothing can be faulted. And this is before coming on to its location, which can only be described as one of the most magical imaginable: perched on the edge of a precipice with views across the Simien Mountains watching the sun set and, if you get up for it, the sun rise. The hotel will provide memories that will last forever.

Room Tip: There is nothing to choose between any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gloverjoe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

A gorgeous couple of days walking in the Simien Mountains was made all the more memorable by staying at LimaLimo Lodge. Everyone was welcoming and the rooms were very comfortable, with fabulous beds, spacious rooms and great showers. The views from the terrace are absolutely breathtaking. The food was some of the best we ate on our whole trip. A wonderful place, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Debark
0 km away
Sabean International Hotel
0 km away
Pension Everlasting
Pension Everlasting
#1 of 9 in Debark
9 reviews
0 km away
Mayleko Lodge
Mayleko Lodge
#2 of 10 in Gonder
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limalimo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limalimo Lodge

Address: Simien Mountains National Park, Debark, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Debark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Debark
Price Range: $174 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Limalimo Lodge is a boutique 12-room sustainable lodge in Ethiopia's Simiens Mountain National Park. Perched on an escarpment the lodge overlooks deep gullies, offering breath-taking views and the opportunity to see wildlife found nowhere else on earth. Surrounded by indigenous highland trees, this is a contemporary lodge influenced by its natural surroundings and traditional Ethiopian design. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Limalimo Lodge Ethiopia/Debark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing