We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bungalows, wonderful staff”
Review of Gecko Lipe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gecko Lipe Resort
Jeonju, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable bungalows, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The bungalows are really great considering the price. The bed is super comfortable and they make sure you have a constant supply of incense to keep the bugs away.

The staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful. They gave us a Gecko bottle openers as a welcome present and were always there with helpful advice and smile.

We left after two days to stay in a Forra Dive bungalow on the beach, but regretted it. Gecko was much better!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    55
    34
    12
    4
See reviews for
9
80
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Nice clean bungalows but small and very basic. Nice setting amongst the trees but plenty of mozzies. We quite enjoy this style of accommodation but thought this was a little overpriced. We moved, paid $10 more a night and got accommodation on the beach, rooms three times the size and in a lovely natural setting.

Room Tip: One closer to office so you can access wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackstar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Good value for money, clean rooms and shower facilities. They provided mosquito nets and coil repellent which was needed! Staff were really friendly and helpful as to where to look around the island.overall lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The resort is located close to the restaurants and bars and right in the middle of 2 beaches. It is not far to walk to the super beautiful beach. The owner is very friendly and he developed the resort. The bungalows are basic but good and cosy and have a little balcony. Bring mosquito spray as it is not difficult for them to enter your room. We chose the upgraded bungalow to have a bit more space and warm shower.

Helpful?
1 Thank Maike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I had a great three night stay in bungalows in early Feb 2013 (Originally had booked two, but immediately booked a third).
The location is great, just off the main 'road' and surrounded by trees.
Macca, greeted us on arrival with a couple of cold drinks and showed us to our rooms.
WiFi is available and I had little trouble with it.
Macca also helped us out with restaurant recommendations and activities.
The free mozzie coils every night was great, and the mozzie nets over the bed work as good as they can possibly work. You'll always get one who will find a way to sneak in.

Warning: It's really hard to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Koh Li Pe always a beach getaway for most of people who really loves the clear beach. Infact it is also my wish to be in the island which talk by everyone around you. I have planned my short holiday to Koh Li Pe. Booking ticket from Langkawi and depart from Telaga Harbour is easiest way. Thank god the sea is not rough as it is nearing to monsoon season.

Upon reaching the island we are departed at Pattaya Beach as out jetty. Koh Li Pe does not have any jetty to pick and drop visitors. It is an amazing experience to be drop at the beach and we have to get our feet wet before stepping to the special island. You have to be patience to have the boat operator to check your ticket and to assure your return ticket in order as well immigration processes. Remember.. There is no taxi or pick up from hotel:-) because the island is very small and mostly are in walking distant.

After the immigration clearance, we walk along the Pattaya beach to reach to walking street. Walking Street is the most happening street in Koh Li Pe. Walking approximately 5 minutes to 6 minutes we have reached Gecko Lipe Resort. The resort located in the middle of the island.

Gecko Lipe Resort is just an amazing place. Naturally beautiful with nature. The owner and partner is the reception and it is 24/7 operated. I was given a chalet No.6 which is opposite Reception office. The chalet is cozy and nice. The bathroom simple for a short day use but we have to assure we need to spend more time in shower as the water pressure is very slow in fact it is immaterial to have a short wash up before heading out to Walking Street.

The resort is fully with trees and also going through some renovations. I believe in couple of months there will be additional chalets at Gecko Lipe Resort. Hammock at the trees is a pleasure for those who love to enjoy the nature and relaxing while reading book. Trust me.. it can swing you to sleep. Beware of mosquitoes.... later in the evening as you are planning to relax at patio but the attentive resort team will lit up mosquito coil to assure the comfort of the guest.

I would recommend the resort for those who love nature. You are just required to walk couple of minutes to Pattaya Beach, Sunset beach and Sunrise Beach which is not far in Koh Li Pe. Gecko Lipe is a nice, comfortable and affordable with beauty of nature as well easiest way to walk out for food and night life.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eenilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Good afternoon, travellers. How I found this resort? We booked it through Agoda.com, Just costed us about USD 45-USD 60 per night which not include with breakfast.

Today I gonna share with you about this resort that I stayed during my trip. Why I used "back to nature" as title? Just because the location is on half of the mountain, surrounding by trees. What I can feel about this resort? Just can said relax, back to the mother of nature,get to breath a new air.

The second best point of this resort, located at middle between Sunrise and Pattaya Beach.
Just 1 minutes to the shopping street at Pattaya side and 10 minutes to Sunrise Beach.

The Third thing: There are FREE 24 hours WI-FI provided, with password require. Just request the password from reception.

The Forth: Staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

Room: Just have king size bed, and family suite. However no extra bed can be added. Room condition is clean and tidy. however they don't have water flush in toilet bowl just use water spray.

Can said this reosrt is eco-friendly. At least, Gecko Lipe is one of the recommended resort by travelers.Definitely will go back stay again.

Remarks: The room have provided towel, mosquito repellent and the curtain that avoid from mosquito.

Please bring mosquito repellent.:) Hope my review is helpful to you.

Room Tip: Maybe you can request the room more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YuLiHung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lipe hotels
0.7 km away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.4 km away
Family Song Bungalow
Family Song Bungalow
#2 of 57 in Ko Lipe
134 reviews
0.4 km away
Castaway Resort Koh Lipe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Oasis Lipe Resort
Oasis Lipe Resort
#12 of 18 in Ko Lipe
38 reviews
0.3 km away
Adang Sea Eco-Lodge
Adang Sea Eco-Lodge
#23 of 57 in Ko Lipe
72 reviews
0.4 km away
Zanom Sunrise Resort
Zanom Sunrise Resort
#21 of 57 in Ko Lipe
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko Lipe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko Lipe Resort

Property: Gecko Lipe Resort
Address: Moo 7, Ko Lipe, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Satun Province > Ko Lipe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lipe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko Lipe Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gecko Lipe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing