We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
77
23
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
23
5
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 109 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2016

Perfect room for my week long house hunting and cycling stay. Clean with good Wifi and the evening meals were excellent and really good value for money. I don't speak Italian yet and the owners don't speak English too well but their son who was there does. Even when he wasn't there we managed to understand each other ok. All in all this comes Highly Recommended and I will be hopefully staying again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2016

We were traveling in the car from the beach near Syracuse toward the Avola Attica. We were hungry and tired. Suddenly on the side road I see welcoming note and sign "Santa Marta". We decided to stop and to out surprise that was the best and Delicious kitchen for very nice price. We were even offered to stay and chill out in the steaming pool, even we just come to have lunch.
The family, which hold this business is very worm: Antonio - the father and the owner Maria - the mother and the sheaf and the son - Fernando - very nice guy who is one speaks English.
The rabbit (the secret menu of the restaurant) was delicious. And 2 deserts, which were recommended to us were amazing.
Unfortunately we had the hotel already paid, otherwise I would as well stayed there for a night.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank SvetlanaA326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2016

Call ahead if possible so they can plan your meal. We phoned in advance for lunch and were offered an antipasto plate of roasted artichokes, grilled peppers, homemade cheeses and sausages. The main course was homemade ricotta filled ravioli with boar ragu.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TwixtTwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2016

We stopped here for lunch after visiting Cavagrande (5 min drive away - beautiful streams and lakes at the bottom of a wide canyon, amazing wild swimming spot). The food was fantastic. We had antipasti to start, followed by large ricotta ravioli with rabbit ragu and a grill platter to share. You could tell that everything was home made from quality ingredients. The couple who are running the Locanda are really friendly. Would love to come back!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2015

Best location we had in Sicily (out of six)!
- Very relaxed atmosphere; in the middle of the cava grande reserve (where you can hike and swim in crystal clear water). It's very quiet, and there are amazing sunsets. If you want some entertainment Syracuse and Noto are at a good distance (resp. 45 and 30 minutes by car).
- Owners very friendly; big Sicilian family, with "nonna" as head of the kitchen. They will do anything to make you feel at home, and nothing is too much to ask.
- Swimming pool nice and cool, and often we were the only ones using it (in June).
- Breakfast is, as always in Italy, sweet: it's served at the table (which is nice), one day we had a croissant filled with marmelade, the other day a chocolate-filled roll. There was also bread, toast, butter and jam, accompanied with a glass of juice, water and coffee/cappuccino.
- Room tidy and spacious, cleaned every day. Because of the shutters on the windows you can have the room pitchdark in the middle of the day, and it's well isolated. The airconditioning works well. The bathroom is very clean and pretty, with plenty hot water
- The best thing about the trip: the food! It's obvious the family values good food and I would suggest you just go with whatever nonna made that evening (there's also a menu). There's lots of antipasti (if you order them you get 8-10 different bites, which are all incredible and made with love). The primi piatti is usually handmade pasta with a sauce that looks deceivingly simple but when you taste it will blow your mind. If you are really, really hungry you can have the secundi, we had bistecca (the biggest pieces of meat we have ever seen) and the mixed grill, which were all really, really good. We did not have space for desert, but the owners cannot resist giving you some fruit or sweetness anyway. We ate there three nights in a row and were amazed by the variation in dishes. We don't know how they do it, but for 2 x antipasti, 2 x primi, 2 x secundi, 1 bottle of wine and 1 bottle of water we had to pay 60 euros, which is crazy for one of the best meals we had in Sicily.
- I'd recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews