We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
112
12
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
12
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gelada monkeys national park simien mountains african wildlife packed lunch stunning views interesting people comfortable beds modern design sipping wine wonderful memories hot water bottles our night stay highlight of our trip both ways local community dry season
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 126 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2016

This brand new hotel is set on an escarpment in the Simien Mountains National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage site. The views all around are breathtaking.

The hotel is clean and extremely comfortable. Bedrooms are spacious and well thought out. They have used a Rammed Earth technique (also used to build the Alhambra in Spain), which is sympathetic to the natural surroundings.

Their hospitality was warm, friendly and personalized. We enjoyed talking with the staff about the local cultures and flora/fauna (inquisitive Gelada monkeys!).

We made regular excursions into the Park with a Ranger. We saw monkeys, Ibex, Simien Wolf (which is a rare sighting). The hotel prepared a boxed picnic lunch for us on these days. We were also welcomed into the home of a local farmer for coffee.

This is a very special place to visit. We had a magical time and we would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_junkie_345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2016

I would return to Limalimo Lodge in a heartbeat. Staying here was one of the highlights during our recent visit to Ethiopia. An incredibly beautiful spot, a warm welcome, professional service, the food was delicious, rooms were private, had a great shower and very comfortable beds. The whole Limalimo experience leaves one feeling re-energised. Our trekking and transfers to and from Gondar was also organised through the lodge. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SwissIsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2016

We recently made a trip to Ethiopia and during that trip spent two days in the Simien Mountain National Park. We stayed in two locations, the long-established Simien Mountain Lodge, and the brand new Limalimo Lodge.

Limalimo was exceptional in every way! It is set on the top of a mountain that juts into a chasm that reminds me of the Grand Canyon in the US, there are stunning views in every direction. The lodging is in individual cabins made from local materials, and with local labor. They were comfortable, private, and luxurious, while still blending into the landscape.

Their dining room is still being built (though appeared close to being finished in February 2016) and we were told that dinner would be served fireside. This sounded more like a camping trip but nothing could have been further from the truth. While we enjoyed a cold beer on the patio overlooking an endless vastness of canyons, cliffs, and mountains, the staff created an outdoor dining room around a fire, and served a spectacular meal with multiple courses, excellent wine, and a charming atmosphere.

We met other guests and learned what brought them to the mountains. We saw the gentle (and numerous) Gelada monkeys, and we thoroughly enjoyed the warm hospitality of a staff that would do anything they could to ensure our experience was a good one.

We were fortunate to have been placed here by our tour guide, Witness Ethiopia who planned our trip through this area. The views in the park are outstanding and our drivers and guides made the overall trip fantastic.

I have written extensively on our journey through Ethiopia on my blog, ToneManBlog.com if you are interested in more detail.

If you travel to Northern Ethiopia in the Simien Mountains, I would highly recommend the Limalimo Lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyTrombly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

What a fabulous place! Beautifully built (nearly finished!), amazing food, service and. Set comfortable beds. Being able or eat breakfast with gelada monkeys wandering around is a once in a life time experience. And the view from the terrace has to be one of the best hotel views in the world... I would highly recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank SaskiaR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2016

This has got to be one of the most stylish, comfortable, extraordinary hotels in Africa never mind just Ethiopia. The comfort, the welcome, the food: nothing can be faulted. And this is before coming on to its location, which can only be described as one of the most magical imaginable: perched on the edge of a precipice with views across the Simien Mountains watching the sun set and, if you get up for it, the sun rise. The hotel will provide memories that will last forever.

Room Tip: There is nothing to choose between any of them
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gloverjoe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews