We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“C18th Inglenook Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
C18th Inglenook Cottage from the courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
C18th Inglenook Cottage from the courtyard
The living room with stone inglenook fireplace, bread oven and salt safe The dining area in the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
C18th Inglenook Cottage from the courtyard
The living room with stone inglenook fireplace, bread oven and salt safe
The dining area in the living room
The separate kitchen is very well equipped, including dishwasher, washer, dryer, etc.
The main double bedroom overlooks the courtyard
The second bedroom can be a king-size or twin using a ziplink bed
The third single bedroom
Bathroom with bath, WC and shower cubicle
Path to rear garden - the pergola supports a magnificent white Wisteria
Rear enclosed private garden with impressive dry-stone walling and built-in bench
Inglenook Cottage from the courtyard
Inglenook Cottage from the car park
The pond is a perfect place to relax and watch the wildlife (e.g. frogs, newts and dragonflies)
There are loads of butterflies on site in late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
Play area with two towers, bridge, swing, slide, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
Magnificent views from Humphrey's Hill
The cottages seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
Exmoor has lots of amazing coastal walks
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has plenty of wildlife, including wild horses, deer, goats and birds of prey
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of daffodil in our gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gerald C
1 review
“C18th Inglenook Cottage”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage is very well equipped and very comfortable. We really appreciated the welcome and introduction, the clarity of information and the recommendations for walks in the region. It was lovely and peaceful. The cottage had everything we needed for the holiday and with something of a shortage of sunshine the ability to tumble dry washing was great. Although warned about the sticky wifi, it was nice to have. Perhaps one day the band might be broadened a little to make it easier to watch iPlayer programmes when the weather is wet, although the TV with integrated DVD player worked well. Also rather sticky was the 'non-stick' frying pan which has perhaps seen better days. The ease of access to the friendly little shop/post office and the pub was great - just a short walk up the lane and over a foot bridge across the stream by the ford to get all the essentials. We missed clear skies at night and warm sunshine during some of the days but otherwise it was a very enjoyable week. Thanks you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and peace and quiet.
Liked least: The hot water tap at the kitchen sink and the frying pan.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review - we are happy that you had a comfortable stay (despite the poor weather). We are very lucky to have the local pub and shop so nearby, and so many lovely walks too.
We will replace the frying pan - thank you for letting us know.
See you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pudpotpie
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“home from home”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our stay at Inglenook Cottage was really relaxing . When we arrived Melanie and John were there to greet us. They are a very friendly couple and Melanie was especially helpful with information on places to go and places to eat out. The cottage was cosy with a homely feel and we felt very comfortable, even our dog very quickly settled in and felt at home. The area is very quiet and peaceful with a pub with good food right on your doorstep. I could recommend a stay at this lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful location
Liked least: lack of pathways on the roads
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really happy that you (and your super dog) were comfortable in Inglenook Cottage.
Exmoor boasts some of the best food in the country and some excellent places to visit and see.
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie63...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect dog friendly cottage and location”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing week in Inglenook Cottage with our three dogs. Lovely cottage with everything you could wish for including a very useful welcome pack .Wonderful location with walks straight from the door . Great pub a few minutes walk away. My second visit to the cottages and am sure we will be back again soon- thank you to Melanie & John for the friendly welcome on arrival and for sharing your lovely cottages with us.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2015
You are very welcome!
Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad that you enjoyed Inglenook Cottage and the lovely area.
We look forward to seeing you (and your lovely dogs) again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea J
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Cottage was very clean and tidy & fully equipped with even a dishwasher - unexpected in such an 'old world' setting. We were comfortable & warm and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful surroundings, walks and play area. My mum, daughter, myself & granddaughter would have no hesitation in recommending Exmoor Holiday Cottages to all our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming rural setting
Liked least: Chill wind!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally F
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable,welcoming cottage with every amenity in an enchanting location”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just spent a glorious week on Exmoor, staying in Inglenook Cottage, blessed by amazing sunny weather. Our location was idyllic, close to the river Bray in grounds burgeoning with flowers and wildlife. The cottage is full of character, very cosy and comes equipped with everything you could possibly need. The owners are warm and friendly, and ready to offer local knowledge without being intrusive. We catered for ourselves some evenings but also dined out at the local Pub - which was excellent. Our little dog was welcome in the bar area there and made especially welcome at Inglenook Cottage. We hope very much to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for your great review. We are glad that you were comfortable in Inglenook Cottage (and your adorable little dog!). We look forward to welcoming you back (and hope to have spotted the Cuckoo by then!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosebudha...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“homely relaxed country cottage”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We enjoyed a 2 night stay with our family and dog in Inglenook cottage. This is a well cared for cottage which is in a group of cottages. The local pub was brilliant for dinner and worth a visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you were comfortable in Inglenook Cottage. The local pub is great, a short walk and excellent food.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hana C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, superb location!”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in the cottage for three nights with the children. The location is amazing, and the cottage itself is lovely, very comfortable and cozy. We went for long walks every day. We were very lucky with the weather, and December is quite empty in this area - we felt that we had the trails for ourselves!
We will return in spring, or maybe autumn.
John and Melanie were very helpful, left all the instructions, and Melanie recommended breathtaking walks.
Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2014
Thank you very much for your great review - the weather was great for you and we are glad that you enjoyed the walks!
We look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing