We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for coffee lovers”

Marc's Cafe - Roast & Taste
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Auroville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$5
Description: Welcome to Marc's café , Roast & Taste, wonderland for coffee lovers. Run by a team of passionate, dedicated and cheerful people, we have built a reputation for taking coffee "seriously". We carefully source our beans only at at selected estates in South India, and roast them in small batches, right here, at the café to ensure freshness and unique coffee experience. Buying beans? We will grind them freshly to exactly suit your brewing method. Enjoy the experience!
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Marc's café , Roast & Taste, wonderland for coffee lovers. Run by a team of passionate, dedicated and cheerful people, we have built a reputation for taking coffee "seriously". We carefully source our beans only at at selected estates in South India, and roast them in small batches, right here, at the café to ensure freshness and unique coffee experience. Buying beans? We will grind them freshly to exactly suit your brewing method. Enjoy the experience!
Reviewed April 5, 2018

We love Marc’s café mostly for its coffee and baked treats. Here you can choose what coffee blend and in what manner you want to take. The croissants are huge and fluffy. They also offer breakfast combos, which are tasty, healthy and big in quantity. And… for us, people nostalgic for the years lived in Barcelona, it’s an unexpected approximation to the city we love (through some of the items that are served e.g. “cortado”, its breakfast combo “Barcelona” and also we believe the owner, Marc, is Catalan).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ksenia_PvZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilde M, Public Relations Manager at Marc's Cafe - Roast & Taste, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Hola Ksenia,
We are extremely happy to managed to make you feel in Barcelona.
We are both Catalans , Marc and myself and we try to give our "customers" a feel of the well crafted and healthy coffee products and all that goes together.
Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 55 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2018

Marc is awesome. This cafe has been a beautiful little haunt (technically) just outside Auroville. The coffee, chocolate croissant, and sandwiches are delicious - AND OF COURSE, they have a generator. So on those off days when Auroville runs out of electricity in the middle of the dreadful Summer heat, this is the place to head over to!

Thank TracingTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilde M, Public Relations Manager at Marc's Cafe - Roast & Taste, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

We appreciate very much your comments!
Come back to visit us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018

A couple of weeks ago I ordered a sandwich, which is supposed to come with a side salad. On the menu, it is clear that the 200 rupee price for the sandwich includes a salad. When I recieved the sandwich, there was so salad. When I asked the server, she said it was a busy time for them so they didn't get a chance to make it. I responded that the menu clearly says that the side salad comes with the sandwich. She then gave some attitude and acted like she was doing me a favour by going back and getting the salad. If they didn't have time to make the salad that's fine...but clearly tell me that before ordering and also don't charge the full price then. It's too bad the service is lacking because the sandwich and cofee was great.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilde M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Marc's Cafe - Roast & Taste, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Dear Susan,

After some days trying to understand what had happened at the cafe on that day, i found out that it was during morning hours and that usually people don't want salad then.
I understand also that you should have availed some kind of discount and the "attitude " of the waitress should not have been there.
I do want to apologize for that and would like to ask you that whenever you pass by again Auroville , do come and visit.

Also thanks for giving this valuable feedback because if not i would have never found this "attitude " out.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2018

Great (real) coffee selection and an inviting patio where one can enjoy the coffee and watch the world pass by - just the way one should do it. I enjoyed my daily visits. Thank you!

Thank Valsimot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilde M, Public Relations Manager at Marc's Cafe - Roast & Taste, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Dear Valsimot,
Happy to hear about your visit we do take coffee very seriously here.
Thanks for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2018

The coffee at Marc's Cafe is the best in the area! They have freshly baked pastries and great sandwiches! The owners are charming and attentive to one's needs. Highly recommend the cafe!

Thank SueG1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilde M, Public Relations Manager at Marc's Cafe - Roast & Taste, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Thanks Sue!
We are taking coffee seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marc's Cafe - Roast & Taste also viewed

Auroville, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Auroville, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Auroville, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Auroville, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to Marc's Cafe - Roast & Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing