We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Palatial accommodation with excellent...”
other travellers have booked this property
Highcliffe House looking towards the Hottentots Holland mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highcliffe House looking towards the Hottentots Holland mountains
View across False Bay from Highcliffe House pool and patio Highcliffe House Luxury Suites pool and patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Highcliffe House looking towards the Hottentots Holland mountains
View across False Bay from Highcliffe House pool and patio
Highcliffe House Luxury Suites pool and patio
Patio and Pool
Riesling Kitchen and breakfast bar
Riesling Kitchen and breakfast bar
Riesling Main Bedroom
Riesling Main Bedroom
Sitting area in Riesling Main Bedroom
Riesling Twin Bedroom
Riesling Garden & Braai area
Secure off-the-road parking at entry level
Reception at upper car parking area - no steps!
Across False Bay to Table Mountain and the Cape Peninsula
Patio and Pool
The meeting place - Honesty Bar
Sunset over False Bay
Helderberg Mountains in the evening
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Gordon's Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
David B
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Palatial accommodation with excellent hospitality, great location.”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This accommodation and location ticked every single box for our 4 week stay in this area.
The accommodation itself was palatial....spacious, excellently equipped, terrific sunset views and a lovely pool area and the bonus of a small bar area.
The location was perfect for day trips to Cape Town, Hermanus, Franschoek, and the whole adjacent wine region. Gordon's Bay itself is a nice low key place with a good beach and good eating spots.
The unique aspect of staying here is however the hospitality of Jim and Jane. They were always extremely helpful, excellent company and steered us towards several events and places which we would not have considered otherwise. Their hospitality was the real bonus.
Yes staying there ticked every single box for us and we will definitely return to stay there....and for even longer next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All aspects were excellent
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning accommodation in an extremely convenient location”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Absolutely top class accommodation for a family of four. Magnificent views across False Bay towards Table Mountain to greet you every morning. All rooms very well appointed, lacking for nothing. A real treat was having the whole apartment cleaned on a daily basis, so I could even get away without doing the washing up. The location is extremely handy for accessing the wine regions, beaches, whale watching and also only a 40 minute drive into the centre of Cape Town. A car is essential really for getting places, as there is a lot to see and do.
Jim was an extremely amiable and entertaining host, with the honesty bar providing a very convenient location for a sociable drink at the end of the day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality and location of the property
Liked least: Very hard to fault
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2013
Thank you for your kind and considerate review, which is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Highcliffe House soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLHartSt
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities, superb hospitality, great touring base.”
Reviewed January 6, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

We shared the Riesling Suite with relatives we only meet every 10 years, so our life styles, tastes etc are quite different. The accommodation was ideal for this situation; we could be private sometimes and sociable at others - could be useful if you travel with teenage kids. The suite was definitely 5 star in terms of furnishings and hygiene (thanks to the excellent maids!), and 6 star in terms of the view - anyone want 500 photos of False Bay and Table Mountain? Our hosts were just what we wanted - unobtrusive, but always ready to respond to questions/requests, and their honour bar was a great temptation. I particularly appreciated the assistance with internet access, as I was working for part of each day. We used the apartment as a touring base, and found its location ideal. So, was it perfect? It is not within comfortable walking distance of shops or beaches (but I guess if it were we wouldn't have had the view). A suggestion for any party sharing with others with whom they don't share common interests - bring 2 cars. We spent several hours each day deciding on activities of interest to all. And then there's the wind!! We probably chose the windiest month, but it blew a gale for several days - but the honour Bar compensated. Definitely would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, ambience, facilities, hospitality
Liked least: This needs to be min 5 characters - not sure how to expand
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaD62
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
“An ideal home away from home.... set in a gorgeous location.”
Reviewed January 6, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

It was our second visit to Highcliffe House and was as wonderful as the first. Hosts Jane & Jim are caring and very interesting people. The personal touches in the Riesling suite are charming - everything decorated beautifully. It is also splotlessly clean and very comfortable. The surrounding areas are fantastic .... Gordon's Bay, the nearby winelands and Cape Town itself are world-class holiday attractions. A worthwhile choice ... probably the best I've stayed in, in this area!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the apartment.
Liked least: Having to leave!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanC583
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Excellent accomodation and hospitality”
Reviewed September 25, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Fantastic accomodation with magnificent views over False Bay and the mountains. The unit is extremely comfortable and well fitted out with all the furniture and applicances one would normally have in one's own home.
Whilst we did not have the opportunity to meet Jane as she was away at the time, Jim was a very hospitable and interesting host and we would have liked to have spent more time drinking wine and chatting to him.
Will definitely be spending more holidays at this lovely property in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puimoisson / Provence / South of France
Reviewed September 17, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Sep 2011
Thank you for your kind words.

We have just been advised that our FOUR STAR Grading by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa has been re-confirmed against the new higher criteria for Self-Catering establishments

Kindest regards

Jane & Jim Yeomans
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
henrique9...
London UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ble Mountain vies with the comfort and beauty of the appartment”
Reviewed September 14, 2011 for a stay in February 2010

We have stayed in the Riesling Suite three times ,over three consecutive years, and each time something more has been added to what, in our view, was already perfection. The decor is delightful, the thoughtfulness and attention to detail of everything that was provided was incredible , the comfort was sublime and the charm and helpfulness of the Yeomans helped to make each stay a special experience. We certainly hope to return many times.All praise to the Yeomans for keeping their standards, (not to mentions their spirits!) so high during these difficult times.
Furthermore, the situation is convenient for trips to the Stellenbosch Wine area, and an easy run into Cape Town itself.
The beaches at Gordons Bay and adjoining Strand are wonderful for long walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ABsolutely every thing
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing