We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“peace and quiet”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Wroxham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jenchris5...
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed.”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival, all the doors and windows had to be thrown open to try to dissipate the smell of damp pervading all the rooms. Had to vacuum up nail clippings left by a previous guest on one bedroom floor, and crumbs of food left under the dining table. Cookware was mouldy, but no cleaning products supplied - although there were several prominent copies of instructions that guests must leave the property clean and tidy.

Furniture was mostly unusable because of mildew spots, damp smell, or it was simply falling to pieces. One of the beds was held together with a lump of 4x2!! Other drawers had bottoms falling out or drawer fronts literally falling off.

Bathroom mould has not been tackled so grouting has lumps of black stuff growing on it and the shower screen was little better. We sincerely hope that the bedding was clean - but the mattress protectors were stained.

Finally outside - no barbecue, no umbrella for the (very rusty) table, and the wooden picnic table was too rickety to use.

The landlord insists that complaints must be made during the holiday stay. But when you've (a) waited a long time and desperately need a holiday and (b) have paid nearly £1k for the privilege, who wants to lose precious holiday time waiting for cleaners or furniture delivery?

The one saving grace of this property is its location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Insistence that we leave the property clean when it wasn't clean to start with.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
This is very disappointing as all our properties are thoroughly cleaned after every customer by an independent cleaning company. Had the customer let me know there was an issue I could have had this looked at very quickly.

The customer did telephone me to advise he could not close the back door and I had the property maintenance company attend to resolve this within a short timeframe of being aware of the issue.

The property was checked by me and the lounge furniture is leather and the dining furniture fabric both without the issues complained of.

We do not really understand the issues raised but had they been raised at the outset we could have addressed any matters of concern.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denningto...
wakefield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“peace and quiet”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed at Brightside for a week,weather was perfect. My husband has mobility problems so needed somewhere with good access. There is one step down to the garden but we managed his scooter f ine.
we could charge his scooter in the lounge as his scooter is only small. Near to all shops and resturants and on the level.
garden is so lovely to sit out in, nothing to hear but the birds. Easy to fish even if we did not catch anything.
Only reason it gets a 4 not a 5 is the bathroom as we had to manage with the over bath shower which was difficult for my husband. But will deffinately be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review. We have some plans for work that will make access easier in the future. Hope to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josie N
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No complaints whatsoever”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just had a really relaxing holiday at Brightside.
The bungalow is well furnished, very comfortable, spotlessly clean and within walking distance of Wroxham centre. The ideal place to stay for a fishing/lazy holiday.
No complaints whatsoever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2013
Thank you for booking and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please book again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam S
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“clean, well furnished, lovely cottage will be booking again”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

lovely cottage located in Wroxham with great access to the broads. Clean and spacious with everything we needed for a relaxing weekend break. Rooms are big with plenty of storage and the garden is a added extra with plenty of space to relax. We used to the rowing boat to go up the broads and saw what Wroxham has to offer. The process of booking was efficient and real value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing