We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
24
14
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
14
6
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 47 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2015

This is an enormous ryokan (old farm houses turned into a new complex), with two onsens, multiple gardens and even two shops and a little museum room. There was space to explore, to walk around. It never felt crowded and we rarely saw other people. Regarding the room, it is a rare feeling in a ryokan that you cannot hear the people next door at all.

Great service, particularly for luggage (not only on arrival but also upon departure). Got little souvenirs at check-out, and our shoes were neatly arranged with a note wishing for good luck. The place is aesthetically pleasing in multiple ways, kaiseki dinner amazingly beautiful, too (thought not that amazingly delicious compared to some others).

There is a somewhat musty smell in the room, probably not throughout the hotel. Onsen areas were really nice with open-air baths. We have traveled in dozens of ryokans and this is one of the most beautiful.

Room tip: If you are allergic to mold, ask for a clean room.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank xxxhannaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a return visit and we loved/love the place. It is a complex of Shogun era buildings assembled around an onsen. The bath facilities are out of this world. The large private bath is indoor/outdoor, the smaller pvt bath has a gorgeous view of a forest. Even the public baths are great. The landscape is fantastic, plus there are ducks, koi, frogs. All just really amazing. Staying here has been a highlight of two trips to Japan

Food is also really special. A gorgeous presentation of great tastes, local ingredients made with care

The drawbacks: last time we were put in the care of a woman who spoke some English, this time no one seems to speak any. Pointing at modem, and opening up the wifi "enter password window on my iPad", I was handed a phone. (Eventually, they got it) A "No sushi/sashimi" request brought a dinner which included sashimi (it was exquisite, but my sister won't eat it).

This is definitely a black diamond travel adventure, even the tourist office couldn't help us get here! But we love being here

So to get here,
Take the Maxtoki shinkasen from Tokyo station to Echigo Yuzawa (Bound for Niigata--about 90 minutes)
Then transfer to a train on the Hokuhoku Line to Muikamachi (bound for Naoetsu or Tokamachi-- about 15 minutes)

Taxis are plentiful and with the hotel phone number, a taxi with a GPS can easily get you to the hotel--about 10 minutes away. The hotel can arrange all other drop offs and pick ups

I hope I haven't made this sound daunting, it is pure indulgence and worth every effort. I would recommend a minimum of two nights

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank santjordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2018
Google Translation

Room tip: 池や庭園の見える部屋があります。
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews