We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home land”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lochside Lodge

Lochside Lodge - autumn colours
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lochside Lodge - autumn colours
Lochside deck looking up Loch Long Back door of Lochside Lodge with parking and view of teh loch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Lochside Lodge - autumn colours
Lochside deck looking up Loch Long
Back door of Lochside Lodge with parking and view of teh loch
A bedroom on Lochside - very comfortable beds - views of the loch from all bedrooms
Walk-In shower room
Lochside bedrooms have super-kngsize or twin beds
Lochside Lodge with hills behind. Larchwood to the left 60 metres away
View of Loch Long, Loch Alsh, and the mountains of Skye behind, taken from the hill behind us
A calm Loch Long from Dornie
Dornie village from the bridge over Loch Long
View of Kyleakin, Loch Alsh, Skye bridge and the Skye Cuillin
Evening sun over Loch Alsh and Eilean Donan
Eilean Donan Castle - 15 minutes walk through Dornie village
Dining table in Lochside
Bathroom with shower over bath
Lounge area - shiny new sofas !
Hearth, with woodburning stove
Lochside kitchen
Lochside Lodge and Loch Long from our back field
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dornie, Lochalsh, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MacofMurt...
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home land”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

As Grand parents joining family, this was a great place for the week we stayed. We hardly noticed the weather! The lodge made a superb base in MacRaes own Country. Would be very happy to return again.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Thanks for the review - glad you enjoyed it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phyllis W
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning views although property a little "tired"”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just the 2 of us and 2 dogs in the Lochside Lodge, so plenty of room for a relaxing weekend. Floor to ceiling windows in lounge make the most of the view, with a decent bit of lawn set back from the road and fenced in for dogs (or children!). Quiet, plenty of space between the lodge and its neighbours, and the weather was good. Well equipped, no extra charge for electricity and stay was comfortable (although not luxurious),and if I wanted to be a bit picky I would say that the lodge is just a bit "tired" looking and could do with a refurbishment. A bigger TV would be helpful if 8 people were staying and the weather was bad, although DVDs, books and board games were available. Owners friendly and helpful when booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery, view from the property
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2016
Thanks for this review Phylis, quite fair, and we are part way through a redecoration schedule for all 3 houses. Glad you had a good time. Geoff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsyturv...
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning lodge in idyllic setting”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just back from another great trip to our favourite part of Scotland. Conveniently located for both Kintail Skye and Wester Ross. Lodge is well equipped and even in bad weather the underfloor heating and log burner can help you relax and watch the weather passing out the large picture windows

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thanks for this review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, warm, and well equipped lodge in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This property provided an excellent base for a family holiday for our Christmas celebration. Spacious, well equipped, and a delightful setting. The log fire and snowfall on Christmas eve were icing on the cake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, log fire, setting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JILL J
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a fantastic week we spent at Lochside Lodge! We stayed in October and the weather was amazing! We sat out every night with a glass of wine and the views are beautiful! My little dogs loved the huge enclosed garden and the cozy log fire at night although the weather was so mild we didn't need any heating on very lucky for Scotland! We spotted a couple of otters in the loch so keep a look out. The lodge is very well equip for every need, big comfy sofas and very light and spacious. There are some fantastic walks in the area and the castle is within walking distance, pretty when lit up at night. You can walk into the village about 10 or 15 minutes we only ate at the hotel as they allowed dogs food OK but a bit pricey for pub grub. We were allowed in the bar with the dogs between 4 and 5.30 before the food was served so didn't try the food there. This lodge was perfect for us and ticked all the boxes and would go back again, comfortable, peaceful and perfect. Loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMRB2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Absolutely brilliant spot. It is so beautiful right on the loch. We travelled as a group of friends and found Lochside lodge a perfect base for exploring the area. It is a very comfortable house and has everything you need. We were lucky enough to have excellent weather for our stay so we enjoyed having a BBQ and some cold beers on the deck looking out over the loch. It is an easy walk into Dornie village for a good dinner and some chat with the locals at the Clachan. I would definitely recommend this place. Nearby Eilean Donan castle, the Isle of Skye, and a boat trip with Callum's tours from the village of Plockton were highlights of our trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ros T
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodge to retreat to after a day on the mountains”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is the second time that our group has stayed in the Kintail Lodges and we love staying there. Large picture windows overlooking Loch Long, loads of space and lovely warm underfloor heating. This is definitely the best place that we have stayed in on our annual trips to Scotland in May.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Big picture windows
Liked least: The kitchen is surprisingly small for 8 people, but as we all took turns to cook, it did not matter
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$171
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing