We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
17
33
25
17
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
33
25
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe upstairs dining roombar restaurantnice mealan extensive menuprawnsga
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 109 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2018

I understand the hotel has new owners, therefore I cannot be too critical, but, we went for dinner at the end of the year and sat in the dining room which was cold and looked to be half decorated. The tables were set with small champagne glasses for wine and wine glasses for water. The waitress, who was very nice and friendly, did not give us time to choose drinks or food order, we kept having to ask her to give us time to peruse the menu. We ordered a bottle of white wine which was just put on the table with a freezer cover on it and left, we were never shown the bottle nor was it opened in front of us, I had to remove cover to confirm it was the correct wine.
We all ordered soup, it was delicious but served with margerine along side the bread. Two of us ordered fish, only to be told there wasn't any. Our main courses were okay and the accompanying salad was lovely.
Having teething problems when beginning a new business is not unusual, once the place is finished it's redecoration and the staff have had training, it could be a lovely restaurant. I will return later in the year, hopefully to see improvements.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cathy-Buchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Gordon Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Thanks for your review.
You were correct about the half-decorated dining room, this should have been made clear to you on arrival, we did have some cards positioned around the dining room and hotel explaining the on-going work, only today (17th), the new carpet was laid and now the woodwork will be finished within the next week. As far as the dining room being cold, we are still attempting to find a good balance of heat on the inside vs the cold on the outside, we have had some evenings where the condensation on the inside was a problem due to the temperature difference on the single glazing, I have asked staff to check with each table that they are comfortable and if they require more heat in the room.
It's clear we will need to address our wine service and our table setting, duly noted, we are going to work on this.
For the lack of fish, we did experience a few shortages on some key ingredients on multiple occassions, I believe we were taken a little by surprise that the restaurant was so busy.
I look forward to your next visit and expect that you will some good improvement.

Thanks
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

Amazing food, served swiftly and was delicious. Fantastic staff, friendly and helped when ever we needed it. Food was cooked properly and presented beautifully. The portions were well sized and was fairly priced. It was of high quality and would go back again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank peggy1234peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david48, Owner at Gordon Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments. Will let staff know as it is good to be appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

Visited The Gordon Arms looking for a good, simple pub meal. This is exactly what we got; good, wholesome pub grub. What made our visit, though, was the brilliant service. Nothing was too much of a bother, and there was really good banter. That made the difference for us...5* fun.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angebugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david48, Owner at Gordon Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Thank you for your comments. Will pass this on to staff as it is good to know that their efforts are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2017

While on holiday in Huntly decided to have a meal at the Gordon Arms Hotel; we both opted for the Scampi, one chose the small serving while the other the full serving, however, there was only a difference of 3 pieces of scampi! The waitress said the vegetables were broccoli and cauliflower but when it came it was carrots and peas! Service was quick and friendly, usually in a hotel the waitress will check that everything is all-right however this did not happen but thankfully we were happy with our meal. We did appreciate the fact that certain items on the menu gave the choice of a smaller portion.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 298sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights and wasnt impressed at all. Small room ,toilet didnt flush,toilet seat did,nt stay up,room out dated and i have a bigger phone than the tv!!!. Staff were nice and the food ok.just needs some tlc and a lick of paint,and a maintanace man.

Stayed: July 2017
4  Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews