We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
245
58
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
58
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tukthe ownervisa formsfriendly ownersmekong rivergreat viewone nightslow boatthe buscould not have been more helpfulroom was largehis wifeborder crossingbrewed coffeeperfect englishgenuine hospitalityowners speak
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 317 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

The owners were so nice and helpful, you can query whatever you want to know about the trip.
And the room is clean and big. The view also fabulous, you can enjoy sunrise during the early morning.
The breakfast was simply but good ,you can even taste local snack.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Klein C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018

Had a lovely stay at the Waterfront Hotel. The man and woman of the hotel are very, very nice, the views of the balcony over the Mekong are superb and the wifi is good but.....
i booked through them the package for the slow boat to Luang Prabang. Thought it would be easy for me to book via them, but afterwards this was totally not necessary, because would be easyly done by ourselves. Payed around 10 euro above the normal price (doing it by ourselves). After the border with Laos had to wait till other tuk tuks arrived, and got scammed to book a guesthouse, had to wait long time and arrived very late at the boat.
It is very pity the people (who are very nice) of this hotel work together with these people of the scam (though i am not sure they know about these misbehaving)

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasitrassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go4journey, Owner at Day Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2018

Dear Nasitrassi, Thanks for your reviewed. I had check with the travel agency that you had gone with. The agency explained to me that some time it might delay at immigration border. If they had suspicious some one or found something wrong. That will whole the rest of it. For the hotel or guesthouse on the way to Luang Pra Bang, you had pre-booking yourself. However, for your reviewed I will be more careful about the agency that we working with and improve the services as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2018 via mobile

As other posters have mentioned, it is the owners that make this a great place to stay. What a wonderful and engaging couple.

The room is basic, but the view of the Mekong is amazing. There is breakfast provided and you can eat out on the deck overlooking the river. Lots of restaurants, a small store at the corner, and delicious food stands nearby,

Chiang Khong is tiny but friendly. The owner of one of the bars bought us all welcome drinks.

If you are planning on doing the slow boat down the Mekong, make sure you choose the Day Waterfront as your stopover. The owners gave us clear instructions on the transfer process and saw us off the next morning.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Barfly-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

Easy to find, although we did get a tuktuk once we were dropped off at the bus station but you could walk.

Lovely location and very helpful and friendly owners. The rooms are large and clean with a great terrace and view of the Mekong. Wi-fi works ok but occasionally patchy in the room.

There are a couple of great restaurants nearby (see other reviews - Jam House & Namkhong Riverside Restaurant).

Great place to stay for one or two nights before departing for Laos.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2018 via mobile

Simple clean lodgings for a great price with wonderful customer service The owners speak English well and we're really helpful organising travel via slow boat to Laos... highly recommended
Khob Kuhn maak Krap

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews