We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
155
17
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
17
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here kumano kodo ensuite toilet one night fantastic views plum wine the owner beautiful lodge torrential rain wet clothes enjoy the view western beds locally grown vegetables fire twirling relaxing environment trail mix espresso maker
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 173 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

If you are walking Kumano Kodo route and started at Takijiri, you will enjoy arriving at this wonderful lodge even more. The first day on the trail covering the route between Takijiri and Takahara is short but quite steep. So this clean, stylish hotel with a very friendly staff and a great wifi connection is such a great reward at the end of the day. Using the onsen and eating the great food but more importantly waking up to a beautiful morning fog above the mountains was among the highlights of my Kumano Kodo walk.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BasarBurcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018

This is the first hotel on our Kumano Kodo walk and I highly recommend this place as it's clean , great atmosphere and wonderful room views. You also get your own ensuite ( just toilet and sink ) which is most helpful especially for anyone who tend to pay regular visits nocturnally. Service was all round amazing . Wish I had taken more photos.

Room Tip: They have western style bedrooms if that's what you prefer as well as tatami.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LCFoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

The first day on the Kumano Kodo pilgrimage along the Nakahechi Route ended with a delightful stay, the welcome was wonderful with a plum wine, the Onsen hot, the rooms exquisite with the last western style bed for a while but the highlights were the amazing evening meal, the congenial and entertaining host and fire twirling after dinner. Lots of laughs over the sake.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank KazCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2017

I traveled with a good friend and chose this Ryokan because it had the best location for experiencing the kumano kodo trail. After arriving I discovered that the hotel and location was even better than I had hoped for. John the owner and Masa, one of the staff members, spoke perfect English and took such GREAT care of us. The food was amazing and they were just so attentive in so many ways. And the location high up in the mountains was such a beautiful view and only a few steps away from the amazing Kumano Kodo hiking trail! I plan to return again in March for more hiking , hot springs, and to continue my friendship with two new friends, John and Masa!

Room Tip: all rooms have the same wonderful view of beautiful mountains!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017

Having stayed here several years ago, we were keen for a return visit. This time we were with friends and all were suitably impressed. Wonderful views, staff and food. It was just an overnight visit as we were walking but would be lovely too to be based at the lodge and just relax or do some short walks.
We opted not to have a packed lunch and instead stopped at Cafe Bocu at Chikatsuyu Village-delicious food.
This is a really popular place and you need to book well in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JeanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews