We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total awesomeness”
other travellers have booked this property
Awarded Certificate of Excellence, we pride ourselves in offering a unique & special experience
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Awarded Certificate of Excellence, we pride ourselves in offering a unique & special experience
Pura Vida Ecolodge - A Retreat, A Lifestyle, An Experience
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Awarded Certificate of Excellence, we pride ourselves in offering a unique & special experience
Pura Vida Ecolodge - A Retreat, A Lifestyle, An Experience
It took a long time for this dream to become a reality, but we're so very glad it did!
Plenty of comfy sun loungers, chairs and cushions to relax on and make yourself at home!
*New outdoor shower area by plunge pool, overlooking jungle canopy & bamboo gardens
The view of the villa as you arrive from the road with Pura Vida Ecolodge Reserve in the background
Front deck and balcony to the jungle villa - offering impressive panoramic and ocean views
The open-plan stylish living space on the first floor with wrap around teak decks.
Open-plan kitchen (with NEW teak benches, pictured in next photo) comfy living area with sea views
Fully equipped open-plan kitchen and dining area with new handmade teak benches for up to 6 people
We've recently added a yoga exercise deck hanging over the reserve at the end of the stepping stones
Spacious deck perfect for sunbathing, yoga or admiring the nature reserve, animals and sea views
Our infinity plunge pool,  plenty big enough for escaping the tropical heat! Sea and jungle views!
Our Location with 2 routes upto lodge from the Costanera (Coronado and Puntalmala, near Ojochal.)
The front of the jungle villa with its impressive bamboo palapa roof.
Wrap-around teak decking offering impressive sea, mountain and jungle canopy views
*NEW outdoor shower by the plunge pool, perfect for cooling off after the beach!
Welcome to Pura Vida Ecolodge - your retreat, your lifestyle, your experience!
The new stepping-stones path from the lodge down to the yoga deck and body-weights gym
NEW yoga exercise deck complete with rustic dining/chill-out area. Offers valley and ocean views
NEW yoga deck hanging over the edge of the plantel offering stunning valley, ocean sunset views
NEW Rustic seating and cocktail area in front of the lodge overlooking the valley  and Pacific ocean
Walking back up to the jungle villa from one of the reserves nature trails
Contemporary  spacious master bedroom offers ocean views, sun-deck delightful en-suite bathroom
Wake up to panormacic ocean/valley views out of the bedroom window in the Ocean view Suite upstairs
En-suite bathroom with walk-in powerful rain shower (solar powered heated water 24/7)
Handcrafted teak and bamboo sliding doors so you can have the villa as open or as closed as you wish
Jungle-view Suite has its own private deck overlooking the jungle canopy with all its nature
Downstairs Jungle Suite, offering guests great jungle views, ensuite bathroom and private deck area
Spacious en-suite bathroom with walk-in rain shower overlooking jungle (with heated water 24/7),
Wake up with the howler monkeys as the villa hangs dramatically over the jungle canopy
As you come up the stairs to the 1st floor you enter wrap-around teak decks with panoramic sea view
The toucans especially love these tress that you can literally reach out and grab from the deck
Fun trek along 1 of the nature trails brings you to freshwater plunge pool and waterfall for swim
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Mrsloco
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Total awesomeness”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just awesome !!!! The stunning view out of the master bedroom is gorgeous !!! This is where we spent our 3rd week in Costa Rica !!! The boat adventure by Gersan is a must do !!! The only thing you will need is 4 wheel drive and you will need to use it !!! Don't be like my husband and try it without !!! The roads are a bit of a challenge ! All in all a great place to stay !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The roads
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Jungle Retreat!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I chose Pura Vida Ecolodge to celebrate our 35th anniversary. We wanted to find peace, beauty, relaxation and privacy. Pura Vida Ecolodge gave all of that and more!! The house is beautifully situated with stunning views from the living, dining, kitchen and master bedroom. The abundance of wildlife and beauty was breathtaking. We even had several Toucans that visited every morning and early evening. We took Gersan's Mangrove tour and had a wonderful time. We recommend his tour highly!! He took great care of us on the tour and also in getting us settled in for our stay. This vacation/celebration was better than we expected and we highly recommend the Pura Vida Ecolodge for your stay in Costa Rica!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The house was very comfortable and views were exceptional
Liked least: The mattress was not very comfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Immersion in the jungle atmosphere
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lilly S
Durham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect in every way!”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Three of my best friends and I went to Costa Rica to relax and recharge. The only plan we had was zip lining at Osa Canopy Tours (we highly suggest visiting them by the way- amazing time and really fun guides!) The rest of our trip was spent exploring, relaxing, and enjoying the beauty that the Pura Vida Ecolodge and surrounding areas had to offer. Gersan was great- he left us fresh fruit from his property and we made smoothies everyday. Joe responded quickly when we had questions also! They were not lying when they said we would need a 4x4... those Costa Rican mountain roads are no joke! We took the "harder" route everyday and it is very doable- just takes some courage! The drive from the San Jose was super easy and great road conditions. The locals are so kind as well- we befriended some young school teachers down at the local market and had a nice little "going away" party on our last night. If you are looking for privacy, this place is perfect. If you want to interact with the locals, this place is also perfect. You seriously can't go wrong staying here. Our only little recommendation to future guests- don't forget to stash up some colones for your drive to and from San Jose, there are a handful of tolls that we weren't quite prepared for. All in all, it was an amazing trip, and we are all seriously missing waking up to the sounds of the jungle already. Thank you Joe, Kika, and Gersan for a wonderful get away!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Stunning, relaxing place to call home.”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a stunning place to call home for a few days. Between reading in the pool or on the deck, making dinner in the kitchen with local ingredients from the store at the end of the road, and watching the sunset and the stars, we truly recharged.

Gersan was a fantastic host on the ground, helpful and patient. It was convenient to be able to Whatsapp with him about arrivals, departures and plans, and we enjoyed lots of gesturing with our poor Spanish :) His mangrove/deserted beach boat tour was a blast--just watch out for the strong currents!

Joe and Kika were helpful, responsive, and took care of issues before they came up. It was a joy to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa J
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise in Costa Rica - Pura Vida”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Pura Vida Ecolodge is one of the most amazing places we have seen in Costa Rica. It's been the highlight of our trip!
The lodge is located on a little hill with the most incredible view on the ocean and the jungle. This place is super peacefull, you can enjoy the sunset while listening to the sound of nature. The sound of all the animals of the jungle in the evening is impressive and so relaxing.

The house is built amazingly. All the furniture is modern and natural at the same time. Everything fits together so nicely and with style. We really felt safe and at home in the lodge.
If you have the room downstairs you can shower in the morning with a view on the little jungle garden, such a great feeling!
The pool on the deck is also a nice touch and real refreshing after a long day in the sun and the heat...
And the area installed in front of the house on the edge of the clif is perfect to have an aperetivo at the end of the day or just enjoy the view in the morning.
The road to the house was a real adventure, and so much fun with a 4x4! We took it every day to go to the beach close by. Only 15 minutes driving to see amazing beaches...

Also we went on the Pura Vida Adventure boat tour with Gersan, the local guide and house keeper. Gersan is super nice and friendly! His wife cooks declicious food for the tour. Great experience that we highly recomand to do while staying at Pura Vida Ecolodge. Gersan will bring you on his boat though the Mangroves to this beautifull isolated beach! Just perfect and really worth it!

We hope we will be back very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin Z
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serenity in the Mountains”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week at the Pura Vida Ecolodge. The setting is breathtaking, and each morning we woke to the sounds of birds singing and a view of the ocean. The house is beautiful and comfortable. The kitchen is well supplied, and we had everything we needed to cook family meals. My husband hiked the immediate area and was amazed at the beauty. Like many other reviews we read, the 5km drive up the mountain seems daunting at first, but it really wasn't a problem for us once we knew where we were going. It's a 13 minute drive, and we definitely needed 4WD. The area beaches and restaurants were easy to get to and we found a new and beautiful beach just about every day. Joe was very helpful throughout our stay and answered every question we had. Gersan was very friendly and helpful too. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting was wonderful
Liked least: The bumpy road leading to the house
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing