We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
5
13
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
13
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel few minutes ticket office shuttle bus japanese ski japanese standards ale action 30pm drop resort onsen slopes
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

If you want a quiet place away from the parent hotel (Madarao Kogen Hotel), you may enjoy it but the hotel has no restaurants. You will need to take the shuttle bus to the main hotel for breakfast or drive yourself. Just a basic stay. In the summer, if the weather permits like my recent stay, walking outside for exercise and fresh air may be a good forced action to stay at this lodge.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank EddyM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

Awsome. Only downside was shuttle stops at 9.30pm which means you cant relax for fear of missing it. Great friendly bar called Drop Off is worth a visit. We stopped here for breakfast most mornings before our English ski lessons at Action Snow Sports.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RosannePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2017

This hotel is good value with big comfortable (western) rooms with lots of storage. Staff were helpful and friendly. Not ski in/ski out, but a complimentary shuttle runs you up to the Madarao Kogan Resort, where you can also use your meal vouchers in their restaurant, and onsen in one of the best onsens in the area (outdoor section highly recommended). The only disadvantage of staying at the Mon Ale is that the shuttle finishes service at 9:30pm, which definitely limits social activity.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2017 via mobile

Just left Mon Ale hotel and we had a great time. As per previous reviews, the hotel western rooms are spacious, with lots of storage, ours had an ensuite. Great accommodation! Breakfast was ok. The onsen is great too although the one at the kogen hotel has an outside bath - awesome when it snows! The staff are great and friendly and it is really good. Only downside is the shuttle stopping at 9.30pm, limiting access to the main village and other restaurants and bars. If only the shuttle worked until 11 pm!!!! We tried to book the kogen instead but apparently is booked out for school kids. Having the kids at Mon Ale and more mature customers at the kogen makes more sense to me but...
Lastly, in the village, just down from the kogen, there is a new bar called the Drop off. Awesome bar, there you can meet the staff from the English speaking ski school from Action Snow Sport. Very friendly barman and ski instructors. Soon to offer breakfast and dinner as well. A good complement to Jazzy's and Rudolf and in the same area.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laurent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2016

This was our first trip to Madarao (last Jan 2016) and the Mon Ale was a fantastic find. Huge rooms by any standard and very reasonably priced for a Japanese ski resort. Separate sleeping and lounge section in our western room, beds very comfortable and nice snowy vista views. Also loads of cupboard space which is extremely rare for Japanese accommodation in our experience. Not ski in/ski out (close too it) but very easy slope access if you use the complimentary shuttle to and from the Madarao Kogen Resort. Good breakfast with plenty of choice and great onsen. The Staff were lovely and very helpful. Limited dining options in Madarao but Jazzy's (absolutely brilliant) and the Italian restaurant (sorry can't remember the name but had good Izakaya style selection as well as pizza and pasta) were enough to keep us satisfied. The skiing was great with enough for all levels with easy access between Madarao and Tangram. Would definitely go again and the Mon Ale would definitely be our choice of accommodation. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is due to it being slightly dated (as I find most purpose built Japanese ski resorts are) but still highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NikNakRoyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews