We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dornie Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dornie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dornie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dornie
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

First time up here and would certainly return Very friendly very knowledgeable and helpful staff.room very comfortable meals excellent and of good quality.the only thing I would say which is not negative but we found that most places in this area use whole milk i think especially in the room we should have a choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    51
    27
    21
    9
See reviews for
31
64
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stayed here as a layover driving from Glasgow to Skye and it was awesome! Wonderful location and the food was incredible! The mussels for dinner were the best I've ever had and the breakfast was also incredibly tasty. I have a large dog who was able to stay with me which was a huge added bonus. Lots of locals due to a shinty match but all very friendly and welcoming. The staff work immensely hard and yet are always smiling and friendly! Will without a doubt, visit again (maybe as a layover on my way back down)!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funkeemonkee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We were staying SC in the village and went to the Bar on two nights for dinner last week. Overall the food was good, typical pub grub but with generous portions and well cooked. The menu lacked a scottish element but we were there out of season. The service was very quick and attentive but the atmosphere felt very much like we were the strangers in town. The lack of any cask ales was also a dissappointment.

That said the food we did have was very good and reasonably priced and I would certainly go again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed here for one night in December on our journey to the Western Isles. The hotel is small but charming. Our room was lovely, the meals were excellent and the dining room was very tastefully decorated ready for Christmas. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PixieBrecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 days over New year, a gem of a place set in a wonderfull location. The welcome from the hosts was very friendly, and relaxing in the bar late afternoon/evening after a day visiting Skye was cosy and welcoming as were the locals .Our room was warm, clean, comfortable and equiped with every thing we needed. Cannot praise the food enough, good menu selection and the traditional offer of porridge at breakfast was excellent as was the service. The beauty of the castle is breathtaking and near by is a lovely gift shop. I will look forward to going back to this lovely place again. If you are looking for a peaceful, friendly break in a fantastic location I would not hesitate by reccomending the Dornie Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie54hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

we had an unexpected stay at this hotel and what a surprise it was. The rooms a very clean and the rooms to the front have a fantastic view. The reception from the staff could not be better. the restuarant is cosy and inviting. the food is of a high standard and quite a varied range.The breakfast was was fantastic. So glad we stopped there.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry65yo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

A very simple room, with cheap, Ikea-style furniture. Rather on the small side. Bathroom looking a bit obsolete. Reception inexistant. Price fairly high for what it offers.

On the other hand, the location is spectacular: just opposite Eilean Donan Castle (where Highlander was shot). The castle is lit at night and... what a sight ! Plenty of parking space just opposite the entrance of the hotel.

And dinner: absolutely spectacular ! Possibly the best dinner we had in Scotland. To start with an amazing mackrel paté with port. Followed by a sea bass fillet with Mediterranean vegs. And the dessert !!! The evening ended with a pool game and a good malt. Excellent atmosphere and very kind and professional staff.

I would go back just for the food !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deomon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornie
6.7 km away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
12.0 km away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
22.7 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
12.4 km away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
23.9 km away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornie Hotel

Property: Dornie Hotel
Address: | Dornie, Dornie IV40 8DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Dornie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dornie
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Dornie Hotel UK - Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing