We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
6
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese ryokan experience family run ryokan hikone castle guests floor lake room
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2017

This was our first Ryokan experience and we were certainly not disappointed. We telephoned ahead and were met at the Station, dropped at Hikone Castle to sightsee whilst our luggage was delivered to our room. We walked the 30 mins along L Biwa back to the hotel, were ushered to our room and made a cup of tea.

The room was extremely large and had views to both Castle and Lake!

Then it was Onsen time and relax before dinner was served in a separate room next door. Once again, our first experience of private room dining and service with our delightful hostess gently knocking, serving the next course, and bowing out.

The same deal for a very complete Japanese breakfast next morning. Lots of smiling and bowing before we were driven to the station - unfortunately we only spent one night.
Fabulous value at under Yen40,000 for room, dinner and breakfast and all amenities.

Room Tip: ask for that view
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachsideguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2017

It's a traditional Japanese type hotel (ryokan) with super spacious room.
Traditional futon beds (sleeping on the floor) and the room has a view of Biwa Lake.
There are not many guest rooms in the hotel, so it feels calm and private.
However, there are some noises of cars if you leave the window open, and the room's door is pretty thin, so you could also hear noises of guests who talk in the hallway.
Overall, I'd say it was a pretty impressive Japanese ryokan experience exceeding the value of money.
Breakfast is a steal and super delicious!
Futabaso offers free ride to Hikone Castle nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank natnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

We were received so warmly by the kind and accommodating staff. Everyone did their best to interact with us inspite of language barriers. One member of staff spoke excellent English and that was very helpful.
They were well equipped for children and incredibly kind with our child. We love the traditional Japanese Inn experience and this is what they provide. The food was delicious, prepared with local, high quality seasonal ingredients
The shuttle service to and from handy made getting around easy.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank emzbrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

Staff were very lovely and attentive.

Very traditional; sleep on the floor, served dinner in your room, onsen.

Great experience to do a full Japanese ryokan experience but I wouldn't do it again.

Definitely not for people who aren't open minded

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Halmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2015

This hotel is a family run ryokan so it is difficult to compare with western hotels. However, the room was really large with a lovely alcove with a view over the lake. The relative inconvenience of its location is almost made up for by the shuttle bus (ie personal London taxi cab) service. The staff were completely delightful and obliging.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J-J2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews