We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovey hotel and soa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Formby
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Started our stay with a couples spa. Bento box lunch with a glass of fizz. Then a lovely treatment. Spa was wonderful.
When we checked in staff so lovely and our room was gorgeous. We even had ducks right outside our room.
Our evening meal was nice but some of the staff not that great. Waited over half an hour for a table and only because we kept asking did we get one in the end.
Will go again because the spa and hotel lovely but might go out for tea or get room service next time.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Djblain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 2,001 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Disgusting is not too strong a word to describe the afternoon tea we were served.
3 tiny bits of bread with cheap fillings in: a thumbnail of ham and what appeared to be tomato purée in a 1 inch diameter burger bun, tuna mayo - no cucumber- in a tiny 2inch square wrap and egg mayo - no cress- in one triangle of stale white bread.
Requested stale bread be replaced. It was, by more stale bread with a scraping of filling. Spoke with manager: stale bread is apparently normal and cannot be avoided!! Appalling quality of sandwiches is also normal - err, no it is not.
Manager dismissive and no intention of admitting kitchen/ business failings.
On to the cakes!! You would expect formby hall to bake its own wouldn't you? Or even if cutting corners, to buy some quality fresh supermarket cakes. Oh no. Formby hall must scour the cheapest shops in southport to find the long-life packaged, 1970's inspired dusty, sugary monstrosities.
A sandwich shaped thin Swiss roll masquerading as a Victoria sandwich cake, a tiny, gross chocolate cake square and an inedible 2 inch x 1 inch carrot cake both straight out of a dubious multipack. Top it all off with a 2 inch square, manufactured scone ( I use the term scone loosely) and suddenly you realise how much you have been conned. As one of my friends said ' I've thrown better food in the bin'.
It's my first visit - the spa treatment was ok but overall, with the afternoon tea, appalling value.
I was considering a weekend break but I will never visit again.
We left after our afternoon tea and went straight to lady greens garden centre for food - how bad is that!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Parbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

I regularly visit Formby Hall Hotel for coffee or lunch and am never disappointed. The food is good and it’s lovely to see the golf course from both the bar and restaurant. The staff are friendly and there’s always people around so always has a good atmosphere. The recent refurb pretty much transformed the hotel so if you’ve never been before or if it’s been a while since you’ve visited, it’s well worth going.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ila0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We recently held our annual Conference here. The whole experience was excellent.
The organisation of the room, the facilities and the food could not be faulted.
Delegates were able to relax with the Sauna or golf or in the bar.
Staff were attentive and friendly.Can wholeheartedly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We have stayed here many times but it seems to get worse every time! This time i went with my mum - we had wedding guests sat on our table outside who left all their empty glasses. Our room also had the toiletries left from previous guests. We then went down for afternoon tea where the bread was rock hard and stale! The treatments were very basic- the beauticians were lovely but you get a better massage at the hairdressers. We then went for tea - I asked for gluten and dairy free soup as they said i could eat this but they put cream on top! When ordering drinks the bar was filthy. I asked for soya milk to take to the room for coffee and they gave me it in a bowl! We were woken by very noisy guests during the night, the last time being 3.30 in the morning! Breakfast was supposed to finish at 10.30 but they were closing the shutters before 10.20 and not letting people get food so a lot of people were complaining! We handed our feedback form in but have heard nothing from them!!

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay with the family. Hotel has a golf area and spa pool.
Kids enjoyed the pool and adults enjoyed the golf. Staff was lovely and friendly
Restaurant grill was ok and dinners there.
They also have afternoon tea

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank MN8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

My friends and I returned to Formby Hall last week after a two year absence for our annual get together. The new manager replied to my last review from two years ago requesting we try the newly refurbished restaurant and so we decided to give it a go.
The one redeeming feature of the night was that the food was very good indeed but as for the service - oh dear! Trying to be kind the staff were all very young and need training and guidance from a more experienced restaurant manager.
From a service point of view it went from bad to worse. Two bottles of wine were ordered and never arrived despite three reminders. One bottle finally made an appearance as we finished the main course! There were no wine glasses on the table when we sat down so maybe we should have taken the hint. We asked for jugs of iced water but they arrived minus the ice. The beer glasses we brought to the table remained there all night even when empty. Empty food plates remained while a few of us had dessert and despite a late apology the damage had been done. A couple who sat opposite us also had similar poor service and we exchanged the lack of progress throughout the evening.It was a great shame as the food was very good indeed and we had no complaints on that score but a further return is highly unlikely. We also preferred the restaurant as it was, it lacked intimacy and the minimalist look just didn't work for us but of course that's very subjective, it may well appeal to others. So it's over and out for us for 2018.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank SteveM196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Formby
8 km away
The Vincent Hotel
The Vincent Hotel
#4 of 22 in Southport
1,235 reviews
8.5 km away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 22 in Southport
3,295 reviews
8 km away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#2 of 22 in Southport
649 reviews
7.7 km away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 22 in Southport
754 reviews
17.6 km away
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 100 in Liverpool
3,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Formby Hall Farm Southport Old Road, Formby L37 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Formby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Formby
Price Range: $205 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst 200 acres of parkland, at the heart of England’s Golf Coast, Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa offers the definitive 4* golf resort, luxury spa and hotel experience. We have 7 luxury treatment rooms, including 1 triple & 2 doubles, available for massages and treatments such as wraps and facials, manicures and pedicures by Leighton Denny all carried out by our highly trained therapists. The challenging 72-par Old Course boasts an excellent pedigree and is an established venue on the European Challenge Tour, while the 9-hole par three course has been described as the best in the UK. For corporate golf days, visitor golf open days, weekend golf breaks, golf society days, or even a golf lesson at the UK’s first PGA National Residential Golf Academy, Formby Hall is the ideal place to improve your game. So whether you’re a beginner or a seasoned pro, welcome to pure golf heaven. We have a choice of four purpose built air-conditioned rooms to suit any size meeting or conference. All meeting & conference rooms at Formby Hall can be tailor made to suit your exact requirements by our experienced events team. We can also offer support for any secretarial, travel or equipment services you may require.Stunning location, friendly atmosphere - Formby Hall is the ultimate party venue, whatever the occasion. With a choice of chic function suites we can accommodate virtually any size of event. The dance floor and bar provide plenty of room for guests to mingle, while those wanting a quiet moment can step out onto the balcony and enjoy the panoramic views over the golf course and parkland. But it's about much more than just the setting, it's about the service too. Our dedicated event managers will help you plan your special day down to the last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formby Hall Golf Resort And Spa
Formby Hall Golf Hotel Formby
Formby Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing