We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
7
28
16
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
28
16
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmekong rivernice staffkiprestaurantguesthousesantsbalconytoilet
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 62 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2016

We stayed in the upstairs room that looks straight on to the balcony. With windows on two sides we had a great view over the Mekong, the restaurants and the little street. The room is large and tiled and in fair repair. The bathroom was enormous but the shower water still drains to near the toilet, wetting all the floor. However it dries fairly quickly. Sheets and towels were of reasonable quality. This guesthouse is one of the closest to the ferry dock so you just need to walk across the street. Food is good and reasonably priced. Some members of the family have good English, others have none so it depends who is present at the time. The wifi was generally good during our stay but is dependent on weather conditions. The upstairs verandah was comfortable and had a great view.

Room Tip: Upstairs front rooms have great views and excellent light.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathyk0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2016

We arrived at the hotel in the afternoon and were really charmed by the terrace with view on the Mekong River. And ofcourse the good could beers. I got a room on the groundfloor near the street and changed to one in the back because of the street and public noice. I was really disappointed about the cleanliness and shocked to notice that the sockets came out of the wall.
In the hotel there was only one boy who understood english so it 's really diffucult to explain, talk with them, ...
This place has a lot of potential if the hotel was more cared about.

Room Tip: Rooms on the First Floor in the back are the quiets.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lievida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2016

We checked into this GH because we heard that their restaurant is the best deal in town. We could only stay fr 1 nt as they were fully booked afterwards. Rooms were spacious but dated. We also immediately asked for another room as our airco was making too much noise. This was not a problem. If you get a room upstairs you can sit on the terrace overlooking the street, the restaurant and the river. Room was clean, you get towels & soap. Price for 1 nt was 100.000 LAK, which seemed to be the standard price for all the GH at the waterfront. Bit overpriced for this one I'd say ... we moved next door (Souksabay GH), the following day and had a "nicer" room for the same price, albeit in the backyard - so no view on the river ... .
Quality of the restaurant was however excellent ! I can recommend the fish steamed in a banana-leaf (order at least 1hr in advance !).
Free WiFi both in restaurant and hotels, with ups and downs though.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2016

shuttle bus to/from main road ends here (driver live next door). very convenient. located besides Mekong river. can take boat to other islands and tour easily. room very clean and comfortable although a little old. host very friendly. he also runs a restaurant along river with scenic view and reasonable price.
only complaint is wifi signal very poor but it is not their fault as they can only use wireless reception. no broadband facility (lousy Laos telecom).

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank platinumSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2015

Although we did not sleep in this place, we found that (after trying some other places) this place is serving the best food in town. It is located on a wooden terrace on the river bank at the "strip" (it's the middle one of the 3 places in this row of terraces), Try the curry chicken (one of the best) and the Lap. It is all cooked with fresh ingredients, and for a very good price. Most of the evenings you find a very friendly manager serving you, who can also be very helpful for arranging day trips.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchman-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews