We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Considering the cheap price, it deserves a 4/5.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pon's River Guest House
Ranked #3 of 16 Don Khong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Ok, so we were about to give a 3 out of 5 to this GH. But, considering the very cheap price, let's say it deserves a 4. You can't expect too much when you pay 80,000k (10$) a night for a double room with A/C, TV and bathroom. ;-)

Pros : such a laid-back, helping, nice staff (Noy, the guy who speaks quite good English, found us a private transport to the border on our last day. He can arrange you anything) ; price ; very spacious room ; A/C worked well but was too noisy ; bed was comfy, even though a bit hard ; best restaurant on the island for cheap prices ; location.

Cons : cleanliness (on our first day there, we found 4 huge roaches coming out of the uncovered drain of the bathroom ; we sprayed them dead and tapped the drain with a big stone. Problem solved). The room wasn't cleaned on our 2nd day, even though we had asked for it twice. We had killed a huge amount of ants on our first day ; they kept lying on the floor even after several cleanings, which means that the floor was never swept. Noisy A/C. No fridge. Wifi was very hit-and-miss.

All in all, we stayed there for 4 nights. :-)

Room Tip: Take a room upstairs and, if available, take the one in front of the Mekong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Florie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2016

We stayed in the upstairs room that looks straight on to the balcony. With windows on two sides we had a great view over the Mekong, the restaurants and the little street. The room is large and tiled and in fair repair. The bathroom was enormous but the shower water still drains to near the toilet, wetting all the floor. However it dries fairly quickly. Sheets and towels were of reasonable quality. This guesthouse is one of the closest to the ferry dock so you just need to walk across the street. Food is good and reasonably priced. Some members of the family have good English, others have none so it depends who is present at the time. The wifi was generally good during our stay but is dependent on weather conditions. The upstairs verandah was comfortable and had a great view.

Room Tip: Upstairs front rooms have great views and excellent light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathyk0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We arrived at the hotel in the afternoon and were really charmed by the terrace with view on the Mekong River. And ofcourse the good could beers. I got a room on the groundfloor near the street and changed to one in the back because of the street and public noice. I was really disappointed about the cleanliness and shocked to notice that the sockets came out of the wall.
In the hotel there was only one boy who understood english so it 's really diffucult to explain, talk with them, ...
This place has a lot of potential if the hotel was more cared about.

Room Tip: Rooms on the First Floor in the back are the quiets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lievida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016

We checked into this GH because we heard that their restaurant is the best deal in town. We could only stay fr 1 nt as they were fully booked afterwards. Rooms were spacious but dated. We also immediately asked for another room as our airco was making too much noise. This was not a problem. If you get a room upstairs you can sit on the terrace overlooking the street, the restaurant and the river. Room was clean, you get towels & soap. Price for 1 nt was 100.000 LAK, which seemed to be the standard price for all the GH at the waterfront. Bit overpriced for this one I'd say ... we moved next door (Souksabay GH), the following day and had a "nicer" room for the same price, albeit in the backyard - so no view on the river ... .
Quality of the restaurant was however excellent ! I can recommend the fish steamed in a banana-leaf (order at least 1hr in advance !).
Free WiFi both in restaurant and hotels, with ups and downs though.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

shuttle bus to/from main road ends here (driver live next door). very convenient. located besides Mekong river. can take boat to other islands and tour easily. room very clean and comfortable although a little old. host very friendly. he also runs a restaurant along river with scenic view and reasonable price.
only complaint is wifi signal very poor but it is not their fault as they can only use wireless reception. no broadband facility (lousy Laos telecom).

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank platinumSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Although we did not sleep in this place, we found that (after trying some other places) this place is serving the best food in town. It is located on a wooden terrace on the river bank at the "strip" (it's the middle one of the 3 places in this row of terraces), Try the curry chicken (one of the best) and the Lap. It is all cooked with fresh ingredients, and for a very good price. Most of the evenings you find a very friendly manager serving you, who can also be very helpful for arranging day trips.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchman-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

Helpful staff. Food was good. Big Rooms were OK for that price. Nice hangaround area though. Probably the cleanest room we had so far in SEA. I would recommend it. But its very laid back. 5 min by foot to the ATM (maestro, MasterCard, visa) so a good location for the first day in laos.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Flavio q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Don Khong
0 km away
Pon Arena Hotel
Pon Arena Hotel
#1 of 2 in Don Khong
260 reviews
0 km away
Mekong Inn
Mekong Inn
#2 of 16 in Don Khong
27 reviews
0 km away
Souksabay Guesthouse
Souksabay Guesthouse
#12 of 16 in Don Khong
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Khong View Guesthouse
Khong View Guesthouse
#8 of 16 in Don Khong
20 reviews
0 km away
Little Eden
Little Eden
#1 of 16 in Don Det
341 reviews
0 km away
Khao Pheng Guesthouse
Khao Pheng Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Don Khong
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pon's River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pon's River Guest House

Address: Ban Khang Khong, Don Khong, Laos
Region: Laos > Champasak Province > Don Khong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Don Khong
Price Range: $22 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is next by Pon Hotel (same owner!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pon's River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing