We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property
A charming rural retreat within easy reach of   Bath, Bristol, Cheddar Gorge and the Mendips.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A charming rural retreat within easy reach of   Bath, Bristol, Cheddar Gorge and the Mendips.
Bathroom with bath and separate shower. Extra heated towel rail behind door. New shower now in situ. Sitting room with log burning stove, TV and DVD, wireless Bluetooth DAB hifi, single futon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
A charming rural retreat within easy reach of   Bath, Bristol, Cheddar Gorge and the Mendips.
Bathroom with bath and separate shower. Extra heated towel rail behind door. New shower now in situ.
Sitting room with log burning stove, TV and DVD, wireless Bluetooth DAB hifi, single futon
Second bedroom with twin beds and dressing table. Also wardrobe  (not shown in picture)
Dining room showing cupboard for glasses, books and toys. Table seats 6 and can be extended.
Kitchen showing brand new washing machine, microwave, toaster and fridge.
Kitchen showing electric oven and gas hob.
Small courtyard with table and chairs,Log store and storage for recycling.
Front of Mallard Cottage. Free Parking  on road or in pub car park thanks to friendly landlord.
Main bedroom showing dressing table and spare linen and hairdryer storage.
Second bedroom showing wardrobe.
Sitting room window looking out on courtyard. Please note that this is a cosy but not large room.
Typical view of beautiful scenery you will pass on the road between Timsbury and Bath.
The Seven Stars pub next door serves delicious food and has a lovely pub garden and petanque court.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Timsbury, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Dawn297
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage.”
Reviewed July 27, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This was our second stay in this lovely comfortable cottage, full of character and in a convenient location. The owner is helpful responding promptly to any queries.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul van...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Everything we needed was there”
Reviewed June 27, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Mallard Cottage was our first stopover on our driving holiday in England. It is conveniently located to visit Bath (best to use the Park and Ride) and the village has good basic facilities - two grocery stores, Seven Stars pub next door (though the kitchen was closed when we were there so could not try it).
The cottage is well equipped and is very homely, we found maps and guide books that helped us to discover a few interesting walks in the surrounding countryside that is rural and peaceful, though a bit muddy at the time of year when we visited. We ended up buying much-needed wellington boots to be like the locals!
Access was easy when we got there, and prior to arrival we had good regular communication from Rachel the owner.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
1 review
“Such a cute cottage!”
Reviewed June 22, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We loved staying in this adorable English cottage for our recent trip to Bath. It is located in a little town about 7 miles outside of Bath. It takes about 15 minutes to get to Bath from the cottage. The town is cute and quaint and small. The cottage has plenty of room and there is a pub right next door with excellent food. We recommend the fish and chips. The grocery store is mere steps away. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was spacious. The kitchen had everything we needed. The owner's attention to detail is evident in every part of the home. We highly recommend this vacation home.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare H
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed June 11, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This cottage is only a short drive from both Bath and Bristol. It is spacious enough for 5 people (one on a futon in the living room). There was milk, tea, coffee, and biscuits when we arrived which was a lovely touch. In the village there are 2 shops (less than a minutes walk down the road from the house) which could provide everything for self catering.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico...
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Rachel's place is just perfect and her communication and availability were just flawless. The cottage is super nice, homey and clean -- made our stay in Timsbury excellent!

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
helenss
cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little cottage and pet friendly”
Reviewed November 7, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Very comfortable and right next door to a nice village pub. Parking was fine and two villiage shops very close. Very close to Bath and Bristol so lots of interesting places to visit. All in all very good.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing