We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Hotel New Awaji

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel New Awaji
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels / Ryokan in Sumoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We visited the Villa Rakuen section of Hotel New Awaji in February of this year and wow!

We weren't too sure what to expect, especially with the Kaiseki in room dining, but we were very pleasantly surprised. We had a private onsen suite on the 11th floor and it was awesome. We could sit in our private Onsen on the balcony and look out over the sea. It was amazing.

The suite was huge and beautiful and we had a choice of using western style beds or Tatami mats. For our three nights there we chose Tatami and loved it. During the day they give you Yukata robes to wear.

A quirky Japanese touch is the toilet seat cover that lifts up every time you enter the room. There is a separate shower with top shelf Japanese body wash, shampoo and conditioner.

The Kaiseki is excellent and the produce top quality. We couldn't believe the amount of food they brought for our breakfast and dinner. The presentation is five star all the way. Our butler Honika spoke good English and explained all the dishes to us.

On the ground floor of the hotel is a gift shop which stocks most things that you want such as drinks, snacks, souvenirs etc.

We had three nights here and absolutely loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blake_and_Krystle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

One weekend is not enough! i wished we could have stayed longer. the 9 course new year's dinner was excellent, with fresh produce and seafood, served in our room with excellent butler service. our suite is beautifully designs fusing japanese craftsmanship with modern design. zen minimalist at its best. kid friendly too. onsen (public baths) are very clean and spacious with awesome view of the sea. such a relaxing place. theres a plush smoker's lounge on the lobby floor with comfy sofas and great ventilation. will definitely come again!

Room Tip: Vila Rakuen has great views of the sea. calm & peaceful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank III76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Just spent a weekend at the Villa Rakuen on Awaji Island. Fantastic experience! Top notch service and attention to guest needs. Villa Rakuen is a contemporary ryokan that is part of a larger hotel complex. Excellent cuisine. Loved the tatami room and the outdoor patio with our own private hot tub set in the flagstone patio. Spectacular sunrise every morning from the outdoor patio. Also really enjoyed our private dinners served in the dining area of the suite. Take a hike up the mountain behind the hotel for gorgeous views of the sea. We also enjoyed wandering around in the town of Awaji...stay away from the big commercial shopping center and go to the older part of the town, where there are some great little bakeries and small independent shops. Back at the inn, take advantage of hot spring baths and three spas. For guests at Villa Rakuen, there is also use of the Sky Lounge on the 11th floor, which is like a private club with great views of the sea.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne9878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank anosj1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sumie128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sumoto
Sumoto Onsen
Shimahana
Shimahana
#3 of 24 in Sumoto
85 reviews
Plaza Awajishima
#2 of 23 in Minamiawaji
156 reviews
Sumoto Onsen
Awajishima Kanko Hotel
Awajishima Kanko Hotel
#5 of 24 in Sumoto
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sumoto Onsen
Awaji International Hotel The Sunplaza
Sumoto Onsen
Awaji Yumesenkei
Awaji Yumesenkei
#1 of 24 in Sumoto
157 reviews
Sumoto Onsen
Yumekaiyu Awajishima
Yumekaiyu Awajishima
#7 of 24 in Sumoto
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Awaji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Awaji

Address: 20 Orodani, Sumoto 656-0023, Hyogo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Awaji-shima > Sumoto > Sumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels / Ryokan in Sumoto
Price Range: C$237 - C$1,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel New Awaji 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east coast of Awaji Island, Hotel New Awaji has the most splendid view of the Kitan Strait and Osaka Bay from all guest rooms.Our dinners feature seafood from the Awaji Island area, which since the 7th century have been presented to the Imperial Family along with fish from the Wakasa and Shima areas. We also serve Japanese cuisine loaded with abundant seasonal ingredients, allowing one to enjoy the taste of each season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Booking.com, Ikyu Corporation, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel New Awaji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing