We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house in the prettiest setting”
other travellers have booked this property
LA MAISON. The lounge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LA MAISON. The lounge.
LA MAISON. The kitchen. LA MAISON. Dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
LA MAISON. The lounge.
LA MAISON. The kitchen.
LA MAISON. Dining area.
LA MAISON. Cocoon fire
LA MAISON. Our neighbours ;-)
LA MAISON. Dining table.
LA MAISON. Dining area.
LA MAISON. Dining area.
LA MAISON. The kitchen.
LA MAISON. Entrance area
LA MAISON. Bathroom
LA MAISON. Master bedroom
LA MAISON. Master bedroom
LA MAISON. 2nd bedroom
LA MAISON. 3rd bedroom
LA MAISON. Kid's loft
LA MAISON. Kid's loft.
LA MAISON. The view
LA MAISON. Johnnie B, Big T & Elsa
LA MAISON. The view.
LA MAISON.
LA MAISON.
Schauinsland - Only 10km away
Oberried-Hofsgrund, only 8km away
LA MAISON. Walkway to Heaven. :-)
LA MAISON. Welcome nature.
LA MAISON Freiburg
The amazing Steinwasenpark, just around the corner!
The Hasenhorn coaster! Germany´s largest toboggan!
The rowing boats at Lake Titisee (15 minutes away)
Germany´s largest waterfalls
Your host Wenke (certified connoisseur of wine and restaurant proprietor)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Kirchzarten, Baden-Wurttemberg

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
travelque...
nazeing
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous house in the prettiest setting”
Reviewed July 12, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Booked via email and the host Patrick was quick to respond and the booking was very easy. We drove from Calais using the tolls and the drive was very easy and arrived around 4.30pm. The house was spotless, fully fitted kitchen with up to date modern Siemens appliances (they really are; I sell them). Kitchen is also stocked with detergent/dishwasher capsules etc. The views from every aspect are amazing. We travelled with our two adult children and girlfriends - the house was plenty big enough. The local supermarket stocks everything you could possibly need with outstanding quality.
We used the house as a base to visit Europark, we managed to cover all the big rides in just one day. Lake Titisee is nearby and on a rainy day we visited the Badeparadies which was amazing - main adult only pool with cocktail bar and a separate pool area with slides for children. We also visted Colmar in Alsace which is so beautiful and went to the Keidel Mineral spa on the way back - a great end to the day. The local outdoor swimming pools are great as is the mountain side toboggan.
I thoroughly recommend this house and woudl love to visit in the winter when it is covered in snow.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina B
1 review
“Defenetly coming back”
Reviewed April 18, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The house is great and very well equipped. It was very clean (actually spotless) and very pleasant to stay in. Location could never be better as it is very close to many attractions in the beautiful neighbourhood. We´re definetely coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2018
Dear Marina, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon. Best regards, Wenke & Patrick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasserlos...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect for our week in the Black Forest”
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Rented La Maison for a week in October and found it perfect for what we needed for a week’s walking holiday with 3 adults and a child.

The place is in a very quiet location in a small hamlet and yet only 15 minutes drive to Freiburg.

It is very close to some of the most spectacular walks (eg Ravenna Gorge).

The house is well kitted out and very comfortable and we enjoyed lighting the fuel fireplace in the evening which emanated a surprising amount of heat.

The kitchen had everything we needed to cook most nights when we didn’t go to Roessle nearby (see separate review).

Both bedrooms have outside space either a balcony or a terrace with beautiful views and best of all the mattresses were super comfy.

A real home from home

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2017
Thanks again for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twofromLo...
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Christmas Pastorale”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We were a party of four adults and a tweenager staying for the week over Christmas.
La Maison is nestled into a hill in a small group of houses amidst farmland on the outskirts of the hamlet of Dietenbach. The quiet lane that runs past is popular with joggers and mountain bikers and also offers a pathway for easy strolling on a circular route in both directions. The longer but pleasant walk into the village of Kirchzarten (supermarkets, bakeries, banks, post office, train station), goes under the highway and follows a stream. We had a car for the winter supermarket and train station journeys.
The house has been renovated in an airy and contemporary style but also retains some traditional building features like the wooden staircase. The two bed loft storey, accessed by a ladder style stair and appointed for children, is a delightful feature. La Maison is warm, well insulated and very quiet and the expansive views over farmland towards low hills via many large windows would be appreciated in any season. We found the Wifi reliable. The washing machine and dryer are located in the cellar.
The marketing material emphasises the owners' design interests and the interior decorating choices are stylish but we found a number of functional issues for guests - the bathroom is on the ground floor and the bedrooms on higher floors, the small shower's sharp tap handle angles towards the body and causes bruises, there are no mirrors or waste paper bins in any bedroom, there is no exhaust fan in the kitchen and the lighting is very dim making evening food prep a challenge in winter months and the bedside lights in the second double bedroom don't permit reading. Compared with other 5 star properties, there were general signs of wear and tear with towels (no fluffy ones here) and some linen plus cooking utensils and cookware needing upgrading/replacing. Two members of our party got splinters in their feet from the staircase and care was needed using/cleaning the rustic wooden dining table for similar reasons. Unlike other 5 star stays, payment is required for Nespresso capsules.
When we requested our passes for free local travel which is included when you pay compulsory tourist tax, the owner arranged for a prompt response. We enjoyed excursions by rail to Freiburg and the higher villages and lakes. Our week at La Maison was peaceful and relaxed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Dear Glenn, Thank you for your review (even that it was the lowest we´ve ever received). We´ll take your views into consideration. We are regularly replacing all towels and linen at least once a year and we´ve just bought new cooking utensils etc.. Thanks again for raising those points, this will help us to improve and get better and better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
15108JoJo
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pure Perfection”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed this past spring with another family. The location is perfect. Just outside Freiburg (about a 7 minute drive). It is within walking distance (5 minutes) of a quaint little town. The men would walk to the bakery each morning to bring us the best pastries. A 2 minute walk will take you to a fabulous restaurant. The views are breathtaking. And the neighbors were cows....really! They walked out into the field across the street each morning.
Enough about the surroundings, the home is fabulous! Beautifully decorated. A fully stocked kitchen. There wasn't any detail forgotten. This home feels welcoming from the first step inside the door. The owners had coffee and wine (for purchase at a very reasonable price) for us to enjoy. We loved this home so much, we hope to return some day. I believe the owner has a place in South Africa, perhaps we will one day visit that location!
Thank you Patrick for your hospitality!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, decor, location
Liked least: No mirrors in bedrooms
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven F
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous retreat in the Black Forest”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

La Maison is a gorgeous villa nestled in the Black Forest. This place is minutes from Freiburg im Breisgau, in the Baden-Württemberg. It is actually located a couple minutes drive from Kirchzarten, which is a cozy little village east of Freiburg. We stayed for five nights, and used it as a base to take several day trips to Alsace, France, northern Switzerland, and Bavaria.

The house itself is beautiful; it has very contemporary furnishings, and is in immaculate condition. Four bedrooms, a spacious living room and dining room, decks, patios, and a well furnished kitchen. Set slightly elevated from neighboring pastures, this house has a tremendous view of the surrounding area. You can use it as we did, as a base for travel, or you could simply choose to remain there through the day to simply relax and unwind.

We hope to find ourselves travelling back to this part of Germany; if we are able to return, this place will be our first choice to rent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the place
Liked least: The only thing I didn't like was having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noordhoek
Reviewed January 29, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing