We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
15
38
18
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
38
18
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmassage chairdouble roomnice viewbridgelocationcastleonsen
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 73 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2017

The hotel is located right in front of the waters and our room had a really nice view on the top floor, overlooking the famous stretch of forest, and the castle. Free parking onsite. Staff was very nice and helpful. Onsen was a bonus, small but functional. We had a double room which was very very small, but clean and tidy. If your budget allows, I suggest you go for a twin room. Breakfast was ok. We paid a decent rate, so overall, no complaints. We had a rental car, so it was very easy for us to drive to the busy area near JR station where all the restaurants are.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DrewHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2015

A twin room is fairly spacious, but it has a lot of furniture in it. There's a big closet for hanging your clothes in and the beds are wide and comfy. The pillow is a typical beany Japanese pillow (so, I bring my own). The room has everything you need: a fridge, a pot for boiling water and the regular set of amenities. The samue they supply is a 'free size' so not the best if you're tall or big. Best of all was the massage chair, so after a long day and a long drive, it was perfect for relaxing in (I couldn't get my hubby out of it). Make sure you pull the cord on the side, on the inside part of the chair, so you can massage your feet, as well. The bathroom is a typical style, so it's a little small, but the water pressure in the shower is good. The public bath on the ground floor is new and although it's a bit small (only 4 people can wash themselves at once), it's very clean. There is only an inside bath.
Although many people were staying there, it was fairly quiet and we couldn't hear any noises from outside.
They have a coin laundry with several machines (4 or 5 machines) to do your washing and drying, but it was quite busy at night.
Breakfast was good. They had quite a vast array of choices for a Japanese style or Western style of breakfast and the dumplings were warm and really yummy. They offered butter, not only margarine which was nice. The view by the window overlooks the river, which is nice and you can just see Karatsu Castle in the corner.
Although the hotel is a little expensive (esp. for Karatsu - a small country town), it's still a good choice ... clean with a good view and location.

Room Tip: A room with a view of Karatsu Castle is good ...
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2014

Room is so clean and has air cleaner! I can see Karatsu castle from my room! So nice view! I really enjoyed clean "onsen" (hot spring) and healthy breakfast which is self service. My favorite at this breakfast were squid dumplings, sea bream rice with green tea, miso soup with fried tofu, strainer tofu. In addition, there is yogurt! As I have yogurt everyday, so such option makes me happy.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PeterTokyoPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: 川沿いの部屋の方が静がです。
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews