We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
74
63
30
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
63
30
5
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 182 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2014

We visited the Villa Rakuen section of Hotel New Awaji in February of this year and wow!

We weren't too sure what to expect, especially with the Kaiseki in room dining, but we were very pleasantly surprised. We had a private onsen suite on the 11th floor and it was awesome. We could sit in our private Onsen on the balcony and look out over the sea. It was amazing.

The suite was huge and beautiful and we had a choice of using western style beds or Tatami mats. For our three nights there we chose Tatami and loved it. During the day they give you Yukata robes to wear.

A quirky Japanese touch is the toilet seat cover that lifts up every time you enter the room. There is a separate shower with top shelf Japanese body wash, shampoo and conditioner.

The Kaiseki is excellent and the produce top quality. We couldn't believe the amount of food they brought for our breakfast and dinner. The presentation is five star all the way. Our butler Honika spoke good English and explained all the dishes to us.

On the ground floor of the hotel is a gift shop which stocks most things that you want such as drinks, snacks, souvenirs etc.

We had three nights here and absolutely loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blake_and_Krystle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2014

One weekend is not enough! i wished we could have stayed longer. the 9 course new year's dinner was excellent, with fresh produce and seafood, served in our room with excellent butler service. our suite is beautifully designs fusing japanese craftsmanship with modern design. zen minimalist at its best. kid friendly too. onsen (public baths) are very clean and spacious with awesome view of the sea. such a relaxing place. theres a plush smoker's lounge on the lobby floor with comfy sofas and great ventilation. will definitely come again!

Room Tip: Vila Rakuen has great views of the sea. calm & peaceful location.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank III76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just spent a weekend at the Villa Rakuen on Awaji Island. Fantastic experience! Top notch service and attention to guest needs. Villa Rakuen is a contemporary ryokan that is part of a larger hotel complex. Excellent cuisine. Loved the tatami room and the outdoor patio with our own private hot tub set in the flagstone patio. Spectacular sunrise every morning from the outdoor patio. Also really enjoyed our private dinners served in the dining area of the suite. Take a hike up the mountain behind the hotel for gorgeous views of the sea. We also enjoyed wandering around in the town of Awaji...stay away from the big commercial shopping center and go to the older part of the town, where there are some great little bakeries and small independent shops. Back at the inn, take advantage of hot spring baths and three spas. For guests at Villa Rakuen, there is also use of the Sky Lounge on the 11th floor, which is like a private club with great views of the sea.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne9878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews