We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, good food, beware of smoke”
Review of Alexandra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexandra Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Edzell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We recently stayed at Alexandra Lodge, fully expecting it to be non-smoking as per the sign in our room, but unfortunately cigarette smoke from the private part of the house migrated and spoiled what would have otherwise been a lovely place to stay. I am allergic to smoke and was unable to sleep as a result.

Room Tip: If you are particularly sensitive to smoke, make sure you ask whether smoking is allowed in any part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra089, Owner at Alexandra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you liked the room but very concerned you had an issue with smoke. All our bedrooms are non-smoking as is the guest lounge and I am surprised to hear of smoke reaching the bedrooms, however we did light the log stove that evening due to the bad and windy weather and this may unfortunately be the cause of your complaint.

I am sorry that you did not mention it either that evening or the following day before your departure, to have given me the opportunity to rectify the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Jennifer,provides a warm welcome to Alexandra Lodge which has comfortable, clean airy bedrooms and provides a range of breakfasts suited to your requirements.Nothing was too much trouble and I will be back again and fully recommend this location as a stop off or center of your holidays with salmon fishing literally on your doorstep.

I promise you will not be disappointed and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewryRed_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra089, Owner at Alexandra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback, I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is important to us as it gives us guidence for the future. Hopefully we will see you again very soon. Regards Jennifer & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Great hospitality met with pleasant surroundings, Jennifer could not of been more helpful, the rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed. And the breakfast is great to. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cipriani89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Very nice traditional large house with pleasant front garden and parking at the back. In a rather clean, pristine setting in Edzell, a tidy, well-scrubbed looking village. Bedrooms are rather typical B&B but comfortable and everything works; slept well. The breakfast room has bags of character and some amazing furniture. The owners are very pleasant and very knowledgeable. The whole thing has a nice homely aspect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GealCarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Jennifer and Nick couldn't be nicer. Their very, very comfy bed is equalled only by their hospitality. We spent two nights with them while attending a wedding at Drumtochty Castle, and we will return to enjoy their lovely B&B and take in some of the many things to do in the area which on this occasion we did not have time for. Thank you Jen and Nick.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sabre9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra089, Owner at Alexandra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Only just getting round to writing a review of this bed and breakfast. Stayed here last November amidst the first snow of the winter. The house is beautifully appointed as are the guest bedrooms Your hosts cannot do enough for you. A s we became snowed in we had to arrange to stay an extra night, and this was no problem. The breakfast was fantastic, beautifully presented and a great choice for all tastes, the full cooked Scottish breakfast was something special !!! The location is perfect. I was working in Aberdeen area and this was a pleasant change from being in the city centre. I would certainly have no hesitation in staying here again, and would most definately highly recommend this bed and breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra089, Owner at Alexandra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for your kind review. It would be lovely to see you again, hopefully without the snow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I was booked in by a friend whose birthday party I was attending last weekend; never having been to Edzell before. It couldn't have been better - superb hosts (Jen and Nick), a warm welcome, a spacious and very clean, comfortable room, off-road parking and the most amazing breakfasts. many thanks to you both and congratulations on the way you run this first class guest house. I will certainly be back when I'm next in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidnlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra089, Owner at Alexandra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

David, thank you so much for your kind comments, it will be our pleasure to see you again. Hopefully the tourist season will be calmer on your next visit and you may be able to park where you want to visit. I think all the guests enjoyed the party and we are pleased you all had a good weekend. Regards Jen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alexandra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Lodge

Address: Alexandra Lodge Inveriscandye Road, Edzell, Brechin DD9 7TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Brechin > Edzell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edzell
Price Range: $116 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Bed and Breakfast in the village of Edzell at the foot of Glen Esk. Comfortable bedrooms with great facilites. Business and tourist customers most welcome. All credit/debit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexandra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing