We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, Secluded Get Away”
other travellers have booked this property
Awarded Certificate of Excellence, we pride ourselves in offering a unique & special experience
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Awarded Certificate of Excellence, we pride ourselves in offering a unique & special experience
Pura Vida Ecolodge - A Retreat, A Lifestyle, An Experience
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Awarded Certificate of Excellence, we pride ourselves in offering a unique & special experience
Pura Vida Ecolodge - A Retreat, A Lifestyle, An Experience
It took a long time for this dream to become a reality, but we're so very glad it did!
Plenty of comfy sun loungers, chairs and cushions to relax on and make yourself at home!
*New outdoor shower area by plunge pool, overlooking jungle canopy & bamboo gardens
The view of the villa as you arrive from the road with Pura Vida Ecolodge Reserve in the background
Front deck and balcony to the jungle villa - offering impressive panoramic and ocean views
The open-plan stylish living space on the first floor with wrap around teak decks.
Open-plan kitchen (with NEW teak benches, pictured in next photo) comfy living area with sea views
Fully equipped open-plan kitchen and dining area with new handmade teak benches for up to 6 people
We've recently added a yoga exercise deck hanging over the reserve at the end of the stepping stones
Spacious deck perfect for sunbathing, yoga or admiring the nature reserve, animals and sea views
Our infinity plunge pool,  plenty big enough for escaping the tropical heat! Sea and jungle views!
Our Location with 2 routes upto lodge from the Costanera (Coronado and Puntalmala, near Ojochal.)
The front of the jungle villa with its impressive bamboo palapa roof.
Wrap-around teak decking offering impressive sea, mountain and jungle canopy views
*NEW outdoor shower by the plunge pool, perfect for cooling off after the beach!
Welcome to Pura Vida Ecolodge - your retreat, your lifestyle, your experience!
The new stepping-stones path from the lodge down to the yoga deck and body-weights gym
NEW yoga exercise deck complete with rustic dining/chill-out area. Offers valley and ocean views
NEW yoga deck hanging over the edge of the plantel offering stunning valley, ocean sunset views
NEW Rustic seating and cocktail area in front of the lodge overlooking the valley  and Pacific ocean
Walking back up to the jungle villa from one of the reserves nature trails
Contemporary  spacious master bedroom offers ocean views, sun-deck delightful en-suite bathroom
Wake up to panormacic ocean/valley views out of the bedroom window in the Ocean view Suite upstairs
En-suite bathroom with walk-in powerful rain shower (solar powered heated water 24/7)
Handcrafted teak and bamboo sliding doors so you can have the villa as open or as closed as you wish
Jungle-view Suite has its own private deck overlooking the jungle canopy with all its nature
Downstairs Jungle Suite, offering guests great jungle views, ensuite bathroom and private deck area
Spacious en-suite bathroom with walk-in rain shower overlooking jungle (with heated water 24/7),
Wake up with the howler monkeys as the villa hangs dramatically over the jungle canopy
As you come up the stairs to the 1st floor you enter wrap-around teak decks with panoramic sea view
The toucans especially love these tress that you can literally reach out and grab from the deck
Fun trek along 1 of the nature trails brings you to freshwater plunge pool and waterfall for swim
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ojochal, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
KelseyD38...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, Secluded Get Away”
Reviewed December 5, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Our experience at the Pura Vida Ecolodge was everything we hoped! The lodge is very much up in the mountains, secluded and peaceful. Gersan and Illi both greeted and helped guide us upon our arrival. Definitely make sure you try one of Illi's dishes- absolutely wonderful! The lodge itself was very clean, beautiful view, and we had many encounters (outdoors) with the wildlife during our stay. The property was great for exploring. Make sure you read all of the information that Joe and Kika provide in the welcoming packages. Many useful tips! Would stay here 100x over again. :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandE46...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Villa overlooking the jungle ”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Pura Vida Ecolodge is a wonderful place to be, we really enjoyed our stay. Don't worry about getting there, it is easy to find and the drive up is fun! We would also recommend going on the tour with Gersan, his 'secret' beach is stunning and totally safe even for small kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellysd
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous family getaway.”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Sadly only had two nights here as the property was completely booked up.
We had our two teenagers with us, 18 and 16. The wifi worked to send messages but that was about it. What a fantastic situation to be in because we had the best time we played scrabble and card games in the evening, scrambled up and down waterfalls during the day and just sat and watched the wildlife come and go.
The house was amazing, the beds really comfortable and the upstairs bedroom has an amazing view. It was fantastic to lie in bed to watch the fork lightening at night.
As I said to the owner, it was a privilege to be able to spend time in this amazing home.
Oh and the drive up was fine. We had rented a small 4x4 which did the trick.
I

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHFEF
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Challenging acces roads”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The owner puts a lot of effort to satisfy the needs of the guest and make sure that your stay will meet your expectations. Shortly before arriving to the lodge he will send you information packages about the house but also about things to see and do in the area. Tips fo restaurants included. Very helpful and much appreciated.
The only thing that you should be aware of is that the access road to the lodge is steep and a 4x4 drive is required. In case of heavy rain the normal road to the lodge can become impassible due to a submerged bridge and an alternative longer and steeper road must be taken instead. Not suitable for the fainted hearted driver.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meanie4U
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

If you are looking to disconnect from the world, be one with nature, have a mouth dropping scenic view and really connect with the locals then this is the place to be. The stars were clear at night, we woke up with an amazing view in the master bedroom and jungle view in the guest bedroom (were some type of monkey was spotted eating papayas off the papaya tree). We enjoyed sipping coffee (using the simple coffee drip and hot water) on the balcony while early morning bird watching. The hikes to the little and big waterfall were an adventure (bring hiking shoes and we left our hiking sticks in the garage for future travelers). The big waterfall was our favorite but dangerous if you end up climbing the rocks to the top like we did lol! Gersan and Iliana were very welcoming, his boat tour was breathtaking and her welcome dinner was super yummy. She also cooked breakfast for us in their lovely tranquil home that was included in Gersan's boat tour. We recommend eating at local restaurants, playa ventanas was our favorite to watch the waves splash out of caves, OSA canopy tours, Gersan's mangrooves and private beach tour, and at the Uvita information center we booked a private fishing, snorkeling, and whale watching tour where we saw giant whales ( Mama and her baby), sea turtles, and dolphins that played with our boat. We also caught some fish that the Captain de-boned and cut into filets for us. The Captain recommended we fry the certain type of fish we caught. So we went to the BM bought some panko and did just that. I made a lime, red onion, cilantro, oil, salt and pepper vinaigrette that I learned from my abuelita for dipping. We stayed her for 8 days, July 18-25 ( so the vindictive review right below this one is very much so inaccurate). We did and saw a lot, so much I can keep typing away you will just have to check it out for yourself. So if you are looking for adventure, are not scared of little cute frogs or lizards, are amazed to see giant toads and bats at night and yes the occasional spider (never in our beds, but sometimes in the bathroom floor or kitchen. Just wear your flip flops.) YOU just have to know what you want in your vacation, you book this place because you want to be off the grid, you enjoy bumpy roads in a 4x4 , adventure, and road trips. Nothing was never to far away, the most we ever drove after coming down the mountain was 30 mins to Domincal once, after that we stayed near by or in Uvita. I recommend to read the welcome packet so you know what you are getting into. Be accepting and respectful of someone else's country and culture. The people here live a simple lifestyle, they are happy with less and don't want more. Its really romantic and beautiful to see all the love here, keep your eyes and mind open. My husband and I really loved it here, we will be back! Maybe buy our own piece of Pura Vida lol!

PS: Don't let the weather stop you from doing what you want to do, you can do anything here come rain or shine ;)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleM...
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
“Beauty and serenity”
Reviewed May 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed for a week and I can't possibly say enough about our wonderful experience. Communications from the owners were timely, accurate, and thorough. The house is amazing -- it's remote and simple yet also luxurious. The view is breathtaking. And the local caretaking couple is adorable, charming and helpful. If you want to do touristy things this probably isn't the right place for you. But if you want to wake up to a racket of amazing bugs and birds, visit remote and pristine beaches and truly revel in the magic of nature you will love this place. We like to travel and rarely visit the same place twice. This one will be an exception. We'll return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincentin...
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Secret Nest for a Honeymoon”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We've stayed 3 nights at Pura Vida Ecolodge for our honeymoon and these days will remain the more memorable of our trip in Costa Rica!
We have spent the entire 3 days in the lodge enjoying the beautiful place and observing the surrounding jungle ! We particularly enjoyed the magical sunset while eating a delicious typical Tico dinner prepared by Iliana !
The place is totally different than any hotel you can find, that's why I prefere to talk about an Ecolodge experience and I would definitely recommend it !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing